Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte, NC

Amazing vacation

Posted Apr 27, 2014
We definitely have plans to return. We loed the privacy and space the villas offered and the location was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Seattle, WA

The Villas were great. Perfect for family of 4

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Villa were open and spacious. Location to beach, restaurants, and shops
Cons: Smoking allowed in restaurant was unpleasant
Location: Great location for everything - Beach, shopping, restaurants, casino.
Staff was fantastic and very accommodating. Clean villas, grounds, restaurant, etc. Great access to beach, shops, restaurants, and grocery store. Strongly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abi from New York

Really Terriffic

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The size of the suites. Well kept grounds. The staff. Supermarket nearby makes preparing meals int he suites awesome!
Cons: Pricing for the meals nearby....they're a bit on the higher side for the Caribbean...even the Dutch Caribbean.
Location: The location is slightly remote so you'll spend a few dollars on taxis to get to town, but so what, you want to relax? This is the place to come!
We were two couples traveling together and had a really great time at Papagayo. I read all of the reviews and really think that some travelers were just overly picky and complained entirely too much about very small things. I am so glad that I did not let that deter me from choosing Papagayo. We had an amazing tine. And when we didn't and things needed to be fixed the staff were more than accommodating to our needs. The front desk staff and the manager of that team are excellent. The housekeeping staff and the executive in charge of that group were wonderful. I mean, really, there's nothing to complain about, and a lot to be happy about at Papagayo. We would absolutely return!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Very good peaceful hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2009
The hotel units are two bedroom 'cabins' arranged in such a way that all have lots of privacy. The grounds are one large garden and there are a great variety of birds. It makes for a very peaceful setting and we use it to start and finish our vacation. (We go on to Bonaire for the main part of our vacation).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Choose Another Island

Posted Mar 11, 2009
The Papagayo Resort and Villas were lovely. The restaurant at Papagayo and at the beach were both excellent! We loved all the birds and flowers. However, there were tons of screaming kids at the adult pool even though they do have one for the children. We were constantly reminded to lock our villa up, which made us feel unsafe. Because there is no A/C in the living area, you have to leave everything open, which also lets in all the mosquitos and flies. I got several mosquito bites on my face, which were quite unsitely. Our bed was very uncomfortable (two twins pushed together) and they do not have top sheets. We did not like the Jan Thiel beach across the street as it was extremely crowded, rocky and were not happy about having to pay for chairs. We learned that most beaches had an entry fee and chair fee and nice beaches were close to an hour's drive. The island attracts mostly Europeans and menus were not in English and prices are quoted in Dutch. In addition, the electric outlets at Papagayo were European and we were not able to get a converter until our last day. Tons of traffic and most streets are not marked so just getting to Papagayo was extremely stressful. Shopping in Punda was a waste of time. We will not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Much better than expected

Posted Jun 18, 2008
Having lived on Curacao my expectations about the resort were moderate. What a pleasant surprise! The service was wonderful, the houses very nice, the restaurant amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, Maryland

Great for families

Posted Mar 31, 2008
This resort made our trip, and our one regret is that we did not spend more time just hanging out there. The grounds are beautiful and contain walking paths and gardens containing tropical plants and cacti surrounding each Villa. The gardens are inhabited by iguanas, parrots, and dozens of beautiful birds. Even though the resort was booked, we never noticed other people while we were in our Villa. It is like having your own private vacation house. The heart of each Villa is the wrap around porch. The two walls facing the porch slide open to create a vast open space stretching from the kitchen, through the living room area, to the porch. The porch contains comfortable cushioned chairs, a hammock, and a dinning table and chairs. There are two bedrooms and two full bathrooms in each Villa. The showers were great and had plenty of pressure and hot water. This layout was perfect for our family. The kitchen was also a bonus. Each bed was also equipped with a mosquito net, but we did not encounter any biting insects during our trip. The Pool was small but was fine for unwinding at the end of the day. The Papagayo Beach Resort is simply fabulous and is perfect for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from andover, massachusetts

Loved Papagayo Beach Resort and would return to Curacao

Posted Aug 23, 2007
Papagayo Beach resort villas were extremely comfortable, with a cozy, tropical atmosphere. The spacious living room had large shutter doors that opened on two sides to a large wrap around porch that included a hammock and deck furniture. The entire villa and grounds were clean, the staff very friendly (although mainly Dutch speaking), and the pool area was wonderful, with very warm water. Jan Thiel beach, across the street, was overall not as nice as the beaches on the mid to western part of the island. Our family definitely would stay at Papagayo again. The quality was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very relaxing & very quiet

Posted Apr 16, 2007
Lovely bungelow with good beds and a/c, kitchen and bathrooms in very good condition, pool could be a bit bigger as it got a bit crowded during peak times, restaurant not as good as some of the others in the area, defintely need a car to get to some of the better beaches/restaurants, great diving/snorkeling
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Very satisfied

Posted Mar 4, 2007
The villas are set in a well maintained garden setting. I enjoyed the plants, flowers and birds from our balcony. The beach nearby has controlled access and is busier than we would like, however there are quieter paths and water front (mostly rocky) nearby. The front desk was very helpful; the employees were mostly students on a 4 month 'work term' (from the Netherlands) and were eager to help. The resort is very popular with the Dutch. The Seasons restaurant is exceptional. It is wise to reserve early.