Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Friendliness of the owners as well as the fine food treats!
Location: We used this as a base for a walking getaway and enjoyed some great walks.
Lesley and John offer exceptional hospitable as well as help with where to dine and a superb breakfast! After a day's walking it's so nice to come 'home' to a home-made cake in your room which you can enjoy at your leisure with a cup of tea in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

A very relaxing stay in the Lake District

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the owners. Everything was of high quality. Felt like friends not clients right from the beginning of our stay.
Cons: Cannot think of anything !!
Location: The location was excellent. Near wastwater and scafell pike.close to ravenglass steam railway. Lots of nice restaurants within a short drive.
My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the old school house. There was a very warm welcome from Lesley, who had left home made cakes and a glass of sloe gin for us on arrival. She also left a bottle of champagne for us as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary during our stay. There were also chocolate covered strawberries left on more than one occasion. The breakfast was fab with all top quality food used and plenty of it. There was also plenty of choice if a good old cooked breakfast is not your thing. Lesley was very informative about the area and if their was any question she couldn't answer, then she would go out of her way to find out for you. The area around the hotel was great because even though it was bank holiday weekend, there were not large crowds or traffic jams everywhere you wanted to go. We went for a nice relaxing break and this is what we got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Attention to detail.
Cons: Nil
Location: Ravenglass pub for dinner is a must at sunset.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Lesley and David at The Old School. The greeting on arrival with refreshments was very much appreciated, the room was comfortable, breakfast on both days was more than we could have asked for. Quiet location, close to local attractions and restaurant at Ravenglass was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place in the Western Lakes

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location and amenities.
Very welcoming and well equipped. There are lots of options to explore the surroundings (Wasdale, Ravenglass, etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great week-end

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable long week-end. Nearly "stole" the two cats and dog - all adorable. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shipston on Stour Warwickshire

Just what we were looking for.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location was good but particularly the standard of the reception we had.
Cons: No - we were well looked after and has I have said just waht we needed.
Location: Leslie will inform anyone about local and nearby facilities etc. Walking, steam train ride good pubs and eating places and access to coast.
Lovely warm welcome and Leslie did all she could to make our stay comfortable and worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annika from Clitheroe

A home from home ~ 10/10

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
I cannot praise this b&b enough! Lesley is the best hostess u have come across yet. Very friendly lady and extremely hospitable. She even presented me with a card and some bubbly as it was my b/day. So much attention to detail. Lots of little extra's in the room ie: chocolates left on pillows, a glass of port each, cake etc. A truly beautiful home from home! I will definitely return again when I get the chance. Highly recommended. Beautiful location. Excellent and plentiful breakfast, fit for a queen!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from Solihull

Wonderful home from home!

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
This is without doubt the best B and B we have ever stayed in. We can`t praise it highly enough. Lesley and John gave us such a lovely warm welcome. The attention to detail was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic breakfasts, lovely rooms and a brilliant location. Only 10 minutes to Wasdale. We would give it 6 stars if we could. Thank you Lesley and John (and Bruce) for a super short break. Looking forward to returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rob from Newcastle under Lyme

One night in a home away from home

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
Would defintaly stay again, and i fully intend too. Was travelin alone for business but intend to take my fiancee for a weekend way. Wonderful and friendly greeting, shown to room where there was home made fudge on my pillow, home made flapjack on the side, glass of port awaiting me. In room refreshments from wide range of teas, coffee (instant in a pot not sachet) ground coffee and cafetiere, fresh milk. Breakfast was wonderful with a great selection that would rival a good hotel, considering that it is a B&B. Breakfast was cooked on the Aga with homemade bread served and fresh percolated coffee was served in the warm and homely conservatory. They do a great vegetarian selection of food also wth homemade vegatarian sausage. They also do packed lunches for just over £5 although i unfortunetaly didnt need lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet and John from Liverpool

Special treats

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time and we were well looked after by Lesley and John. The accommodation was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. We were also treated to some extra special touches including delicious home made cakes and bread. We don`t normally recommend places but would make an exception in this case. Lesley also recommended a couple of places to visit and were to eat and they were great as well. The pets were extremely well behaved and very friendly. Best place I have stayed in a long time. Thank you