Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ianqfrom Lincoln

ok at best

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
After recently staying at this hotel, my first impression was a typical 1960's built city hotel. The receptionist was lovely, and welcoming at 8.15pm. After booking this for the use of the spa after a long day walking in the lakes, I enquired about said spa facilities to be told embarrassingly by the lady on reception that it closes at 8.30pm which is something I've never came across before at any hotel so I was obviously very disappointed by this. The rooms were mediocre, clean, spacious and comfy although a little dated. Breakfast I would recommend missing, tasteless cheap and cold sausage, bacon and the fried eggs hard enough to play frisby with. Only one waitress doing everything by herself the poor girl. All in all, poor standard, poor management but typically with poor management comes good hardworking staff trying in vain to give the hotel guests a reasonable stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter Wfrom London

Worn out

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately this hotel is worn out, they have tried over the last year or so to re model but it just isn't working, it's such a pity as it is in a quiet location and has nice staff. Breakfast was quite good and leisure facilities do the job, but from things I've heard it may not be around much longer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Robfrom Cheshire

Tired

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
They say you get what you pay for and in this case I thought I was on to a bargain from the photos. Unfortunately they look to have been taken a good while ago. Evening meal was very expensive for what was served. Breakfast was good though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Allisonfrom London

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel offered a good range of facilities including pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc. rooms were clean, decor a bit outdated. My main complaint would have to be noise levels as the sound seemed to travel very easily. Could hear people walking around in the room above, when toilet was being used etc. having said all that I would stay there again as it was good value for money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joannefrom From canada

Awful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I felt like it was a flea bag hotel that probably had bed bugs. We were given an adjoining room and the people in the next room started talking around midnight and they may as well have been in our room because I heard every word. We had to move rooms after midnight or stay up until they went to bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nick darrochfrom Laleston

Nice

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice prople, rooms ok but now a bit out dated?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by radclifferobfrom Nottingham

Swallow Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel could have been better signed considering it was up a very small road awkwardly placed near traffic lights. Car parking was limited and very full when we arrived and the surface was uneven and rather scruffy. Our welcome was great. The receptionist was friendly, informative and very helpful. A standard room, ours suffered from a constant noise of a fan or rushing water. It didn't disturb our sleep but we were aware of it. It had also been laid out for one occupant with towels, shampoo and gels, not two as booked. Fortunately there were spare towels available in the wardrobe. Security could have been an issue because the fire exit for the leisure centre was propped open when we passed it after 10:00 pm at night. Breakfast was good and comprehensive. I opted for a cooked breakfast. The scrambled eggs were very tired, tomatoes and black pudding were cold. Rest was most enjoyable. The staff were very efficient and pleasant. They seemed to work well as a team. Overall the stay was middle of the road but it was inexpensive. I would recommend it to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ready for a refurbishment

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has been run down and in great need of a refurbishment. However, the staff were friendly and I enjoyed my overnight staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AYR, SCOTLAND

Swallow Hotel, Carlisle.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel tired, needs refurbishment and a thorough clean.
Location: Good, convenient to motorway for moving around the countryside. Handy for Carlisle
Room 149 disgraceful. Bedroom: walls and ceiling in one corner showing large, old damp patches - room should have been redecorated before being offered to customers; mattress springs protruding and noisy; one bed/bedding felt almost damp; carpet dirty; mould on window frames; table sticky. Bathroom: toilet bowl filthy - under rim and below water line; no toilet brush; bath taps not fitted properly as black rubber showing at one end and thick red rust at the other around bottom of tap; chromium worn away from base of tap unit on basin; wooden cover over pipework behind toilet badly fitted and needed repainting. I did not complain as I am recovering from cancer and cannot cope with arguments and upsets. Only found these problems gradually as our stay continued and by then our attitude was that we will put up with it as it is such a short stay. In short this hotel needs refurbishment and should not be offered by Expedia.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by yoke see

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com