Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax uk

Good value nice food

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Good location on outskirts of village. Good for wAterfall walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harrogate

Night without the kids

Posted May 4, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyd our first night away from the kids in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of The Wheatsheef. The food was really tasty, and a good, varied choice of menu. Room was comfortable and just perfect for our night away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 1, 2015
The stay was very enjoyable, breakfasts were good, a little early for my taste, but between 8 and 9 is probably ideal for keen walkers. Friendly staff, good food and ale. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

centrally situated

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: good location, & tasty great cooked breakfast.. incl a large free car park.
Cons: the rooms & decor incl T.V
Location: as above. lovely relaxing walks and picnic areas, community centre around the corner with lots of things going on/advertised on their boards.
Hotel nicely located in the heart of this lovely little village with a couple of pubs, bakery,co-op, chip shop,great ladies dress agency etc but also quite near fabulous walks, Ingelton waterfalls, open air pool-great in summer months and a lovely childrens play area. The information centre was a short walk away too. Hotel was dissappointing as 3 rooms were being upgraded & the other 3/4 rooms were not as they had been let out incl our.s. We arrived at 2.40pm(after getting lost as-its NOT in Carnforth as advertised ,its yorkshire-Ingelton), but the young lady said she could not book us in or let us through the back ?? until after 3pm-an unfriendly greeting-she stated we could buy a drink though-which we declined so sat a bit then went for a stroll!!.We later booked in an nice airy bright room but decor, paintwork ,shower ,toilet etc v poor-needs full ugrade-ashame as the room was large overlooking a lovely beer garden and shrubs. The bed was terrible we had a very poor nsleep it was noisey you could hear the springs when you rolled over and a very worn mattress and 1 hard firm pillow. T.v was minute and lost in such a lovely big room., no spoons in room to make a cuppa but plenty of choice of drinks incl some lovely biscuits. The breakfast was excellent very hot & tasty with local produce too. The lady that served us was very polite and pleasant checking all was well. We informed her of our poor sleep and she was apologetic telling us the rooms are presently being upgraded
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn, very reasonable price

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Cons: Double bed was two singles pushed together.
Arrived at the hotel and greeted by enthusiastic staff. The double room was spacious with a good en-suite and shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileen from Barrow-in-Furness

Overnight stop

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel in middle of renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value, location and food

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Main bar man was really helpful and food was spot on. Definitely be visiting again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice friendly pub for B and B

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Nice food. The dog was made welcome. The water was hot for showers. There were tea and coffee facilities in the room.
Cons: Although the bed was clean and comfy, I would have been happier if the mattress had a cover . I wondered why there were two tatty old flourescent gile
Location: It's good walking country . Ingleton Falls is nearby.
Not luxurious.... it's a village pub. It's just undergoing renovation. Our room had obviously just been painted and the carpet fitters were doing the landings as we left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter from Crook

Might be better in high season

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed two nights at this hotel and found the whole experience a little flat , maybe it was because it was the quiet period that made for the reductions in service , ie reduced menu , reduced real ale selection reduced seating for meals ,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels