Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful facilities with a gorgeous chapel. Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
This is a Beautiful hotel in a fabulous setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
OVera experience. However, the restaurant lacks local dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A slice of heaven!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: It was extremely well appointed, great staff, very luxurious.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The location was perfect. We did have someone take us around on a private guide, which was quite reasonable and worth the added expense.
After coming out of the jungle up river from Puerto Maldonado, we arrived to this luxurious haven. It was like staying in your own private castle. After a much needed shower, we had a very romantic dinner with a Peruvian Opera. Talk about two extremes. I am so glad we opted to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Excellent buffet breakfast. Quiet environment. Only 10 minutes of walk from Plaza Del Armas with restaurants and historical places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roger from nyc

Beautiful hotel,stay if possible,if not visit it

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Overall the staff was excellent, as is the location and the decor and history of the hotel
Cons: The$ staff at the Concierge & Front Desk do nothing more than LIP SERVICE.The staff member who handles reservations lacks common sense,& is costing u$
Location: nice location, Cusco easy to walk around, plaza de Armas, Cathederals, market etc., ablilty to make day trips to surrounding area to inca sites,
The Belmond Monasterio hotel is a beautiful hotel with great history & decor. Overall the staff was very pleasant,helpful and attentive. Two staff members that were exceptional were Pablo in the Bar/lounge area and Carlos in the dining area. A few issues I had with the Monesterio had to do with the Superior room I booked, the rooms are small but that was ok, my complaint was the room had no view & the TV was not working properly. I spoke with the front desk about changing rooms because I was not happy with the view, the staff at the front desk said a big group was coming in and no room s were available but they would try to do something(lip Service). The next day while returning back to the hotel after a day trip outside of Cusco I spoke to the Concierge about the TV still not working he assured me he would send someone up right away. No one came.I once again spoke to the front desk. This time someone came after two days. The concierge and the front desk staff put on a good but nothing more than lip service Another problem that I had with the Monesterio staff was with the reservationist,I was originally going to book (4) nights at the Monesterio with a one day break in the stay because I was going to Macchu Picchu and staying in the Sanctuary Lodge in Macchu Picchu (a sister hotel of the Monesterio). I called the hotel directly and spoke to a reservationist who told me they could not give me a multiday rate,due to break in stay .INSANE! I booked a day at Marriott a block away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in the heart of cusco

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Everything about this hotel was top shelf! Lovely room and quiet and comfortable . The courtyards are beautiful . The breakfast was delicious with so much variety and beautiful setting. Everyone on the staff was helpful and friendly . We especially appreciated Carolina .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveling Atty from New York

Beautiful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Location: Location couldn't be better. Get dinner at Marcelo Batata or its sister restaurant Uchu. Food was beyond incredible.
One of the most beautiful hotels we've stayed at. Every detail is taking care of. Staff speaks English and is happy to help with any issues. Rooms are a little tiny considering the price but so beautiful and comfortable with great turndown service. There is beautiful original art hanging around and a restored chapel to visit. Every possible service is offered (for top prices of course). If you need a taxi though, ask them to send you a local taxi rather than the hotel taxi. You still get one of the professional drivers but at a third the price - a little strange actually. Overall, a great way to relax after or before MP. And the breakfast (included) was AMAZING.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Washington DC

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Service, service, service. And beauty. At night, you can see the lights of the city shining like stars on the hill above the roofed courtyard.
Cons: There was a special way you had to organise the shower to prevent water dripping onto the floor.
Location: Tourists are Cusco's heartbeat. Anyone and everyone is helpful (not nagging you to buy). Inka and Spanish sites are phenomenal.
Hotel Monasterio was a Spanish monastery until 1965, built in the Spanish style with two balconied stories around three courtyards filled with flowers around a central fountain. After the exciting and fascinating rush of Cusco you can step into a calm, unrivaled in my previous hotels stays. But this is no simple step into the past. The hotel is filled with quietly efficient and friendly staff; it has the latest technology for staying connected to home; and the food is delicious. When I needed the doctor, they arranged for one to visit and then sent someone to fill the prescription. When we wanted to leave our luggage for a two day trip to Machu Picchu, they kept it and upgraded our room when we returned. Every member of staff knew my name, including housekeeping. It is not luxurious per se and there is no pool. Rather Hotel Monasterio is a sink-into-being-completely-looked-after experience. I can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rodrigo from BUENOS AIRES

THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY IN CUSCO

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: LOCATION AND BUILDING
Cons: NOTHING. EVERYTHING IS PERFECT
Location: GOOD RESTAURANT IN THE CORNER CALLED "CICCOLINA"
THE HOTEL IS IN A PERFECT LOCATION AND THE STAFF KNOWS HOW TO DO THEIR JOB. I STAYED IN A ROOM WITH OXYGEN BUT I BELIEVE IT IS NOT NECESSARY TO PAY THE OVERCOST OF THIS.