Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Pampering after Inca Trail Hike

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food, cleanliness, strong water pressure of showers, comfy beds, and decorations of hotel-its pretty.
Cons: Not sure-we didn't notice anything.
Location: This hotel is in Aguas Calientes on the road right a 2 minute walk to where you take the bus up to Machu Pichu. The whole town is a walking town.
After the hike, we checked in to this beautiful hotel. We were delighted to find out that high tea, our 3 course dinner, a sumptious buffet breakfast, a freshly squeezed welcome juice and decorative and delicious snacks and welcome pastries delivered to the room were all included in our price! Also complimentary was a class on making pisco sours and ceviche, which we got to eat and drink with Freddy and Laura-they were so charming and sweet and the food and beverage wonderful! My friend had a massage which she said was one of the best she had ever had and we enjoyed our balcony and listening to the river. It was a very luxurious experience and we would recommend this hotel and its staff and food (especially ceviche and alpaca) highly, especially if you want to recouperate after the hike.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JORGE QUESADA, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your nice review We will really appreciate your comments could you please share this nice review on tripadvisor as well best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Philadelphia

Great ROI - watch your room placement

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The staff was pleasant and helpful - very approachable and service oriented. Hotel room was very good -- and I stay at Starwood hotels regularly. The inclusive meals were way more than I expected. Three course dinner for everyone staying in the room and large buffet breakfast. One free drink per person plus the nice extras upon arrival (drinks, snack, hot towels). Location was fine... some say its 'far' from town, but it is all relative -- AC is not that large so a 200m walk from the train station is hardly an issue. Biggest issue was the proximity to the train tracks -- we were on the 5th floor, at the far end, windows/balcony facing the woods/train tracks. Trains stop from 12:30am - 5am but otherwise they run regularly. While trying to sleep, felt like the trains were driving right through the room! Could be improved by staying on the lower levels, facing the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from San Francisco, California

Architect didn't consider river view potential

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Room was very nice. Lobby and bar area was also very nice but could have been more spacious. Buffet breakfast was great. Dinner was very good.
Cons: When we first arrived for the complimentary Pisco drink the bar staff seemed overwhelmed and we waited a long time for our drinks.
Location: Location was ok but the town overall wasn't of much interest to us. Came to see Machu Piccu which was very inspiring to us.
The thing that was disappointing to me was the fact that the architect didn't take more consideration for the view of the Urabama River. The roof of the building is such that you have to go stand on the balcony to see the river which is outstanding. We were on the fourth floor. When there is a view of something as spectacular as the Urabama River an architect should definitely take advantage of it. We had to stay at a hostel for a night because we arrived a day early and it had a bay window looking on to the Urabama River. The view and sound was fabulous if you appreciate that sort of thing. The hotel is a little overpriced in my opinion but overall it's a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manu from New York, NY

Americans Visiting Peru

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nada. if you go to Machu Picchu don't stay in your hotel, take advantage of your time up there. Sumaq takes care of the rest for you!
Location: walk along the inca trail. Highly recommend fit young people to buy Huayna Picchu tickets online in advance, definitely a spiritual experience.
Honestly, nothing but excellence here! From the second I stepped off the train I had 5 minutes to catch a bus to climb Huayna Picchu, and the staff waiting for me helped me do this amazing feat! They were so accommodating, and allowed my mom into the room and carried our luggage while doing the official check in later upon my return. Also, they offered a drink and something sweet to eat during the check in process. Management was awesome. clean hotel, accommodating staff. They served us the BEST food we ever ate while in Peru. As well, they made life easy for us and we got on the 2nd bus leaving for Machu Picchu from directly outside the front door of the hotel without waiting in line. They also got our Machu Picchu and bus tickets for us, all we did was lend them our pass ports and give them the money for it. They had the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in! Also, river view was beautiful. I awoke with leg cramps from climbing Huayna Picchu, so at 2 a.m. I got in the bathroom's jacuzzi and was able to get to sleep again! Staff were super nice and helpful, will recommend to all !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah from Charleston S.C.

location is good with wonderful views of the river

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a good staging point for our trip to Machu Picchu. The bus to the Citadel stopped right outside the door. I was glad that it wasn't in the center of town since Aguas Calientes is all about tourism and packed with tourists and souvenir booths all selling virtually the same items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernie

Macchu Picchu with my son.....

Posted May 27, 2014
My son & I stayed here for one night .... To really expereience the magic of Macchu Picchu! The hotel meet all our needs & the staff .. Accomodations & location were the best!! We had an excellent dinner... My son commented that it was one of his best meals in Peru!! We really appreciated the staff's attension to details.. And making us feel part of community.. We would highly recommend the Sumaq!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rick from new york

A treat after the 4 day inca trail

Posted May 24, 2014
Rained during our last day of the trail and we were completely soaked and tired. Hotel did not feeln crowded even though it was full. Great service, big rooms and excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Eric from Fort Lauderdale

Amazing Service

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel. Clean amd well kept. Amazing service. Hotel staff was very a accommodating, eager to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable. Great food. Dinner and breakfast are included with the room. Only downside is hotel location. Right next to railroad tracks (like most buildings in Aguas Calientes), but trains typically stop running by 10 PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted May 8, 2014
They got us breakfast boxes to go since we leaving early to go to Machu Picchu! The tea, the happy hour, everything was perfect!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sara from Dallas, TX

exceptional service

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely no complaints about our stay here. Our room was very comfortable, the hotel service was fantastic from start (picking us up at the train station) to finish, dinner and breakfast were both quite good and we enjoyed the complimentary Pisco Sour during happy hour.