Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexander from Colombia

Very nice and Magical experience

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ani from Chicago

Very nice

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is wonderfully located as a starting point to head to Machu Picchu. If you are however looking for a nightlife or restaurants, this is not the place. We look an hour bus from Cusco here, and then caught the train to Machu Picchu early the next day. Great location to discover other surrounding areas of interest. Internet is very sketchy at best, about 60% success rate.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RM from New Jersey

Boutique San Augustin- more of a hostel than hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed after reading many great reviews. The front desk staff was very unhelpful, first pretending that we did not have reservation for 2 rooms and only giving us after we showed the confirmation. The front doors of both rooms left a half centimeter crack which enabled bugs and small spiders to enter the room at will (but apparently none exited). Rooms are small. Grounds are nicely landscaped. Not much to do in walking distance. Breakfast was ok and upto the local standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lennie from Bogota, Colombia

A Wonderful Experience; Highly Recommend

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The peaceful setting. The charm of staying in a converted/restored monastery that proved to be extremely comforable with a memorable experience.
Cons: Re-train the hotel staff or hire persons who take responsibility for their actions (or non-actions). Make customer service a priority!
Location: (covered in narrative, above)
This 100+ year-old restored/renovated/modernized hotel provides a pristine setting for a wonderful, enjoyable experience. It is quiet quiet quiet!! The lovely garden sitting areas, the inner courtyard, and the ambiance provide unforgetable memories. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we repeated this journey 10 more times! The rooms are rustically comfortable, but the bathrooms are strikingly modern - from the stone-wall enclosed shower (how refreshing was the shower with strong pressure/flow to provide a massage-like experience. The monestary's chapel provided for even quieter moments. Can you say "peaceful calm?" The downside? The hotel staff need to be re-trained; their attitude is lackadaisical at best and their interaction with guests is best characterized as "detached." Nobody seemed to take ownership for screw-ups. Taxi arrangements - made twice, and in both English and Spanish - fell through the cracks. We three waited for naught, in the rain at the train station, for the pre-arranged taxi that never came. No apology, no excuses, nothing! (other than "I'll pass this one to the responsible (irresponsible?) person. Stay here for the charm and memories, but do NOT relay upon hotel staff....do everything yourself and you'll come away with a great hotel experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous venue.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Grounds.
Cons: Wifi.
Location: Visiting Seminario for ceramics and town walk.
Close to town. Very quiet. Very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary from California

Most staff don't speak English

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a cool place, but hard to communicate with most staff who don't speak English. The waitress in the restaurant was bad. We waited over 10 minutes for her to even come to our table, and then she didn't bring us what we wanted. But she didn't speak English, so we assumed a language barrier as part of the issue, even though we made a simple request (three times) of more bread without getting it. The rooms were chilly, although there was a heater upstairs. It would be nice to have the TV by the bed so people can relax while watching instead of sitting on a stool downstairs. The monastery atmosphere was unique and cool, so if you know Spanish, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on your way to Machu Picchu. The front desk staff is nice and helpful, even if they lack English. The hotel is kinda out of the way, but not too hard to get to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from South Florida

Best Hotel & Bartender (Dino) in Sacred Valley.

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Dino was awesome and was typical of all of the Peruvian people we encountered. Extremely friendly and happy. Thank you for an amazing stay.-Rick
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Judith

Historic property, beautiful setting

Posted Nov 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Monestario dela Recoleta was a convenient base to get to the Pisac market, Ollanta, and Moray. The grounds are beautiful with a chapel, fountain, flowers, wrought iron, and great views. A++. We requested a taxi for the day, specifying a safe and slow driver. The roads are often winding and treacherous, and sometimes one lane. Not a place you want a bad driver. My only complaint was that the beds were a little hard, but I am finding this common in Peru. The bathroom was nice with rustic stonework.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com