Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in Aguas Calientes

Posted Apr 14, 2014
the Sumaq is an excellent hotel in Machu Picchu town or Aguas Calientes. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff is exceptionally welcoming. They also offer different activities for the entire family. That's a positive because the town is very small, and there is basically nothing to do outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julius from Bogotá, Colombia

Great idea!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
If you are going to machu pichu, the best way is to stay in Aguas Calientes and wake up early and go up at 5:30 am, they open the doors to machu pichu at 6. If you like luxury en great service this is you hotel. The food is the best! The service is incredible, they help you with every thing you need to go up machu pichu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Assistance to get to the Machupichu: Hotel staff reserved for us the seats of the bus to Machupichu so that we didnt have to wait for the long line at the bus stop. When the bus service was resumed due to the accident, immediately Hotel staff contacted to us and gave us the advice. Restaurant quality was quite higher than expected. Room was clean and comfortable. Definitely recommendable for everyone to stay in the village. The service is worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: The restaurant, the helpful staff, location, rooms, luxury.
Location: Machu Picchu!
Beautiful luxurious hotel with lots of character, a fantastic breakfast, and a first-class bar and restaurant overlooking the river and mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ted from idaho

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanne from South Africa

Stunning situation on the banks of a raging river

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly and efficient service
Location: Visit to the Inca ruins
We were unable to stay in the Sanctuary Lodge in Macchu Picchu as there was no bus service due to a landslide and were obliged to make alternative arrangements and stayed at Sumaq for two nights.The staff at both hotels were incredibly helpful and made our visit memorable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Coral from Brisbane

Can't think of a better place to stay.

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, food and ambience
Cons: the roads outside are in bad repair
Location: You can walk up the road to the markets. The bus to Machu Picchu stops to pick you up/ drop you off at the door. Yu can sit and watch the river.
After travelling for seven months, we decided to see Machu Picchu before coming home. My husband and I had different opinions about where we'd stay. We were both so happy we chose the Sumaq. It's close to everything, but away from the main hub. Food is excellent. The extras were fantastic. Can't wait to go back again. The day spa is sensational - don't miss it. The afternoon tea is relaxing. The breakfast is adequate - dinner is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chuck from lake arrowhead ca

Very very good

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: The food was wonderful We had a room overlooking a roaring river
Location: Macchu picchu is great for 50 reasons
Among the best trained staff I've encountered Sofia is world class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Place to stay in Aguas Calientes!

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The service was unparalleled. Awesome facilities. 5 star dining experience and service. If you are staying in Aguas Calientes then you have to stay at Sumaq Machu Picchu!