Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convinient location. Excellent staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
very clean, convenient location. excellent staff and very helpful. Most wonderful thing was their Continental breakfast at 4:30 am, so people who wants to go to macchu picchue by 6 am, they can have breakfast. Also first train leaves at 5:30am, so it will help those as well. Food was average, but clean and fresh.
2 out of 5
by JB from Cleveland, OH

If you like everything to be broken, stay here.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: You couldn't improve this place. It's that terrible.
Location: Right behind train station. Dimly lit streets. Far walking distance from any restaurants/attractions.
I arrived to find the "hotel" in a state of disarray. First off, they didn't have my reservation on file. Secondly, I was asked specifically to pay in US Dollars - they would not accept my credit card. This should've been my first clue to go elsewhere. The elevator was broken, and it seemed as though the entire place was under construction (furniture was scattered about in the common areas, tile was halway installed in places). The beds were acceptable (clean enough), but the shower did not have any hot water (even after letting it run for 10 minutes or so), and the free WIFI as advertised did not function in the room (it did work in the lobby, however). The location is off the beaten path, right next to the train tracks (with trains coming and going constantly well after 11pm), which is well away from the restaurants and souvineer shops that dot the well-lit, lively center of Aguas Calientes. Dark alleys, even in a tourist town, are not something I particulary seek out for fun. They were unavoidable in order to get to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Staff

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The location in Aguas Calientes is the best way to go to Machu Picchu, and this is a nice hotel to stay.
Cons: They were installing an elevator while we were there. The elevator will be a nice improvement.
Location: There are many restaurants and stores to buy souvenirs.
We went to Machu Picchu for my wife's birthday. We mentioned this to the check in person the night before my wife's birthday. The next morning the staff played Happy Birthday on the sound system in the Hotel. At the Breakfast Buffet the staff gave my wife a Birthday Cake, and we had a little chance to dance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Toronto

Average hotel with a great view

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Nice view Clean Comfortable bed
Cons: A more affordable price.
Location: Machu Picchu
It was OK. Hotels in Aguas Calientes are expensive in general with nothing special.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no Internet access in rooms

Posted Jun 1, 2014
I was informed by the staff that Internet access is only available in the lobby area. I find this to be very inconvenient as I will have to get dressed up every time I have need to use my tablet..which was what actually happened.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip this hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location
If you have any other choice,book at another hotel. Our view from the window were iron roofs and a tattered building. There were constructions, elevator not working; It didn't jive with the lush surroundings and the Mach Picchu experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose Kaladkarin from T

Aguas Calientes hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
The front desk staff are excellent. Efficient and accommodating. The hotel itself is under construction, dusty and there's somewhat dunk smell around. Location is excellent, 10 minute walk from the train station. I really like it that they serve breakfast already at 4:30a so we can catch the 5:20am bus to MP not feeling hungry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Location, Location, Location!

Posted May 5, 2014
A 2 minute walk from the train station. A member of the hotel staff met us at the train station and walked us to the hotel. We felt safe walking to the nearby restaurants at night. We booked our tour of Machu Picchu through the hotel. Our tour guide met us at the hotel the night before to review our tour plans and give us our tickets. We met him the next morning at the hotel to start our tour. A great tour! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The ONLY "negative" was our room was on the 4th floor and there was no elevator. Not a big deal for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too close to the train station...

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: early, good breakfast.
Cons: wake up call, noise isolation, internet connection in room is too slow
The lowest point about the hotel is its location. We weren't able to get a good night of sleep due to the noise of the nearby train station and the not fully closing window. The bathroom wasn't very clean and it lacked of any place to leave the soap in the shower or hang your towel. We asked for a wake up call but the first morning we were called 20 min late (the wake up was just a knock on the door, no phone in the room) and the last morning we weren't called at all. On the other hand, the breakfast was fine, plenty of fresh fruit and juices and served from 4:30 am, very convenient if you are planning to visit Machu Picchu really early in the morning (which by the way is a great experience!). Price is convenient for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicolas from argentina

Nice views, great shower

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: helpful and kind staff
Cons: the offered lunch box is expensive for what you get.
Location: of course machu picchu.
staff is really nice and helpful. good location. shower has excellent pressure and always hot, very important after a exhasuting hike.