Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Great position, close to lake ferry and walks

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We were looked after by staff and made to feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mel from Manchester

Can't fault this hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Liked the options of late checkout and the breakfast times are perfect for lazy mornings (until 12 noon). Free parking and free wifi are also great.
Cons: It was simply perfect for me
Location: Easy to walk in to Ambleside from this hotel. Right on the waters edge for lake Windermere. Very quiet, in what is actually a very busy popular place.
Had an absolutely amazing time at this hotel; my only regret would be I only stayed there for 1 night. I booked out a Superior Room, which for me was one of the Garden Rooms - I have no idea if all Superior Rooms are Garden Rooms, so something to indicate this would be useful perhaps. The Garden Rooms are also set back off the road, so it's lovely and peaceful. Staff were brilliant, the room was simply amazing (with it's own private terrace) and the location of this hotel is perfect. Easy to walk into Ambleside from there, only about 10 minutes. Didn't eat in the restaurant, though it looked very nice when I walked through it. Also purchased room service for breakfast and late checkout. These are available, though chargeable, but definately worth it - so look out for them when you checkin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Georgina from Derby

Good service, warm welcome & great overall stay

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our long weekend at the Regent, location was about 1/2 mile from the main town which was a nice evening stroll, dinner at the hotel was good & breakfast was great, looking forward to staying again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Halifax

Highly Recommended

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked a nights stay here only 3 hours before we arrived at the hotel, and were very pleased with the service and Garden room. We also had drinks in the bar along with our evening meal and were very satisfied with our stay. We will be returning again next time we are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rachel from Mirfield

Friendly and personal service

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great location at the head of Windermere where many guests make return visits. Excellent and hearty food locally sourced. Breakfasts particularly substantial. This was a good value family run hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DaveyP27 from Mid Wales

Great food and location

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
fantastic hotel in a great location - both for immediate surroundings or as a base to drive further afield. Food was excellent and with the current updating of the hotel the rooms were fresh and spotless (great showers!). My new Fiancee and I used it for the first meeting of both sets of parents and we were all impressed and would happily go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Aviation Spirit from Southern UK

Would go back again

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
First return to Ambleside in 48 years ! Scenery still as stunningly beautiful, so will return again sometime within the next 48 weeks ! Included full breakfast had excellent choice, with great ingredients expertly prepared. Full marks for that. Prior booking was confirmed as room with 'combination shower/tub' which in Plain English means bath with shower. In reality, neither bath nor tub but merely a very nice enclosed shower. Didn't bother us, but could reasonably upset some. Receptionist on check-out could not grasp the fundamental point that their confirmation procedure needed updating. Seemed to us that we were perhaps very lucky with the very nice 'lake-view' room allocated to us, as it is the only one from which the lake is visible. We would certainly use this room again. So, well done, but do please sort out the booking confirmation terminology.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason from Rochdale

aaaaaah!

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent 2 good nights in pleasant company, great food, friendly staff and a great place to chill at the end of a working day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gordon from merseyside

Pleasant hotel near lake.

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Room in need of face lift. Disappointed with evening meal.
Location: Plenty of walks and an easy walk to shops,cinemas etc.
Stayed 1 night on way North. Hotel in good position,friendly staff and room Ok .