Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tony Rfrom Scottish Borders

Don't believe all you read on Trip Advisor

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived with some concern having read a 'Trip Advisor' review which slated the place. Needn't have worried. A quaint old building, well kept, delightful town. Good meals (breakfast & evening meal), clean en-suite room with all needful for comfort. Helpful Landlady. Altogether very good value for the money and would certainly use it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by john gfrom durham

Comfy beds(Hard)

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
ok, does exactly what is says on the tin.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rugby lassfrom Cheshire

Copper kettle

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I failed and forgot to mention to the owners that there was a pair of socks stuffed down the side of one off the beds, from the last people who were in there or the people before that. I had payed for a double room and ended up in a twin room with no refund of the extra I had payed to have a double... A little disappointing that I was hidden in a corner behinde a door with private wrote on it like I didn't exists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

the copper kettle

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was like we had steppwd back in time but does need s little modernisation
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bergamo

hotel a conduzione familiare, un po' decadente

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Colazione genuina
Cons: I servizi in camera
Location: Kirby Longsdale è un pittoresco paesino della Cumbria
La località indicata sul sito Expedia (Carnforth) non corrisponde alla vera località dell'hotel (Kirby Longsdale), distante circa 30km. Abbiamo faticato non poco a scoprirlo!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little town but condition was awful

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The owners were friendly and welcoming :)
Cons: Everything!!!!!!
Location: The town was nice, some great restaurants, it was close by to the lakes district, the river boat ride and train ride recommended at lake Windermere.
We received a warm welcome and the staff were lovely but that's the only nice bit. The food was just okay but the place was really run down, filled with DIY disasters, it smelled old, musty, I guess it was clean enough. It was not at all worth the money we were charged. We were very disappointed when shown to our room, the photos on the website did not reflect the true look of the rooms. Also the mattress on the bed was well out of date, was lumpy, saggy and caused terrible back pain. It's also located next to a pub which was noisy until late and we were woken both days with a loud racket of them unloading stuff or talking loudly. I booked it because it had a 4/5 rating and that is no way true!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bude

Next door to a noisy pub

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Pleasant people good breakfast
Cons: Décor - desperately needs updating.
Location: Nice town great countryside
We stayed on a Saturday night and our room overlooked the street right next to a pub. Lot of noise from the pub music and a lot of noise from merry people in the street. Not a good night's sleep. This accommodation has seen better days and that was some considerable time ago.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Chugersfrom Essex

Great Location

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
its a nice hotel if a bit 1930's with the decorating and service, the room was small and over furnished but saying that it was a good stay for one night possibly two nights. very friendly and willing to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janetfrom Cheshire

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Centrally located in the town. Price for B&B reasonable.
Cons: The keys for the room and outside door were a bit tricky to operate. A new set of keys or locks would help. Limited parking behind the property.
Location: Good location in the town but next to a large pub which was very noisy especially on Friday night. I was part of a Ramblers group walking in the area
I had a lovely weekend in Kirkby Lonsdale and found the Copper Kettle to be excellent. I had a double ensuite room. The place was very olde worlde with sloping walls and floors and was a bit tired. The decor could do with a make-over. The breakfast was good and adequate. Mrs Gamble couldn't have been more friendly if a bit fussy. I stayed an extra night.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Shocking, checked in, saw the room and checked out

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Front door locked on arrival, on entry the look, feel and smell of the hotel wasn't nice. The hotel and rooms are stuck in the 60's/70's. The room on entry had an awful stench of urine and smelly feet!! The shower and toilet were on the landing area. I didn't stay the night and immediately checked out. I DO NOT recommend this hotel at all. Sorry.