Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Absolutely lovely hotel with very comfy beds and great views. The food was good but the dessert was very small for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for exploring the Lakes.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Very good experience, stayed 3 nights. Staff friendly and helpful. Great to have pool and gym next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridgeshire

Nice country hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Location and comfortable at an excellent daily rate.
Cons: Staff training and recruitment.
Location: Right in the centre with lovely views of the bridge and river. Glorious.
The evening staff were lacking somewhat which was disappointing. The hotel was being run by a what was obviously a poorly trained Spanish lad but honest in that he told us he had only recently started and did not confidently know the ropes. we were told the he was out of sight mostly and only available in an emergency as needed. The only other member of staff was a young man also new, a very pleasant East European lad who was constantly having difficulty serving behind the bar as well as dealing with queries from customers because he really couldn't understand English confidently. Poor fellow and as a result we had to endure the wrong drinks. The day staff were superb and we couldn't fault them. Overall lovely location, great breakfast, very comfortable, amazing gym and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Staff attitude
Cons: The lighting in the bar area was very bright, verging on harsh which took something off the ambience. Could do with some lower wattage softer lighting
The hotel is conveniently located for the town centre. Nice location overlooking the river. Car parking 50 m down the road plus a few overspill places at Kendal Station 150 m away (which we had to use as the main car park was full). Decent breakfast buffet. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Nice new clean bathroom. All things considered, I would go back if I was in the area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Reasonable base for the lakes.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Decent sized family room, though no view and could hear the fans from the leisure suite.
Cons: Onsite parking is limited and there was no room when the hotel was full. Offered overflow parking by the railway line, but doubted security.
Location: You can walk into town and Kendal is well positioned for the lakes.
Five days Easter break with hearty breakfasts and good weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Nice hotel, lovely location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location, spa and friendliness.
Cons: Cooler rooms!
Location: Great for getting to the lakes, lovely location for walking in and around Kendal.
Lovely hotel, good location. Rooms had everything needed, our room was rather warm and we think this was the towel rail in the bathroom. Buffet style breakfast with plenty of choice. We would definitely stay here again for b&b. Spa was lovely, sometimes busy hut perfect for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Stockton on Tees

a couple of relaxing days away

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed the stay, gym and pool great, Very friendly atmosphere , stayed in recently refurbished rooms , it was very nice. had buffet style breakfast, set me up nicely for the day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east london

Nice hotel close to river

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Nice food, good customer service, friendly staff. I was told about river view room, but when checked it wasn't much of good view as it was little window. Instead I chose newly refurbished room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Average 3 stars. Had a bad experience

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The river
Cons: Bedding
Location: great
Value for money in this average 3 stars hotel. Great gym with a very decent and clean facilities. Great indoors pool. The gym could benefit from better ventilation. Staff both at the gym and at the hotel really friendly. One feels welcomed. Breakfast is just average with average normal ingredients. Decent breakfast for the price. One of the extra beds ordered was in a very poor condition and it was a nightmare to sleep there until they changed it on the second day. So if you are travelling with family be aware of the fact that double beds are standard . Which means they're queen size. So, shorter than normal double beds. Staff kindly suggested sharing but it wouldn't be possible given the actual size of their double beds. Incomparable views of the river. The hotel has a pub restaurant that has a beautiful balcony by the river. Probably the most relaxing and quiet one in the heart of the town. Will recommend for couples and business. Would be cautious about bed numbers and extra bed's quality and type. Toiletries excellent, bathroom was a bit smelly but daily cleaning was kindly arranged and nice towels which are always welcomed .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Val from Wirral

Disappointed

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
I thought that it would be overlooking a lovely river, but it was rather a murky river and the rooms faced a car park and office block on the other side of the river. I had room service for supper and no condiments were brought with it. I had put the tray outside the door as requested and it was still there when I went for breakfast at 8:30am - not an appetising sight! I was told that breakfast would be served on the second floor but not WHERE and there wasn't a sign to tell me. I wasn't told on arrival if I could get an evening meal in the hotel, or if I could, where I would go - hence the room service as I was too tired to go searching. Very disappointed!