Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Beach

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The closeness to the beach and the nice room.
Cons: The pool really was not usable. I believe it had salt water in it.
Location: The Curacao Sea Aquarium is a block away, and Willemstad is an interesting city.
The hotel and staff were very nice. The place was located on it's own beach (Cabana Beach) and was very convenient. The rooms were very nice, but the beds were too mushy (personal preference).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurie Rains from Boerne tx

nice

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort was awesome. Very nice surroundings. The pool was nice and the beach was nice. The people were great, mostly speaking Dutch, but everyone spoke English as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hank from NYC

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: This hotel is very unique. Cabins/room are nestled between small swimming pools and tons of trees/plants. Each room has a nice balcony with chairs
Location: Easy to walk to various activities - there are a few dive shops in each direction. Very close to Mambo beach to party and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jessica from sc

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The staff and the greenery
Cons: Associate with a different restaurant
Location: With in walking distance is ny steakhouse and surf and turf restaurants. $15 cab to downtown Willemstad with shopping and restaurants.
WOW!! Went here for my honeymoon and it was beyond expectation! The rooms are gorgeous and the staff is attentive and willing to help. There are a few things Americans are used to that they don't have. Such as an ice maker... They also ask that you turn off your ac when you're not in the room to help conserve energy. You also receive one water bottle when you arrive per guest. The water there is clean and safe, so you can refill it and cool it in the mini fridge. And you'll want to because water can be $4 per bottle since it is scarce on the island. I do recommend going into town and getting breakfast food for your room!! Cabana beach club is the restaurant associated with kontiki and the staff there is VERY rude to Americans. It is also expensive and not very good. Their breakfast buffet is $20 per person and a free continental breakfast is higher quality. Plus, why not wake up and have breakfast on your balcony and take advantage of the beautiful view. The massages on the beach are FANTASTIC!! We got the honeymoon package. Expensive but worth it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Dear Jessica, incredible to read you loved spending your honeymoon at Kontiki. Yet, you marked some comments about rude behavior of Cabana's staff, which is a disappointment. We'll directly take action towards these staff members, since we absolutely stand for respect and equality. Thank you for your comments which make us able to react. Further on in your review I hear only good things and handy remarks for future visitors, thank you for this. I hope Kontiki contributed to your unforgettable experience. Hope to see you once again in Curaçao! Team Kontiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite nice. Taxi from airport back and forth was almost as much as one night in the hotel. An unimpressive breakfast buffet was pricey. There are a few restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for couples

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Price was good for the area, close for you to walk and do things around the beach area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DSMD from Florida, USA

Great vacation spot!

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Pros: The location and the look.
Location: The Kontiki is located in Curacao right on the beach and Wilemsted was just a 10 minute $20 taxi ride away.
We arrived on June 21 and departed June 25. The hotel check-in was easy and informative. Also, whenever we needed a taxi, one was summoned and was there very quickly. Our room was a "partial" ocean view room with a fantastic balcony. We could see the ocean and the salt water pool just below our room. The room had a thatched roof that made it quite quaint. We loved it! The music on the beach was quite loud and lasted until 2 a.m. or so each night. But, if you like to hang out on the beach and enjoy the evening, dancing, etc., then this is not a big deal. I know this, we are already planning to go back to Curacao and we plan to stay at the Kontiki!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lewis

Tree House stay

Posted Apr 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Awsome, BUT could use ice machines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Kontiki Resort

Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice and convient, Ice machine for rooms would be handy tho. BUT, enjoyed upper level room, had feeling of living in our on treehouse. THANKS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Kontiki in Curacao-- Beautiful Beach

Posted Feb 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beach: 5 Stars Housekeeping: 2 Stars Staff: 4 Stars, beach wait staff work very hard Cabana Bar: 4 Stars Location: Expensive Taxi ride to Willemstadt Grounds: 5 Stars Restaurant: 2 Stars Very Expensive, Breakfast was outrageous.. luckily we found the Hemingway Bar down the beach, which has good food at more reasonable prices.