Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago IL

Out of the way, on purpose

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: location, cleanliness, natural environment
Cons: I would have preferred one king bed or two much harder queens.
I have visited Curacao many times but this was our first time to stay at Westpunt. The hotel was exactly as it appears on their website. We booked an oceanfront studio since it afforded more room than the suite. I appreciated the patio and covered porch/terrace combination and found that most of our time was spent outside relaxing. We had no problems with bugs of any kind and really enjoyed the iguanas and multitude of birds. We did use the kitchenette and found it small but workable for simple meals. The only complaint I had was that the double beds were not comfortable for two people as they were extremely soft and rather bouncy for two people to sleep comfortably. I think this is a great location if you want peace, quiet, a little nature, with just enough luxury to make you happy. I hope to return soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Disappointed

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly but there aren't enough people. Asked for towels and didn't receive them until many hours later.
Cons: Service and food.
Location: Nothing to do unless you enjoy diving.
I don't understand how this place gets a 4.3. Hardly considered excellent. Food was limited and not very good. The hotel itself is isolated so there isn't much happening unless you have a rental car. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The rooms were just ok. We went to the store to buy coffee and filters for the pot. Nothing is provided. The beach is very small and very crowded. The good news is that no one was at the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC Canada

Great Resort, away from crowds, great location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The location! As it's nice and quiet, the beach is clean, beautiful waters and the views and sunsets are amazing. The rooms are very nicely appointed.
Cons: Everything was good.
Location: We went to the Boca Tabla and the other more remote beaches off the beaten path.
The Resort was everything we were hoping for. The previous reviews helped us to select this resort and it was well worth it. The beach is great and the views are terrific. We rented a car to get there and this made it even better as there is much to explore around the area. The rooms are great and even had a very adequate kitchenette inside. Everything you need. Our stay in the first week of April had great weather and it did not seem crowed at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Pleasant hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Very relaxing atmosphere and helpful reception staff.
Cons: As there are no decent restaurants nearby it would be good to have a more comprehensive dinning menu. More sunbeds and shades on beach.
Location: Very isolated and nothing to do or see in nearby village. Fine if you want to just chill out but having hire car an essential to visit rest of island.
Stayed for 3 nights after doing 10 day tour of Colombia. Chose this hotel as close to beach and we are keen snorkellers. Also grounds looked attractive. Beach was rather disappointing as quite pebbly and the snorkelling was pretty poor. Also not enough sun beds and shades on the beach. The hotel itself was pleasant and the suite we had spacious and well equipped. Fortunately we had a hire car so able to spend time in Willemsted and find good snorkelling at other beaches (Playa Abou & Playa Lagun). Service in hotel mainly good although staff occasionally seemed distracted and there was no experienced wine waiter. Food was good but menu choices (for dinner) rather limited and if we had stayed longer would have run out of dishes to sample.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. Decent, peaceful, hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The location is brilliant. It's a real "getaway" place.
Cons: Just a lick of paint really.
Location: This is the quiet, natural end of the island, so it's all about the beaches. The national park is close by too. Enough good restaurants nearby.
Hotel is in a fantastic location, overlooking some amazing sea and a lovely beach. The hotel itself is pretty good and has most facilities you would want. It is a little dated in places eg the gym but that really doesn't matter because it is not trying to be something it isn't. So if you want a really relaxed, comfortable and quiet hotel at the quiet but beautiful end of the island this is for you. It's not for you if you want nightlife or a branded modern resort hotel. The staff were excellent and very friendly. We paid the small bit extra for an oceanview room and think that is definitely worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utrecht

Te rustig hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Prachtige maar zeer eenzame ligging. Je bent volledig aangewezen op faciliteiten daar en dat zijn er niet veel. In rustige tijden als de onze is er nauwelijks personeel.Van bediening geen sprake, koffie, drankjes moet je zelf bij de bar halen, maar een restaurant, vrijwel alle wc's niet in gebruik, zwembad dat niet schoongemaakt werd. Veel te hoge prijs voor wat geboden wordt. Management lijkt te ontbreken, niet gek want manager zat ' s morgens aan het ontbijt al aan de champagne.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot, outdated facility

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We spent 2 nights in the Kura Lodge. The grounds are breathtaking, with plenty space, beautiful plants, very natural desert-like feel. Also the pool and surrounding area is comfortable and a great place to relax. We stayed in an ocean-front suite. It provides space, with a balcony overlooking the stunning Caribbean sea. The amenities however are disappointing. To name a few; old Television with only a few "snowy" channels, no internet, outdated kitchen, windows that did not open, spots on the (sleeping) sofa, dripping airco. Even though the suite has all the potential, the lack of maintenance and new investment can potentially spoil the perfect experience - mind you, whenever luxury is your priority. Normally, this is not the case for us at all, but looking at the bill, we had expected top notch. Nevertheless, our stay was memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

One of the best resorts on Curacao

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds - really felt like an escape.
Cons: Would have liked a more sandy beach but found most beaches were similar.
Location: Check out the Boca Tabla area about a 5 minute drive from hotel. Beautiful rugged scenery.
Loved escaping the busy resorts close to the airport and Willemstad. Stayed in a one bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the Caribbean. Restaurants were nice - beach bar and more formal restaurant called Watamula. Beach was small but fine. Most beaches in Curacao (including hotel beach) had lots of dead coral so water shoes are a must. Go West Dive Shop connected to resort handled all of our diving needs and also arranged a sunset cruise where we encountered a pod of dolphins. Other nearby beaches with more sand were Knip and Porto Marie. Some nearby restaurants we tried included Sol Food and Rancho el Sobrino. Willemstad is about a 45 minute drive away but worth exploring. Dolphin Swim at the Dolphin Academy was definitely worth the money. Take some time to explore the restaurants and shopping areas nearby there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juliennefrom Carpentersville IL

a piece of paradise

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
Wonderful people and food!! The gardens were beautiful and we would stay again in a heartbeat!! If you are a diver...the house reef rocks!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Service was terrible. You will need an adapter for electricity,which did not always work. Showers are antiquated. We are divers which was why we chose his hotel it is 5 minute from dive shop that would be the only plus for us.