Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Arcadia, CA

Repurposed monastery

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, nice dining room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phillipfrom Los Angeles, CA

Garden was nice

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
There aren't many options in Urubamba. This is your run of the mill hotel, and is a place to rest your head if you're heading to the Sacred Valley. The Gardens are nice, but the bed is very hard. If the bed was more comfortable I would be giving a different review - felt like I was sleeping on the floor. The people that work there are very nice, and extremely helpful. The hotel seems very safe, as they have a guard at the front that locks the gate entrance of the hotel. There are really no other alternatives to eating at the hotel so you may want to bring some food with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tharsiofrom Los Angeles

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is really beautiful...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel, we had a great time. Staff was wonderful, though most only speak Spanish. Food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gustavofrom Buenos Aires

Silencio reparador

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Muy agradable
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexanderfrom Colombia

Very nice and Magical experience

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anifrom Chicago

Very nice

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is wonderfully located as a starting point to head to Machu Picchu. If you are however looking for a nightlife or restaurants, this is not the place. We look an hour bus from Cusco here, and then caught the train to Machu Picchu early the next day. Great location to discover other surrounding areas of interest. Internet is very sketchy at best, about 60% success rate.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RMfrom New Jersey

Boutique San Augustin- more of a hostel than hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed after reading many great reviews. The front desk staff was very unhelpful, first pretending that we did not have reservation for 2 rooms and only giving us after we showed the confirmation. The front doors of both rooms left a half centimeter crack which enabled bugs and small spiders to enter the room at will (but apparently none exited). Rooms are small. Grounds are nicely landscaped. Not much to do in walking distance. Breakfast was ok and upto the local standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lenniefrom Bogota, Colombia

A Wonderful Experience; Highly Recommend

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The peaceful setting. The charm of staying in a converted/restored monastery that proved to be extremely comforable with a memorable experience.
Cons: Re-train the hotel staff or hire persons who take responsibility for their actions (or non-actions). Make customer service a priority!
Location: (covered in narrative, above)
This 100+ year-old restored/renovated/modernized hotel provides a pristine setting for a wonderful, enjoyable experience. It is quiet quiet quiet!! The lovely garden sitting areas, the inner courtyard, and the ambiance provide unforgetable memories. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we repeated this journey 10 more times! The rooms are rustically comfortable, but the bathrooms are strikingly modern - from the stone-wall enclosed shower (how refreshing was the shower with strong pressure/flow to provide a massage-like experience. The monestary's chapel provided for even quieter moments. Can you say "peaceful calm?" The downside? The hotel staff need to be re-trained; their attitude is lackadaisical at best and their interaction with guests is best characterized as "detached." Nobody seemed to take ownership for screw-ups. Taxi arrangements - made twice, and in both English and Spanish - fell through the cracks. We three waited for naught, in the rain at the train station, for the pre-arranged taxi that never came. No apology, no excuses, nothing! (other than "I'll pass this one to the responsible (irresponsible?) person. Stay here for the charm and memories, but do NOT relay upon hotel staff....do everything yourself and you'll come away with a great hotel experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com