Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The view at night of Cusco was beautiful and the decor of the hotel is unique and really neat.
Cons: We needed an electrical extension because there was only one outlet in the room. I would suggest that they have some decent ones available for guests
Location: Lots to do in Cusco!
We arrived late in the evening though we had made the reservation long before and had communicated with the staff that we were arriving late but they were not very prepared for us. They put us in a room which was right under the stairs which was very noisy especially in the morning when a large group of tourists came tromping down the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Canada

A nice place to relax

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Situated high above downtown Cusco. Affording beautiful views and tranquility. Patrick and the rest of the staff were very accommodating and kind. 20 mins walk to Sacsayhuaman entrance from hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2014 by patrick, Hotel Management
thanks for staying with us and your kind review- hope i find you and the twins in good health-look forward to seeing you again.patrick
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lisa R. from San Francisco

Almost perfect

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the rustic atmosphere and the location in San Blas. A very easy walk to the Plaza de Armas. Beautiful view of Cusco and we saw fireworks during the Carnival. Delicious breakfast spread, also with a view. Complimentary use of the computer allowed us to stay in contact with family. On the first night, our insomnia kicked in so we enjoyed the various TV channels in English & Spanish. Cute little dog on property too, his name is Osito el Gordito (little chunky bear). The only downside: we had a lovely tub in our room but were unable to use it because there was never any hot water. We asked the front desk and they advised us to wait about 20 minutes but only reached lukewarm temperature. I booked the room specifically for the tub and fireplace, it was a shame we couldn't use the tub (after a long hike at Machu Picchu). Would have been nice to soak our feet. Other than that, we were happy with our stay and felt welcomed by the friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: View Cheap Breakfast included
Cons: FREEZING Staff doesn't speak English Water is quick to get cold
The staff was very nice, however only one person spoke English well enough to be able to communicate with guests. We checked in two separate times during our trip because we went to Bolivia in the middle of it. When we returned they had lost our second reservation! Because the woman dent speak English it took 30 minutes to sort out the problem. We had to show her the Expedia e mail proving the room was reserved and paid for. They had promised us the same room and didn't follow through. In fact they tried to put us in a room with no tv! They finally put us in a very very high room. Beware! This hotel has a spectacular view but is very very very high up there! The Internet barely worked so don't count on that. The breakfast was....ok. They promised hair dryers upon request, which they didn't have when we arrived! Finally, the rooms are FREEZING!!! They provide you with a heater, but ours didn't work! We were huddled under the blankets all night and we both wound up getting sick; dry cough, fever, the whole nine yards. The hotel staff was nice, Peru was spectacular, this hotel, however, we wound not recommend. You will freeze, the hotel water is quick to go and the staff is inefficient. The language problem was a huge barrier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by josephine from new hampshire

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
great views of cuzco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodi from New Hampshire, USA

Great spot for hikers, young families!

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: The view from our balcony on the 3rd floor was unparalleled. Hotel is housed in ancient structure with creature comforts - water, wi-fi.
Cons: Roads are being worked on - Trip up to hotel involved 4 large outdoor flights of stone stairs (w/ luggage), up hill (thin air*), up 3 more flts to rm.
Location: On top of highest district in Cuzco - This is not for folks who are disabled in regards to their walking or breathing capabilities (wheelchairs, COPD)
The view from our rooftop balcony to the surrounding mountains was spectacular, and it was our reason for choosing this hotel. Hotel is in ancient structure, involves uneven surfaces and stairs. Due to the altitude, getting there was always slow and pretty breathless (we are in our 60's, and clearly 20 yrs older than the next oldest visitors). Staff was helpful with most needs, although missed our wake-up call at 4:15AM our last day there, prompting a hair-raising departure and nearly missed plane. This is a wonderful place for hikers, young families seeking adventure. Enough hot water if you're not greedy - breakfast adequate if you get there early.
2 out of 5
by Adrian from San Jose, Costa Rica

Difficult acces

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: view
Cons: very difficult acces
Location: difficult acces
Acces is very difficult, and afterwards you have to climb a lot specially if you are in the Suites...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Disaapointing hotel w/PII "data security" issues

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Location: The hotel is about .5 miles up a hill and the rooms stretch even higher up the hill. The location is difficult due to altitude sickness.
Cusco hotels don't have heaters and the weather drops to the 30s at night so it was nice to have a wood burning fireplace in the room. However, there are gaps all along the door letting cold air in and there are open vents in the toilet room and shower room letting in cold air as well. There were not basic amenities you expect in Europe/US (e.g., hair dryer, toiletries, iron,) but I’ve never been to S. America before so maybe that’s standard. It was very concerning when we asked the front desk for paper to burn in our fireplace and they gave us former guest’s paperwork with their PII on it (e.g., name, address, phone, passport). When we arrived at the hotel we couldn't get our room until we presented a hard copy of our pre-paid reservation, which we didn't have and had to email it to the front desk...luckily we had an internationally provisioned phone. On the last day I went down for breakfast and they had ended it at least 40 min early. When I asked about it they said all guests were gone...we weren't. Then while I was eating breakfast a woman came in from the hotel and asked me questions about the Inca Trail hike we went on, why I didn't notify them we would be gone, and said my reservation was only for 5 nights when it was actually for 7 nights. I was on my laptop at the time and told her I would pull up the reservation and she quickly left. We assume when people go on a hike they remove the stuff from their room, store it, and rent the space to other people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good choice

Posted May 3, 2012
small rooms, bad service, too much stairs, not recommended for elders and children
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miramar, FL

This place is falling appart

Posted Dec 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
The staff was nice but the hotel is literally falling apart. At first we ask for the rooms with chimney but they told us that all rooms were the same and we have been offered a regular room. Luckily the room was not cleaned and we were able to get another one (with chimney and bathtub). However, everything was more less broken, including light fixtures and shower.