Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rainford

A lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: nothing to improve the relaxed atmosphere.
Location: Excellent location for walkers
we particularly enjoyed the warmth, atmosphere and food in the a Riverside Bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davao, Philippines

Very nice quiet hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice, the toilet and bathroom were spacious and clean.
Location: You can travel to a nearby jetty in front of Borrowdale hotel and take the regular boats to any portion of the lake.
The hotel itself is wonderful with the rooms among the best I've seen at any price in the Lake District. The toilet and bathroom very clean, spacious and thoughtfully included things like cotton buds and lotion moisturisers. The only reason I deducted a star was because it was some distance away from Keswick and Borrowdale. But if you have a car, that would not be a problem. Also there are regular buses that go from Keswick all the way to Scafell Hotel. The two parking lots are ample enough for all guest cars. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mrs T

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a great location, with plenty of good walking right from the door. The hotel room was a bit dated, but was perfectly clean, so no real complaints. The breakfast was also good. I would stay there again if visiting that part of the lakes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Car park for 4x4's

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Staff were pleasant, good selection of ales. comfortable beds.
Cons: The interior shelves of the wardrobes did not look too clean, we avoided using it.. Fix the holes in the car park. Wi-fi & TV text would be good
Location: Close to Scaffell Pike and Cats Bell for walking. A few miles from Keswick for shopping or eating out.
The room was nice and, apart from the wardrobe, was clean and the beds were comfortable. We were right above the bar but fortunately it closes quite early. For dinner we walked a mile to an Inn both nights as the lunch we had in the bar when we arrived took nearly an hour to arrive and was not all that good. The alternative was a rather expensive fixed price 3 course menu in the hotel which did not look too inspiring. Judging by how empty it was others thought the same. There is Wi-Fi available apparently but it seems like you would have to stand in the reception to use it? The overflow car park is in very poor condition and I heard a few cars grounding over the bumps and holes. There was a good selection of real ales in the bar and the bar staff were efficient and pleasant. We did ask for a bulb to be changed in the room but that did not happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosefrom Bristol

Very nice hotel and wonderful location

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were very nice and friendly, although, I was accused of 'joking' when asked if I could order room service breakfast when checking into the hotel. The hotel did suffer from a couple of leaks whilst we were there, but in fairness, it did rain very hard whilst I was there for 4 days. The breakfast was good and the dining room pleasant. Food in the pub, attached to the hotel, was sufficient to sustain us following a long days hiking. Eating locations within the hotel are a bit confusing, more information on this should be made available. During a warm evening, it would have been nice to eat outside, but this was not allowed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Walkerfrom Cumbria

Perfect for the Cumbria Way walk.

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for one night during a walking holiday as hotel is directly on the path of the Cumbria Way. The hotel was quiet due to snow but all staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was lovely with a luxury bathroom and toiletries. We had dinner in the adjoining bar (rather than the restaurant) and had a very good bar meal and excellent choice of well kept real ales. Breakfast was overall very good although a little disappointing there were no veggie cooked items available. The hotel is in a beautiful area but no mobile phone signal due to the surrounding hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pamelafrom Norfolk .U.K.

Great place to relax

Posted Nov 17, 2012
The staff make this hotel. They are polite, friendly, helpful at all times. Our room (no 7) was comfortable, well maintained. Bathroom was excellent. Could be noisy in summer as the entrance to the pub is just below. Dinner and breakfast very good. Mobile phones do not work, so it is an excellent place to concentrate on the family or relax with a good book! The scenery is wonderful and of course it is walkers paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2012 on Hotels.com