Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burnley

Bring your own air freshener!

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything. It needs gutting to get rid of the smell and awful decor and carpets
Location: It is in the centre of Kirkby Lonsdale so near the shops, pubs, river etc
The Copper Kettle is in a fantastic location and the couple who own it are pleasant BUT the whole place smells of old, dirty chip fat and has not been updated since the 1970's. The front door does not lock/unlock properly so it took us half an hour to get in when we returned in the evening. I did not attempt the breakfast as waking to the chip pan smell made me feel poorly, but my friends did and they said it was disappointing. However, my vegetarian friend had the 'special' breakfast which was much bigger and better (she got beans and the others didn't!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tony R from Scottish Borders

Don't believe all you read on Trip Advisor

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
Arrived with some concern having read a 'Trip Advisor' review which slated the place. Needn't have worried. A quaint old building, well kept, delightful town. Good meals (breakfast & evening meal), clean en-suite room with all needful for comfort. Helpful Landlady. Altogether very good value for the money and would certainly use it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by john g from durham

Comfy beds(Hard)

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
ok, does exactly what is says on the tin.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rugby lass from Cheshire

Copper kettle

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
I failed and forgot to mention to the owners that there was a pair of socks stuffed down the side of one off the beds, from the last people who were in there or the people before that. I had payed for a double room and ended up in a twin room with no refund of the extra I had payed to have a double... A little disappointing that I was hidden in a corner behinde a door with private wrote on it like I didn't exists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

the copper kettle

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
it was like we had steppwd back in time but does need s little modernisation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bergamo

hotel a conduzione familiare, un po' decadente

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Colazione genuina
Cons: I servizi in camera
Location: Kirby Longsdale è un pittoresco paesino della Cumbria
La località indicata sul sito Expedia (Carnforth) non corrisponde alla vera località dell'hotel (Kirby Longsdale), distante circa 30km. Abbiamo faticato non poco a scoprirlo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little town but condition was awful

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The owners were friendly and welcoming :)
Cons: Everything!!!!!!
Location: The town was nice, some great restaurants, it was close by to the lakes district, the river boat ride and train ride recommended at lake Windermere.
We received a warm welcome and the staff were lovely but that's the only nice bit. The food was just okay but the place was really run down, filled with DIY disasters, it smelled old, musty, I guess it was clean enough. It was not at all worth the money we were charged. We were very disappointed when shown to our room, the photos on the website did not reflect the true look of the rooms. Also the mattress on the bed was well out of date, was lumpy, saggy and caused terrible back pain. It's also located next to a pub which was noisy until late and we were woken both days with a loud racket of them unloading stuff or talking loudly. I booked it because it had a 4/5 rating and that is no way true!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bude

Next door to a noisy pub

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Pleasant people good breakfast
Cons: Décor - desperately needs updating.
Location: Nice town great countryside
We stayed on a Saturday night and our room overlooked the street right next to a pub. Lot of noise from the pub music and a lot of noise from merry people in the street. Not a good night's sleep. This accommodation has seen better days and that was some considerable time ago.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Chugers from Essex

Great Location

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
its a nice hotel if a bit 1930's with the decorating and service, the room was small and over furnished but saying that it was a good stay for one night possibly two nights. very friendly and willing to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Cheshire

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Centrally located in the town. Price for B&B reasonable.
Cons: The keys for the room and outside door were a bit tricky to operate. A new set of keys or locks would help. Limited parking behind the property.
Location: Good location in the town but next to a large pub which was very noisy especially on Friday night. I was part of a Ramblers group walking in the area
I had a lovely weekend in Kirkby Lonsdale and found the Copper Kettle to be excellent. I had a double ensuite room. The place was very olde worlde with sloping walls and floors and was a bit tired. The decor could do with a make-over. The breakfast was good and adequate. Mrs Gamble couldn't have been more friendly if a bit fussy. I stayed an extra night.