Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by les and sandra from low bentham

70th birthday at the hare and hounds

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: felt as though all concerned wanted you to have a really enjoyable stay
Cons: nothing....some building work and decorating going on but that will be finished soon and it certainly affect us in any way
Location: close to grange over sands , windemere , ambleside etc Good walking from the pub
Beautiful surroundings..very friendly helpful staff. unfortunately had a power cut on the birthday eve as it was a very stormy night but this didnt spoil the evening as we had plenty of candlelight and a friendly atmosphere. the staff / owner gave us a lovely welcome.....Cant find any bad points. Stayed for 3 nights and had dinner each night in the pub including an excellent valentines meal. will definately be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic food and room

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service and food in the pub of the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Wi-fi was intermittently disconnecting, and there was no signal for mobile in the room. Took a bit of time to look for the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place for a stop off

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Great little Lake District hotel. Cosy, great food and staff - an ideal place for a stop off en route from London to Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Azzimuth from Scotland

Very nice pub with rooms in a nice location.

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not far from the main A590 road, but in a quiet peaceful setting. Lovely food and local beers. Very nice room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hidden Gem

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful little pub/accommodation. Kerry was very attentive and friendly after a long drive - even thinking of pre- reserving me a table. The room was comfortable - some of the best pillows I've come across. Food was wonderful. I hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John Daniels from Cheshire

Great hospitality

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
You get a warm welcome and the standard of the bedrooms and bathrooms is excellent. Spotlessly clean. Great freshly cooked breakfast. Not on a lake but the peaceful location in the Lyth valley is a delight. A little gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Muriel from Warrington

MEP

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: I liked its location, the decor, the furnishings, the staff and the ambience.
Cons: They say everything can be improved but at the moment I can't think of anything.
Location: The Hare and Hounds is very well located for Bowness, Windermere, Newby Bridge, Cartmel, Ulverston, Levens Hall and many other venues.
The Hare and Hound Pub is a beautifully modernised hostelry set in the middle of the countryside. It has a light and airy feel in the bar and dining room with beams and an original old stone flagged floor. There was a welcoming wood burning stove alight when we arrived on a very wet and cold day. The bedroom we were shown to was tastefully decorated and furnished with matching bedlinen and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom provided handsoap, shower gel and handcream which was rather a nice touch. Later in the day we were offered an upgrade to a larger room (free of charge) and this was equally well appointed. Whilst we were there we stayed in for two nights and ate in the pub. The menu was varied and extensive and the bar served a number of real ales. There was also a good number of wines to choose from. The staff were very attentive and made us feel 'at home'. There was also a nice atmosphere with local patrons. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit and would like to recommend a stay at the Hare and Hounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rafal from London

Nice quiet place

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you looking for peace and quiet than this is a place for you. It is located in the middle of nowhere so you can relax and have a proper rest. Close to M6 and other roads to get to other nice places in the area. Outstanding local ale, good food and lovely service. I definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacko from Lancashire

Hotel as Hotels should be!

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was excellent, the staff friendly and could not do enough for us and the food excellent quality and plenty of it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NMR from Penritn

Lovely rooms in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was immaculate and breakfast great. Friendly and efficient service made a perfect stay.