Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Comfortable & homely
A comfortable night stop,thank you.The staff were most attentive and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Wennington

Very Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
A nice friendly country pub in a beautiful location. Excellent food, welcoming and friendly service. Sound does carry into the rooms, to be expected but to be aware for light sleepers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gedthejambo from ayr

monets garden

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
was too tired and needed to rest, checked into hotel, and very happy room friendly chat at bar about a horse i won a lot of money on
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Melbourne

Boot and Shoe get away

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel, very friendly staff and good food. We had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Boot and Shoe

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Traditional pub with good food, friendly atmosphere and welcoming hosts. Conveniently close to the Lakes and Penrith. If you want a peaceful evening don't stay when there is a band playing though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from London

Totally relaxing

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Very friendly, quaint and relaxing hotel. Not the hotels fault but no mobile signal so phone home to say you arrived safely just beforehand. I would stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Variable Standards

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Meals were excellent.
Cons: Sound-proofing, consideration of guest's basic needs.
Location: Excellent location for visiting the Lake District, Cumbria or Scotland.
Second night was fine, slept well with no disturbance. First night was a total contrast as the staff and owners appeared to have a lock-in session with door-slamming, raucous laughter and a woman squealing until about 1.30am. At 2.40am, someone tried to enter the room (presumably another guest as they kept calling out a name); fortunately, the door was locked. No apologies or explanations were offered and we seriously considered checking out, despite booking for two nights. Don't visit this place if you can't deal with your every move being blatantly watched by other customers and villagers. Odd place, not unpleasant overall but hardly restful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by tajb from uk

in the right place

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
Just what we needed when doing the C2C, friendly, good service, hearty food and drink. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Truemans from Rotherham

Great old fashioned gem!

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here for the wedding of some friends. Staff were welcoming and accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee provided. Breakfast was made using quality ingredients. Had a fab time overall, would recommend to others.