Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GREG from LOGANVILLE, GA

LION'S REVIEW

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
IN ALL AREAS OF BEING A GUEST WE FELT THE STAFF AND FACILITIES EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS. WONDERFUL PLACE EVEN THOUGH RESTAURANTS SOMEWHAT PRICEY BUT MOST EATERIES ARE ON THE ISLAND.
3 out of 5
by D.R. from Bogota, Colombia

Nice beach, nice hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Beach, the water, rooms are nice, balconies, Internet is decent, very clean.
Cons: Prices of food/drinks, staff is just so so definitely do not go out of their way to help
Location: Dive shop, sea aquarium, next door is a new outdoor mall called the Blvd. which has some shopping and food (Aloha Bar is best)
Spent a week at Lions Dive and generally liked my overall experience here with my wife and two young boys (3 years and 6 months). However, the costs of the food and drinks were beyond ridiculous. Taxi costs are absurd so I would suggest renting a car at the airport or at a local car agency (not the hotel, $57 bucks a day) the entire time if you plan on exploring the island, you'll definitely save money. Taxi to the hotel is $40 bucks (20 minute ride). Beach and water are beautiful....Pools are nice but I wondered every day whether or not they cleaned the kids pool next to the 50 meter pool as it looked dirty and sometimes downright disgusting even in the early morning. Williamstad is cool but try to stay away when the cruise ships come in, then it becomes a zoo. The free transport by the hotel to Williamstad is nice but it would be better if they had a nighttime pickup to see the city at night. The transportation to the supermarket where we bought most of our food is great to help saves a lot of money. A tip, bring a foldable cooler in your suitcase like we did. We bought rum and beer at the market and the hotel has an ice machine. Nice to have the dive shop, sea aquarium, and the new mall basically right on hotel grounds for convenience. All in all we had a nice experience but certainly would not return because there are better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric from CO

Nice resort!

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephan from delaware

Great location, poor desk service

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: View Room service Snorkling Location Beach
Cons: Front desk customer service Restaurents menu
Location: Downtown at 10 minutes Seaquarium to swim with dolphins next door Diving and snorkling a few feet away
The beach was beautifull ina great location close to downtown ane seaquarium. The restaurant was mediocre at best so plan to eat on the nearby places. The front desk service was not helpufll and not very freindly. In fact people in general on the island were not as feindly as for example other islands like Barbados. Be also aware that the hotel does not give you free access to the nearby seaquarium on the contrary of what they claim on the web site. Our room had a nice view on the beach with beautifull snorkling which made it up for all the other negatives aspects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from OKC, OK

nice room, great food, and friendly staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It was neat and clean, the cleaning staff was excellent.
Cons: need a big screen in the Chill Hut
Location: the diving facility is in the resort, the underwater zoo is great, and the food was excellent.
Be sure and take a tour of the island first, the guides are first class and it will help you get around better. Also, you learn what the customs are along with interpreting what the foreign language signs say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anthony from New Jersey

Lions Dive - Excellent

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay at Lions Dive - good location for beach and nightlife/food. Highly recommended for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Ontario, Canada

Very nice beach resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The shuttle services to Willemstad and the local supermarket are very convenient, and they make getting about very easy.
Cons: The food at Hemingway's Restaurant is fine but the prices are a bit steep considering the portion sizes are not extra special.
Location: The location could not be better - good diving/snorkelling, a shopping 'centre', great beaches and a Sea Aquarium all within walking distance!
We had a wonderful six day stay at the resort, March 8-14, 2014. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak many languages including English, Dutch, and Papiamento. The rooms are very clean and the maid service is excellent. Lions Dive has an excellent beach with plenty of loungers, trees and shade, especially nice during the hottest part of the day. Fitness facilities are free of charge and allowed us to keep up with our workouts while we were away. A shopping 'mall' is within throwing distance and had many gift shops and restaurants. The weekend parties on the beach went well into the night, although the weeknights were very quiet. Free shuttle services into Willemstad and a local supermarket make it easy to get out to do more shopping, and find affordable alternatives for meals. We would certainly consider returning if the opportunity arose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan and Dan from Largo, FL

Fabulous hotel, especially for divers

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Great rooms, restaurants, bars, landscaping, staff.
Location: The dive shop (Ocean Encounters) was basically on-site as we could walk there and store our gear there. We took a shore dive and two boat dives. There
My husband and I travelled to Curacao in November of last year (2013). We stayed for 5 days. We chose Curacao because of the wonderful reputation for great diving. We had some contact by e-mail with Lion’s Dive prior to our visit and were impressed from the start. All our initial questions were answered and we felt very prepared to visit this Dutch Island. From the moment we walked in we felt like we were in the lap of luxury as expected on a Caribbean island. There was an open lobby with lush landscaping and the landscaping was gorgeous over the entire grounds. We were able to upgrade get one of the apartments. It was beautifully appointed with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, and a living space, as well as a large patio. The master bedroom had its own entrance to the patio. Accordion doors door along the living room fully opened up and disappeared making an indoor/outdoor space. From our room we had a beautiful view one of the pool (Olympic size) and the ocean beyond. We could sit and watch the sunset. From the side patio could also see sunrise over the hills! The staff in the lobby and at all the restaurants and bars were friendly and pleasant and willing to chat with tourists like us. We learned much about the island’s history and language.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mama from New York, NY

Nice resort, on the beach, lots of stuff to do

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location directly on the beach. The proximity to Ocean Encounters and the Sea Aquarium was also helpful.
Cons: The cost of the island in general is high and the price of eating was no different on the resort.
Location: There is a small but nice aquarium, opportunities to snorkel and scuba dive. There is also a strip mall of extra restaurants and souvenir shops.
Lions Dive was a very pleasant place to stay. It is not a fancy resort; the decor is more rustic and cute rather than chic and upscale. But the room was clean and that is what I was most concerned with. The staff was very kind, polite, and helpful with questions. I would call it a no frills resort but this is what I was looking for so that was satisfying. We spent most of our time on the beach where there are ample chairs for resting on and tree coverage if you need to be out of the sun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from New Jersey

Great location with friendly helpful staff

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: On the beach with easy access to good snorkeling right there at the resort. Dive center next door, nice pools, good food on site for a reasonable pric
Cons: Spa attendants need better training, especially in good sanitation practices
Location: Great location on the beach but we didn't find much else to do on the Island of interest for us
Nice place to spend a vacation. Good weather, nice people, very relaxing.