Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in Grassmere

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Restaurant food
Fabulous rooms, food and staff, highly recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cambridge

Nice base for a few days walking.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
My wife and I enjoyed our stay in the Swan on our recent walking trip to the Lakes. We were greeted by friendly staff. Had a comfortable stay in a clean room. And a hearty breakfast to kick off our day of walking. The only downside was the price of the hot drinks in the bar. £9.10 for 2 normal teas is a bit of a joke.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne

Disappointing stay at the Swan.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Nice bathroom.
Cons: Décor in the bedroom !
Location: location was fine , easy walk into Grasmere and a little jaunt to Ambleside by car.
On arrival we were upgraded apparently to an executive room. not so , in our opinion. the Room was very basic and as we paid £177.00 for bed and breakfast we thought this was very overpriced for a 3 star hotel. Granted it was valentines night which may have put up the price but given that the following night we stayed in Lodore falls in Borrowdale and there was no comparison. This was much nicer and cheaper and included evening meal and scones and tea on arrival ! It was also disappointing to find that I had forgotten to take with me the heat mat from my hair straighteners which I had left in the Swan but when I called to ask them to send it on it hadn't been handed in ?? The bar was also overpriced as were the meals! We will not be staying there again !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
rooms looking very tired, shower just a trickle of water and either cold or very hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Wonderful hotel.great location.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Breakfast was the best I've had in a hotel in many years.Great location,staff excellent.will be going back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyre, Lancashire

Lakeland Retreat

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Location: This is in the heart of "The Lakes". What more needs to be said about location etc?
Nice re-vamped hotel on the outskirts of Grasmere village, which is just a 5 minute walk away. Friendly attentive staff. Room spotless with very comfy bed and modern Bathroom. Didn't see a lift so possible problem for the less able bodied. Great selection for breakfast. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Middlewich

Convenient & economic location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Convenience, and fair charges for a one night stay.
Cons: Rather a 'tired' bedroom, but perfectly adequate. Slow breakfast service - good job we had no urgent commitments elswhere ! but perfectly polite and
Location: Good centre for most regions of the Lakes
Convenient and economic Bed and Breakfast facility near to Grasmere with adequate parking, satisfactory, clean if somewhat uninspiring, room. All facilities necessary provided. Breakfast - rather slow service but otherwise ample and well cooked. Pleasant and helpful reception staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOHN Sfrom N E England

Peace and quiet in the lakes.

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent helpful staff. A very quiet hotel, despite being on the main Ambleside-Keswick road. Easy to walk into Grasmere - bus stop for very good bus service across the road. A pleasant surprise was the availability of cask beers [3!] in the bar. Macdonald Hotels normally only serve poor quality pasteurised beer. The hotel could probably do with a spruce up, in terms of appearance but this is a minor consideration, when the overall standard is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable food in restaurant very good

Posted Nov 2, 2014
A good hotel with character as expected in the Lakes close to Grassmere centre restaurant very good as were bar snacks staff generally pleasant and helpful hotel clean if a little in need of facelift in parts room comfortable well situated for walking and exploring Grassmere and Ambleside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stop over

Posted Oct 29, 2014
We arrived at the hotel slightly early for our 2pm check in-anticipating leaving the bags and having a drink in the bar. We were informed on arrival that check in is at 4pm and expedia had not updated the details-no apology given. This was not really a huge problem as we had planned to head out for a walk anyway. Arrived back at the hotel after 2pm and room was not ready-not a huge problem as had a drink in the bar. The room itself was spacious and clean with the radiators working making it nice and cozy. The following morning we went down for breakfast as this was part of what we had paid for. The breakfast restaurant was very understaffed as we waited close to 10 minutes to be seated! Once seated we ordered coffee and some toast. The toast was cold slightly hard bread and no butter. We were also given coffee with no milk or spoons. We asked for these and by the time we had them the drinks were luke warm. Again it took a long time for us to place an order due to lack of staff but when the breakfast arrived it was very nice and piping hot.We did arrive at 9:30 for breakfast as the cold buffet had been wiped out! No glasses! The bar itself was lovely with open fires and plenty of seating available. This is not a review to dishearten people from staying but having stayed at numerous hotels around the globe we feel the staff especially at breakfast is too few and the basics of having a tea spoon must be reviewed.Guests shouldn't have to share tea spoons around the restaurant