Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE HOTEL LOCATION GRATE AS A BASE

Posted Jul 14, 2014
been just of the main road its easy to find the food was superb and the staff very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fay from Wolverhampton

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The room, the pool, steam room, jacuzzi, most of all the friendly staff.
Cons: Just a shower instead of shower over bath. a shower screen instead of curtain as it refused to stick to the bath. The restaurant was expensive.
Location: Lots of places to eat in Penrith, we ate at India Gates, food was great. We climbed beacon edge in town. Ullswater lake was great.
The Hotel is only 10 minutes walk from the train station so it was really easy to get to. As you enter the car park and see the building for the first time, you can be forgiven for thinking you have arrived at Butlins. However, on the inside it truly deserves its 4* status. We had a lovely welcome and an offer was made to take our luggage to our room as my husband was on crutches. Luckily the hotel has a lift. The room was perfect and very clean. Complimentary tea/ coffee including bottled water was provided. Towels and toiletries were provided in the room and towels were provided each time we visited the pool. The jacuzzi and steam room were amazing. The changing rooms provided shower gel, hair dryers, and a spinning machine to dry swimming costumes. On the day of check out, our luggage was looked after for us whilst we went out for the day. We will definitely be returning with our family and would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Hexham

Lovely hotel bad doors

Posted May 27, 2014
We stayed in a family room, good size. Great pool. Lovely staff. Very clean. Only bad point was the room doors, very noisy and kept waking the baby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near m6 and lakes

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Hotel was nice and clean, good spar. Only negatives menu for restaurant was limited, noise in the morning from the doors situated in the corridors continuously slamming should be left open! Treats left for children was a nice surprise for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nigel from Cheshire

Ok, hotel getting old inside and needs update

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Comfortable Nice pool Great spa Good restaurant
Cons: Needs money spending on the whole hotel to bring it up to standard
Location: Lake District speaks for it self
Me and my family enjoyed the stay, thought it was little expensive and some of the rules for pool I felt was wrong. Kids wanted to swim at 9:00 am, but this was adults only, I feel this rule should not apply in school holidays. Over all ok and enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toni from Sunderland

Excellent hotel with great facilities

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Such a good weekend, this hotel made it perfect with all the facilities it had to offer, from a bar and restaurant to a gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna! Absolutely loved every minute of being there, the room was spotless and was kept clean each day with new bedding and towels and the staff were so friendly and able to help with anything you needed. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by D/L from Northumberland

Relaxing Break

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a break to make use of the spa facilities and a special weekend, the rooms were of a good size, bed comfortable, peaceful room despite hotels location to the road network overall an enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, well located good staff
Cons: Sort and maintain the pool dosing ASAP
Location: I was activating a SOTA for amateur radio
All fine except pool Chorine too low for bathing on Sat am. big black mark!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013