Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Variable Standards

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Meals were excellent.
Cons: Sound-proofing, consideration of guest's basic needs.
Location: Excellent location for visiting the Lake District, Cumbria or Scotland.
Second night was fine, slept well with no disturbance. First night was a total contrast as the staff and owners appeared to have a lock-in session with door-slamming, raucous laughter and a woman squealing until about 1.30am. At 2.40am, someone tried to enter the room (presumably another guest as they kept calling out a name); fortunately, the door was locked. No apologies or explanations were offered and we seriously considered checking out, despite booking for two nights. Don't visit this place if you can't deal with your every move being blatantly watched by other customers and villagers. Odd place, not unpleasant overall but hardly restful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helend from Wombourne

Nice location

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The downstairs room and bedroom were clean however the carpet leading from the downstairs to bedroom and kitchen was filthy and in morning covered with slug trails. The food was good but the smell of fried fat permeated the bedroom and hence my clothing the next day. The breakfast is served from 8 - no use to me as on a business trip leaving at 7. They offered to make me a sandwich for the trip and place it in the fridge the night before . Nice idea but they spread the sandwich with butter and it had all congealed into an unappetising mess the next day. Nice location and pub was quiet after 11.00 . Free usable wifi and street parking. Not sure how quiet it would be on a weekend night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pablo Blue from Leicester UK

Boot & Shoe review

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It was a pub with oub food and a good atrmosphere.
Cons: The rooms are quite basic, but it is a pub and you get a local English atmosphere
Location: The village is Greystoke the home of Lord Greystoke (Tarzan). Good castle, local history and teh Lake District scenary is stunning.
Friendly staff, good food and excellent pub atmosphere in the evening. Not a large chain hotel which was a very pleasant change. Lovely setting as well. Would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great character

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Cons: proper double beds
great character, fun staff, good food, but we specifically asked for double beds, and 2 singles pushed together do not make a double! Otherwise - we much enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice food, decent pint, OK accommodation

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly pub/B&B, good home cooked food, a few real ales. Accommodation was fine (floorboards a bit squeeky, but hardly a surprise given age of the pub. No mobile phone reception in the area but landlord kindly allowed me to use his landline.Can recommend for a noght or two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew from Pembrokeshire

Friendly reception

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice enough room, busy pub with good value food, no noise problem at night, pleasant breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Neary's

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kevgreen36 from Manchester

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Food was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Phil from Wales

Fantastic British Pub

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great warm pub, in terms of the welcome from staff and locals, as well as the log fires. Food and service were very good, topped off with a great "acoustic jam session" in one of the bars to top the evening off. Room was pleasant, but a little noise from the bar... But it is a pub, so go and make the most of a vanishing experience., a great British Pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Elaine from North Yorkshire

characterful country pub

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
A pleasant welcome. Although the bar was very busy, the staff seemed pleased to see us. Plenty of car parking just outside at the front. It was exactly the sort of room we had expected, very white, good quality bed linen and towels and a surprisingly spacious bathroom with a big bath and plentiful hot water. We had a comfortable night's rest without any noise or smells from the bar and dining room downstairs. The tasty evening meal was copious and served by a very friendly team and we felt was good value for money.