Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Perfect place to stay if you want independence yet also helpful tips and a bit of looking after. Had a double bedroom - private kitchen and bathroom - perfect for what we were after. Easy walking distance from Punda, and Otrabanda is not far away either. Things a bit pricey e.g. car rental, also breakfast is $10; very cute place and nice staff overall though. Didn't know it was a restored ice cream factory until arrival - lovely touch - did see some sun-faded painted ads for Ritz ice cream on the side of a beach refreshment hut or two on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Bonito Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Su arquitectura y la cordialidad de los empleados
Cons: Deberia tener club de playa o al menos transporte para una playa
Location: Está ubicdo cerca del Centro y los principales puentes
Es un hotel que combina lo tradicional y moderno de Curacao. Es muy agradable y la atención del personal es excelente
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for yur review and thanks for staying at The Ritz! I'm happy you got to enjoy our great staff and had a good time on our beautiful Island. We hope you come see us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Beware of dishonest extra tax

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The air conditioning, the tableware and the electrical appliances (microwave, hob and kettle).
Cons: Stay should be more honest and not steal money from the people. Studios could be cleaner to avoid cockroaches. Floor could be tiled.
Location: The area around the hotel is dodgy as it's mainly abandoned buildings and it's not advised to walk there at night. However only 5 min form city centre
We booked a studio for two people. When we arrived, we were asked to pay a 7% tax. After getting to the room, we checked our booking confirmation. It stated "All prices include taxes & fees ". We went back to the reception and she said that everybody who books via Expedia has to pay this 7% tax. But it looked like we paid twice. We insisted and she phoned Expedia. The conversation was in Dutch so we did not understood. But she started becoming more and more annoyed and she told us in a very unclear way that Expedia's procedure has changed and that she has to phone back on Monday. (We were Saturday). On Monday, a note on our door said we got reimbursed the money to our credit card, however, I paid the tax cash. We went back to the reception and they said there has been a mistake and they didn't manage to pay us back on a credit card. Finally, the day after we manage to get our money back. So it's ok that we insisted but it means that all the other costumers who booked via Expedia and are too nice to argue are fooled to pay this extra tax. Very dishonest. So I advise all the guests to check if the tax is already included. Apart from that, the room was a bit disappointing. There is no tiles on the floor and the floor was already dirty when we arrived. I don't think it was cleaned during our stay (we stayed 8 nights). The studio looks better on the pictures. We found cockroaches everyday in the bathroom. The bathroom got cleaned only once during the week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Groningen

Super leuk schoon hotel op goede locatie

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: De locatie, voelde veilig, dat het zo schoon was en de geweldige service.
Cons: Ik weet niet of er kamers zijn met warm water, maar mogelijk deze optie bij enkele kamers geven. Als ik kinderen had gehad zou ik hier naar kijken.
Location: Op de ene straat (van hotel naar waaigat) na een geweldige locatie. Dicht bij punda, busstation, winkelstraten, mambo, alle eetgelegenheden, apotheek.
Net terug van een super vakantie! Mijn vriend en ik verbleven 14 nachten in een studio van The Ritz en ik zou het iedereen aanbevelen. De kamer was vrij modern (ikea achtig) en groot genoeg (slaapgedeelte, grote kast, zithoek met bank+stoel en ontbijttafel met stoelen) en de badkamer was basic maar prima. Alles was heerlijk schoon. De wifi werkte top, net zoals de airco en de kitchenette met koelkast+vriezer. Wij hebben een aantal dagen gekookt en elke dag zelf op onze kamer ontbeten. Het hotel is prachtig en schoon, net zoals het zwembad. Het personeel is ontzettend aardig en behulpzaam en hulde voor de lieve goede schoonmaaksters! Onwijs bedankt! Er zijn wel wat kleine nadelen, al vonden wij deze minder erg. Als eerste is er alleen maar koud water onder de douche. Dit is vrij normaal op curacao, maar op koudere dagen met veel bewolking toch vervelend (bijv met kinderen). Ook is het restaurant volgens mij gesloten. Er zou nu een soort van snackbar zitten maar daar hebben wij nooit iemand gezien. Doordat wij zelf boodschappen deden en je op loopafstand van het Wilhelminaplein zit vonden wij dit niet erg. Ontbijten schijnt mogelijk te zijn, maar daar hebben wij geen gebruik van gemaakt. Ook is de locatie super, maar je moet wel de eerste straat door een soort achterbuurt lopen. Mogelijk minder fijn voor (jonge) meiden of alleen. Als laatste is het vrij duur om een auto te huren bij het hotel, maar dit is een bedrijf dat onafhankelijk is van The Ritz, maar toch waard te noemen
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. In an effort to keep our cost effective prices and like most places in Curacao, we offer ambient temperature water (water tends to warm up several degrees in the days heat). Our pool bar is newly open with breakfast from 7-10:30 , it is also open from 5-9 and has a Happy hour from 5-6 and continues to serve snacks and light meals until 9:00pm. We are very happy you enjoyed our wonderful staff! Hope to see you again at The Ritz!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Maarten

