Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable & homely
A comfortable night stop,thank you.The staff were most attentive and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gedthejambofrom ayr

monets garden

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
was too tired and needed to rest, checked into hotel, and very happy room friendly chat at bar about a horse i won a lot of money on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Williamfrom Melbourne

Boot and Shoe get away

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great little hotel, very friendly staff and good food. We had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Boot and Shoe

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Traditional pub with good food, friendly atmosphere and welcoming hosts. Conveniently close to the Lakes and Penrith. If you want a peaceful evening don't stay when there is a band playing though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johnfrom London

Totally relaxing

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly, quaint and relaxing hotel. Not the hotels fault but no mobile signal so phone home to say you arrived safely just beforehand. I would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Variable Standards

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Meals were excellent.
Cons: Sound-proofing, consideration of guest's basic needs.
Location: Excellent location for visiting the Lake District, Cumbria or Scotland.
Second night was fine, slept well with no disturbance. First night was a total contrast as the staff and owners appeared to have a lock-in session with door-slamming, raucous laughter and a woman squealing until about 1.30am. At 2.40am, someone tried to enter the room (presumably another guest as they kept calling out a name); fortunately, the door was locked. No apologies or explanations were offered and we seriously considered checking out, despite booking for two nights. Don't visit this place if you can't deal with your every move being blatantly watched by other customers and villagers. Odd place, not unpleasant overall but hardly restful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by tajbfrom uk

in the right place

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just what we needed when doing the C2C, friendly, good service, hearty food and drink. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Truemansfrom Rotherham

Great old fashioned gem!

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for the wedding of some friends. Staff were welcoming and accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee provided. Breakfast was made using quality ingredients. Had a fab time overall, would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helendfrom Wombourne

Nice location

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The downstairs room and bedroom were clean however the carpet leading from the downstairs to bedroom and kitchen was filthy and in morning covered with slug trails. The food was good but the smell of fried fat permeated the bedroom and hence my clothing the next day. The breakfast is served from 8 - no use to me as on a business trip leaving at 7. They offered to make me a sandwich for the trip and place it in the fridge the night before . Nice idea but they spread the sandwich with butter and it had all congealed into an unappetising mess the next day. Nice location and pub was quiet after 11.00 . Free usable wifi and street parking. Not sure how quiet it would be on a weekend night.