Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Lovely views and very comfortable.
Cons: House keeping not good. Bathroom products not renewed and turn down service not always done. Also seemed put out that we brought a dog.
Location: Fantastic walking
Lovely hotel but not dog friendly as claimed. Gave us a room away from hotel and imposed a hefty charge because we brought our very small dog.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A truly beautiful location; a charming hotel.

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The calmness and wonderful views; the excellent and attentive staff.
Cons: There should be a sign for the hotel at the Penrith turn-off - we went 13 miles around the lake in the wrong direction. Wi-fi in all the rooms!
Location: The lake is key to the location.
From the moment we arrived we were made hugely welcome. The rooms are aptly named - we had Grace and Serenity with wonderful views of the lake and a sunny terrace to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. The restaurant continues to live up to its well deserved reputation. It could, perhaps, benefit from refurbishment to some rooms as it is beginning to be a little "shabby chic".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Lovely hotel in an amazing setting.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The best thing about this hotel, the Food and the peace and quiet.
The Sharrow Bay Hotel is set in an amazing setting, beautiful lakeside views, fantastic scenery and amazing food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stafford

Absolutely amazing hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The truly outstanding views from the dining room whist enjoying the most excellent food.
Cons: Absolutely nothing. I hope it stays just as it is.
Location: The hotel is situated right on the edge of Ullswater, an area of outstanding beauty and not as commercialised as other parts of the Lake District.
This was the most enjoyable stay that I have experienced in any hotel in the UK. The staff were friendly and attentive but unobtrusive. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself retained an old world charm that is very rare these days. All the guests that we spoke to return year after year because they love it so much, some had been coming for over twenty years.. The food was outstanding and I loved the breakfasts and afternoon tea especially. Everything was beautifully prepared with great attention paid to presentation. The views over Lake Ullswater are truly spectacular and really need to be seen as a picture would not do it justice. This is a truly wonderful hotel and my husband and I hope to return again as soon as possible. One could not find a better location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tarleton

lovely....!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Interior decoration was so elegant.
Cons: nothing.
Location: really nice place. fantastic view. lots of walking ways.
Was a great time in luxury hotel. The view was beautiful. Fantastic place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mo from Ossy

Fabulous Location, Great value for money.

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place, great surrounding, specialy if the weather is good. Food and drink are are also very good. Great value for money. Great selection of fine wines. Good base for lake walks. Very large comfy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kenneth from Preston, Lancs.

A pearl in the Lakes.

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in an idyllic setting, my words can't do it justice, a must to visit, all ready for Christmas. If the Lakes where an Oyster then this would be the, " Pearl".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave & Caroline from Berkshire

Sharrow Bay delivers yet again!

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Everthing
Cons: I honestly can't think of anything.
Location: The most romantic location of any hotel I know of - and with the whole of The Lake District nearby there is no shortedge of things to do!
We first stayed here in 1989 and stayed numerous times in the 1990's, in 2001, 2002 and the last time in 2004. It had lost it's edge a little for us in the transition from a privately run and owned hotel to part of a chain (Von Essen). Recent developments, a new owner, and good reviews tempted us back and we were not disappointed! It isn't the same as in the days of Francis and Brian - it never could be - but it is still a unique experience. The position on Ullswater couldn't be better (I'd go for the views alone!), the staff were helpful and friendly, the food was exceptional without following fashion. Sharrow Bay always did things it's own way and that was what made it special. The décor and furnishings suit the house and location superbly and I'm pleased to see the Hotel still dares to be different in that respect. We won't leave it as long before our next visit. It is still Simply the Best!