Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Never again! Overpriced!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Overlooking the river
Cons: The staff can be taught to smile and can be flexible.
It was our first time in Machu Pichu, and my husband and I decided to stay one night in Aguas Calientes for US$360 per night for a 2 double bed bedroom. My daughter based in Lima decided last minute to accompany us to the trip. When we checked in we were advised that we have to add US$170 for my daughter, I said that she is just joining me in the double bed, the staff will not agree. So, we did not have a choice but pay up the addtl fee so a total of $530 for one night in a so-so hotel. The room they sent us has a view of the road, you can see, smell and hear all the trucks, buses that pass the street! The floor is so slippery, we slipped a couple of times! So, I requested for a change in room. The next one has a good view of the river, but with no A/C and no screen, the bugs are coming in! The room and closet has bad, moldy smell! The toiletries maybe locally made, with the shampoo oddly cinnamon smell. The TV and remote is not working well! Even the curtains have broken mechanism! I don't see why the price of this mediocre hotel is so ridiculously high. Coke is $3+! The hotel hallways are cheaply lighted with motion detection lights that when you go out of the room the hallway is so dark, and it will light up only when you start to walk through it! With our train still departing in the afternoon, we requested for a late checkout. And we guess it right, they are strict about the 10 am check out time! I will never stay in this ridiculously overpriced hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

One of the best hotels in town!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Great, fun hotel right with very friendly staff and a nicely decorated room. Bus for machu picchu stops right in front of hotel, putukusi trail right behind, and located at a great location right at the edge of town. The included dinner was amazing, some of the best food we had in Peru! It's a bit pricey, but with meals and drinks included it works out well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jayfrom dallas

A nice getaway. Pay attention to policy

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay was great. One exception.... You must bring immigration papers along with passport to avoid an additional sales tax. Besides that I had a wonderful stay. The breakfast and dinner was exceptional. Friendly staff and very professional. Very clean. I highly recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Martifrom California

Relaxing stay!

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was gracious, the food was AMAZING, and riverside location was beautiful! The only negative is that sound echoed through the hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rtfrom Uk

Not a five star, mediocre rooms, reasonable food

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Little bit disappointed for the price, after experiencing a real 5 star in cusco, this was a little disappointing. Most people stay her one or two nights, there is nothing to do int the evenings in the area, apart from be ripped off with bad food and fluctuating service charges. Was an experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Welcoming, helpful, with a feel of luxury and elegance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by suzziejfrom Melbourne, Australia

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel concentrates too much on non essential items & neglects the basics. My room faced the street & noisy traffic. The windows need double glazing. I had to ask for earplugs. The wifi connection was intermittent. The tv remote did not change channels. On the up side, the room was spacious & heated & the bed very comfortable. Some extras were appreciated: the welcome fruit juice (tho the amuse bouche was tiny & silly) ; the sweets delivered to the room , the free Pisco Sour but then they charged over 8 soles for a bottle of water at the dinner included in the tariff. On the whole the meal was good apart from another minuscule silly amuse bouche.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ginafrom Chicago

Impeccable customer service gorgeous view

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is beautiful all rooms have an awesome view but the piece that got me most excited is the incredible customer service. We arrived to Aguascalientes early in the morning without notifying anyone! Yet the hotel is so organized and proactive they knew we were on that train and met us at the station. Carried our luggage the block or so down to the hotel and checked us in with personal service, information, assistance and fresh juice! The hotel also provided a very good dinner that was included as well as breakfast! We were veery happy with our stay and would highly recommend the Sumaq.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Pampering after Inca Trail Hike

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food, cleanliness, strong water pressure of showers, comfy beds, and decorations of hotel-its pretty.
Cons: Not sure-we didn't notice anything.
Location: This hotel is in Aguas Calientes on the road right a 2 minute walk to where you take the bus up to Machu Pichu. The whole town is a walking town.
After the hike, we checked in to this beautiful hotel. We were delighted to find out that high tea, our 3 course dinner, a sumptious buffet breakfast, a freshly squeezed welcome juice and decorative and delicious snacks and welcome pastries delivered to the room were all included in our price! Also complimentary was a class on making pisco sours and ceviche, which we got to eat and drink with Freddy and Laura-they were so charming and sweet and the food and beverage wonderful! My friend had a massage which she said was one of the best she had ever had and we enjoyed our balcony and listening to the river. It was a very luxurious experience and we would recommend this hotel and its staff and food (especially ceviche and alpaca) highly, especially if you want to recouperate after the hike.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JORGE QUESADA, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your nice review We will really appreciate your comments could you please share this nice review on tripadvisor as well best Regards