Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet off the beaten track

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Beer and food
Cons: The decor
Location: Don't know. Only stayed one night passing through
The staff were friendly enough and the room was comfortable. The whole place was a bit tired looking though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London

Great evening, poor morning.

Posted Mar 8, 2014
The evening experience was completely different to the morning one. Bedroom was fine - clean and comfy. The evening meal was very good, so when I woke up after a great nights sleep I was actually really looking forward to breakfast. They must have a different breakfast chef.......... It was poor, and that's being kind. Weak tea, terrible cheap white-sliced toast and a plate of full English that just looked wrong on so many levels. If the dinning room had been full I would have made some excuse on their behalf - but I was the only one in there at the time. It reminded me of breakfasts in the 1980's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Helena from Derbyshire

Pleasant hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Its has a wonderful old character, good food - comfortable and informal and good value for money. Loved the log fire and dog friendly.
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: Magical Waterfall walk. Not a lot in the village itself. Curry house would be nice.
Very friendly, food very good. A lovely old building full of character and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, plenty of space, lots of character, close to The Lakes and The Penines
Cons: En-suite bathroom needed updating.
Location: Great chip shop, 2 nice pubs (Incl. Wheatsheaf). White Scar Caves great. Malham Cove and Gordale Scar 30 mins away - awesome.
Our stay was beyond our expectations - 2 nights family room with a large king sized bed and bunk beds. Not only is this nice pub very close to some great walks and scenic drives but the room was better than expected. The staff were friendly, nice bar (with real fire) and a tasty breakfast every morning. The only feedback that's not so positive is that the en-suite bathroom was tired and in need of a revamp. Great for walkers and for families, within 30-60 minutes of some of the most spectacular scenery in the World. Cashback available at the bar which is very handy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mark brownrigg from perthshire

great location for walkers

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
a simple no-nonsense bar/hotel but very clean and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by policarpo from uk

Great service and location

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Arrived slightly late, and still was served dinner. Also, had to leave very early in the morning,, before breakfast hours, and was given a lovely continental breakfast, which was left outside the room for our convenience. Clean and comfortable, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jaldred from burton on trent

Great location, food and service

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
i was very pleased with the quality for the price - the only thing that could be improved on would be the cleanliness of the dated bathroom.There were several long dark hairs in the shower and sink - i haven't had hair for 15 years! All in all though, a lovely place and would definately stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Inverness, Highland, UK

Great Hotel for exploring The Dales.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Relaxed atmoshere, excellent food, clean and good staff.
Cons: None.
Location: Cntrally placed in Ingleton Villiage, well positioned for touring the Dales and large car park.
Cycling in the Yorkshire Dales for 4 days and based myself at The Wheatsheaf, Ingleton via Expedia. Not disapointed. Good atmosphere with both locals and tourists, breakfast and bar meals very good indeed, excellent choice on menu and I would say exceptional value. Hotel centrally located with good car park. Staff helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone holidaying in the Yorkshire Dales
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Velma44 from Bolton

Excellent Manageress

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a very old Pub, so you must bear this in mind. It has plenty of character and a good beer garden at the back. The best room is the one with the four poster bed. The Staff could not have been more helpful. The food was a bit hit and miss but would recommend the fish and chips. Breakfast was good too. There is plenty to do in the area - you need a car. Plenty of car parking spaces. The locals are also very friendly and you do not feel that you have invaded a "click". Very relaxing, would go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine for a one-night stop

Posted May 25, 2013
Comfortable bed, but nowhere else comfortable to sit despite there being plenty of space in the room. Fine for a one-night stop but I'd want a bit more comfort for a longer stay. No live music the night I stayed, and I was told that when they have live music it finishes at 11 pm.