Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

A superior hotel experience

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Everything...Room decor and amenities, staff, concierge service, breakfast and food in general, the hotel itself, location. Zero complaints.
Cons: About the only thing one might complain about is the price...You'll pay a pretty penny for the privilege of staying here.
Location: Terrific location...Right next to Plaza de Armas, yet away from the fray and hustle bustle. Not a long walk to San Blas. Many restaurants nearby.
We had a fantastic and memorable experience at the Belmond Monasterio. From the moment we arrived to beyond when we had departed, the Monasterio provided us with the best possible service and left us wishing we had spent more time there. Our trip got off to a bad start: due to misinformation from the airline, our luggage was left behind in Lima, so we only had the bags on our backs when we arrived. Monasterio was immediately attentive to our plight, took down all of our information, and told us they would contact some people to see what they could do. The airline told us that the earliest we would see our bags was 7pm the following day; somehow, we got a call the next morning from the hotel staff saying our bags would be arriving shortly, then a follow up when they arrived, followed by delivery to our room. Like magic. The second area where Monasterio stood out was in its concierge service. Not only did they help with dinner reservations, but they helped us arrange a driver to Poroy (train to Machu Picchu), stored our luggage while we were away, then made sure our luggage was with the driver when he picked us up on the return (since we were going to another hotel). I could go on and on, especially given how our second hotel in Cusco fell short. Bottom line: If you can manage it, stay at the Monasterio in Cusco. You will not regret spending a bit more...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima 27

Relax confort luxury

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Great staff and facilities. Lovely meals. Beautiful rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nathaly Arriola from Paris

Room extremely small

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The public areas of the hotel are great as well as the service, however the room is too too small and uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful facilities with a gorgeous chapel. Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
This is a Beautiful hotel in a fabulous setting.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by cheryl from New York City

Disappointing is an understatement

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I are well travelled and generally stay in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, which come with a certain level of expectations. This was our last day in Peru having stayed in Lima and Cuzco already earlier in our trip. Additionally it was my boyfriends birthday which made this a special night. Given that this is supposedly one of the best hotels in Cuzco, I had paid $450 for a room. We checked in completely exhausted after a full day in Machu Picchu. Our room (which was an upgraded room) was tiny with no room for 2 suitcases to be out at once but the worst thing was the smell of raw sewage in the bathroom. We were exhausted and couldn't face moving rooms but called down to reception who said there had been some issues but they should resolve in a couple of hours. We stayed and by morning the stench was completely disgusting. We brought it up on our check out and they said they had no record of anything being reported by us and they had had no issues. I would like ot say that they did comp our dinner from the previous night but I would be remiss in not telling readers that this is NOT a 5 star hotel. Earlier in the trip we stayed at Palacio del Inka not far away and the service and hotel was absolutely impeccable. Amazing and a far cry from this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by BMON, Hotel Management
When we were informed of the problem, we sent a mainteinance technician who reported us that he needed to work for about one hour, we explained this to the guest and he refused to move to another room, because of the hour. The next morning at the check out time we talked to the guest and offered him our apologies for the inconvenience and also a discount of $218.80 all for F&B charges that he had during the 1st staying in the Hotel. We regret this incident and we blocked the room one day to solve the problem and avoid another complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
OVera experience. However, the restaurant lacks local dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A slice of heaven!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: It was extremely well appointed, great staff, very luxurious.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: The location was perfect. We did have someone take us around on a private guide, which was quite reasonable and worth the added expense.
After coming out of the jungle up river from Puerto Maldonado, we arrived to this luxurious haven. It was like staying in your own private castle. After a much needed shower, we had a very romantic dinner with a Peruvian Opera. Talk about two extremes. I am so glad we opted to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Excellent buffet breakfast. Quiet environment. Only 10 minutes of walk from Plaza Del Armas with restaurants and historical places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tammy Boone from Moorestown, NJ

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is stunning. Still has much of the historical charm of the monastery but updated with modern conveniences. Thanks to the concierge and breakfast staff for impeccable service!