Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A charming hotel with pleasing service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Historic charm and friendliness
Cons: The windows could not be opened
Location: Centrally located
The staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs.The place is very charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Exotic yet good location for CuraƧao stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The Kura Hulanda hotel provided comfortable rooms and very nice surroundings. It is very conveniently located in the heart of Willemstad. Perhaps because it was the low season, the hotel seemed a bit low-staff and some of the common areas/pools and restaurants were not up to the expectations for a hotel of this category.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel in beautiful setting

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: I like the setting and the history.
Cons: Staff needs to realize that people book for comfort and relaxation and they should wisper. Rooms need to be reviewed for repairs.
Location: In the middle of the city so easy to walk to restaurants, shopping and movies.
It was relaxing and nice to stroll through the premises. Our room had several problems with plumbing and a toilet seat that was loose. The cleaning staff was very loud when cleaning outside, talking to each other in loud voices. The gardener started with the blower at 8:00 in the morning, right outside our room, so you could not sleep in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Elaine Gilboa from Los Angeles,CA

A Very Special Hotel

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I decided to spend a couple of days in Willemstad after attending a wedding with my sons in Aruba. A friend recommended this hotel. It was probably one of the best experiences I have had. The hotel was comprised of a collection of old restored Dutch houses, very classy with antiques and big, comfortable beds. My room was situated near the Bolivar Pool which was a very attractive pool. Electric kettle and coffee in the room. The museum was well laid out and well worth a visit. The restaurant staff were very attentive and I ate dinner there two nights in a row. I think this might be the only place to stay in Willemstad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad, WI

Lovely hotel -curacao architecture and in the city

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Lovely boutique hotel. Excellent location Cleanliness questionable-rooms not thoroughly cleaned; mold; musty carpet/rooms Excellent spa experience Hotel restaurant-courteous staff but lunch/dinner meals not well done Delicious breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Willemstad

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Lay out; perfect bathroom. Clean
Kura Hollanda recently reopened and we enjoyed our stay. The staff did their utmost to accommodate us. The check-in was confusing, because the employee wanted to serve three guests at the same time. The hotel is in a friendly environment of Willemstad, which means that it's nice for people who want to see and enjoy the city, next to the various beaches on the Island. All the restaurants are on walking distance. We enjoyed our week on this Caribbean Island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sun Lover from Virginia Beach, VA

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: It had lots of character, two nice pools, and beautiful gardens and sculpture.
Cons: Management's handling of reservation requests. We requested a room with two queen beds and were given a king size, instead.
Location: Centrally located to Queen Emma bridge, floating market, Rif Fort, Maritime museum, many other cultural sights, plus restaurants and shopping.
The hotel had lots of character and the adjacent museum was wonderful. The location was within walking distance of many cultural attractions and restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Juan Alvarez from Miami

Very Disappointed

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
WIFI never work properly at the room. TV does not work either. Calls to Hotel reception to complaint about it, weren't answer. In person complaints wasn't attended. Breakfast was not at the level of a Hotel so expensive. Very Disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Colonial feel in desperate need of remodel

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: the waterfall pool
Cons: A lot. The hotel needs to be completely overhauled.
We have stayed in the Kura Hullanda before and the room was musty smelling but the grounds were well maintained and there is a very nice waterfall pool. This time with the VIP access from Expedia we were upgraded to a family suite. I had high expectations, but was shocked when I saw the room. The door to the room was so rotten the light was shining through the holes at the bottom. There were termite tracks going up the wall to the ceiling which meant they had been there for a while already. The kitchen was dirty. The top of the fridge had not been cleaned in years and there was still food smeared on the trash can in the kitchen. The light in the bedroom would not turn off, the shower head was so corroded it fell off, the paint was bubbling and peeling off everywhere, and the neighborhood is rough. Each night we would hear screaming in the streets behind our room and even glass bottles were being thrown against the room! The room door lock was not working well and it took several attempts each time we left the room to be able to lock it. I documented these things and was nice enough to leave a note with my findings for the manager (who was not available at checkout) including my e-mail address and phone number. I never heard a word back which leads me to conclude that the hotel does not care to rectify these issues either. If you go to Willemstad stay at the Rennaisance instead. It is right be the Rif Fort in a good area and is very well maintained with attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marc from Bogota

Great location, interesting grounds

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Location, style
Cons: Management of the Houskeeping
Location: #1 restaurant in Curacao - The Wine Cellar - superb - with pickup and dropoff! The no. 2 = Landhuis Misje in Westpunt was also excellent.
The hotel is centrally located and only a block from the floating bridge. The grounds are cozy and the staff is attentive. The rooms were clean, but housekeeping services a little off (dirty sheets left outside the room for a day...possibly lacking management supervision?). Nice extra touch was their offer to take me to a grocery store about 2 miles away when I was in search of a convenience store ...there are none! After 3 days of a 5 day reservation we asked to be transferred to their hotel at Westpunt and they accommodated us with no problem. The beach resort had nice grounds and a good beach, but overall service there was less than enthusiastic, particularly at the restaurants. There was no internet in the room, although there was supposed to be. Housekeeping was very inattentive ....toiletries were not replaced and soiled towels and bathmats simply folded and replaced on the racks. The food was marginal and expensive and there were few alternatives outside the hotel.