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Everything looked just as it did in the pictures. It almost felt like I was there before. The location is just walking distance from the town and the perfect choice if the purpose for travel is to visit the US embassy (2 mins drive away). The room was nice and clean and the staff is very friendly!! Thanks Rose!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for coming to The Ritz! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in Curacao
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nederland

Net appartement nabij centrum van Willemstad

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Het zwembad en jacuzzi. En het vriendelijke personeel.
Cons: Handdoekwissel na 3 sleeps, niet erg maar een droogrekje om de handdoeken op te drogen zou wel handig geweest zijn!
Location: Locatie oude ijsfabriek, mooi omgetoverd in vakantieverblijven, centrum 5 a 10 minuten lopen, voor stranden en eiland verkenning auto noodzakelijk.
Ik vond het een gezellig, ruim appartement, water was niet warm, dit wist ik van tevoren, maar dit viel 100% mee !! Kamer werd elke dag schoongemaakt, perfect. Leuk zwembad en jacuzzi. Barretje met ontbijt, happy hour, ook prima. 5 a 10 minuten lopen van busstation, maar auto huren is handiger. Het is geen resort, uitzicht was niks, maar daar is de prijs dan ook naar. Wij hebben er twee weken met veel plezier verbleven! En mocht ik nog eens teruggaan zou ik zeker weer The Ritz kiezen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. In an effort to keep our cost effective prices and like most places in Curacao, we offer ambient temperature water (water tends to warm up several degrees in the days heat). Glad you got to enjoy our pool and jacuzzi !Hope to see you again at The Ritz!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great hotel. Close to everything!!!!!

Posted May 21, 2015
This hotel is a great option for a Curaçao stay. The staff is wonderful and assists with any and every need. The location cannot be beat as it is located within easy walking distance to Punda and Otrobanda. Additionally, the hotel is located in the historic and beautiful neighborhood of Scharloo. My check in was seemless, my room was very well appointed, and the food at the restaurant was excellent. The grounds of the hotel are very picturesque. I high recommend this hotel to anyone who will be visiting Curaçao!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and thanks for coming to The Ritz! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We also enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again in Curacao
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tilburg

Leuke locatie voor een betaalbare prijs.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Goede locatie, vriendelijkheid personeel.
Cons: Douche mag wat warmer zijn.
Location: Vlakbij pondjesbrug, centrum Willemstad.
Het is in Willemstad gelegen in een nette wijk (in de wijk veel ambassades en dergelijke). Op minder dan 10 minuten lopen de pondjesbrug, dus centraal gelegen. Veel parkeerplaatsen aanwezig, handig voor als je een auto huurt. Tot 10 uur 's avonds receptie open, daarna een nachtportier aanwezig. Kamers eenvoudig met keukentje maar netjes. Douche netjes. Temperatuur niet regelbaar. Goede airco.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. In an effort to keep our cost effective prices and like most places in Curacao, we offer ambient temperature water (water tends to warm up several degrees in the days heat). Hope to see you again at The Ritz!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the center of Willemstad

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The pool area was really nice
We landed in Curaçao and had no place to stay. We took the bus to Punda and found ourselves more or less in the center of Willemsta. The neighborhood is a great place to be as there are many cafés, restaurants, bars and shops. Not only for tourists.especially the Peietrmaai district is very common and you can find lots of bars with live music on the weekend. The staff on the reptile was very friendly and helpful, giving tips and information where to go to. The room was clean, tidy and equipped with an air condition. All tools you need for an apartment kitchen were available. The bathroom had a toilet, shower and basin. The water in the shower depended on the outside temperature - s you only got nice warm water by 4 pm. But when the weather is warm I prefer to take a rather cold shower anyway. The pool area is nice with comfortable sun beds the only downside is missing shady corners. They serve breakfast for 10$ but we took a look at it and preferred to go to the floating market (5 min walk) and buy some fruit to make out own breakfast. Overall it's a great place to stay for the money you pay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2015 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you really got to enjoy Curacao and the RItz :D In an effort to keep our cost effective prices and like most places in Curacao, we offer ambient temperature water (water tends to warm up several degrees in the days heat). Hope to see you again at The Ritz!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by GERALDO from manaus

boa

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
foi bastante proveitosa e exitosa