Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little town but condition was awful

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The owners were friendly and welcoming :)
Cons: Everything!!!!!!
Location: The town was nice, some great restaurants, it was close by to the lakes district, the river boat ride and train ride recommended at lake Windermere.
We received a warm welcome and the staff were lovely but that's the only nice bit. The food was just okay but the place was really run down, filled with DIY disasters, it smelled old, musty, I guess it was clean enough. It was not at all worth the money we were charged. We were very disappointed when shown to our room, the photos on the website did not reflect the true look of the rooms. Also the mattress on the bed was well out of date, was lumpy, saggy and caused terrible back pain. It's also located next to a pub which was noisy until late and we were woken both days with a loud racket of them unloading stuff or talking loudly. I booked it because it had a 4/5 rating and that is no way true!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bude

Next door to a noisy pub

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Pleasant people good breakfast
Cons: Décor - desperately needs updating.
Location: Nice town great countryside
We stayed on a Saturday night and our room overlooked the street right next to a pub. Lot of noise from the pub music and a lot of noise from merry people in the street. Not a good night's sleep. This accommodation has seen better days and that was some considerable time ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Cheshire

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Centrally located in the town. Price for B&B reasonable.
Cons: The keys for the room and outside door were a bit tricky to operate. A new set of keys or locks would help. Limited parking behind the property.
Location: Good location in the town but next to a large pub which was very noisy especially on Friday night. I was part of a Ramblers group walking in the area
I had a lovely weekend in Kirkby Lonsdale and found the Copper Kettle to be excellent. I had a double ensuite room. The place was very olde worlde with sloping walls and floors and was a bit tired. The decor could do with a make-over. The breakfast was good and adequate. Mrs Gamble couldn't have been more friendly if a bit fussy. I stayed an extra night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Graham from Overseas

Authentic old b&b

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
great village and central location with good service from owner. don't expect a spotless room with all the comforts as this is an authentic old 3 story dwelling of the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by anne from derbyshire

warm friendly

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
old fashioned guest house but great value for money with very helpful owners
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are into nothing fancy then this is the place for you... Reminds me of when I used to go to the coast as a child. The 3 course evening meal is well worth the money as it only cost me £8.50. I would use them again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old-fashioned but good value

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Very old-fashioned but very well located with a comfy bed and run by amiable, helpful people. And really good value.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeannie from Brighton

Unfortunate experience room in the roof

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owner was helpful. The breakfast was fine. Unfortunately the room did not match. The bedroom was dirty with webs and dirt in corners. The bed was uncomfortable but linen was clean albeit old. The only skylight window was dirty with mildew and dirt inside and out. Carpet unclean The wardrobe was unsafe as rocked back and forth fit to topple over. The toilet/shower was in the hall which we did expect as it said private facilities . Bolt did not work , toilet seat stained and grubby looking ,Carpet on floor grubby and whole toilet area smelt of urine.Toilet didn't flush properly and a kitchen roll in toilet stuck on with blu tac .All soap dispensers empty. I do repeat the lady who received us was helpful and the breakfast good and served well. Had to cancel return room sorry just not up to basic standards.