Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

One of the best hotels in town!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Great, fun hotel right with very friendly staff and a nicely decorated room. Bus for machu picchu stops right in front of hotel, putukusi trail right behind, and located at a great location right at the edge of town. The included dinner was amazing, some of the best food we had in Peru! It's a bit pricey, but with meals and drinks included it works out well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by suzziej from Melbourne, Australia

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel concentrates too much on non essential items & neglects the basics. My room faced the street & noisy traffic. The windows need double glazing. I had to ask for earplugs. The wifi connection was intermittent. The tv remote did not change channels. On the up side, the room was spacious & heated & the bed very comfortable. Some extras were appreciated: the welcome fruit juice (tho the amuse bouche was tiny & silly) ; the sweets delivered to the room , the free Pisco Sour but then they charged over 8 soles for a bottle of water at the dinner included in the tariff. On the whole the meal was good apart from another minuscule silly amuse bouche.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gina from Chicago

Impeccable customer service gorgeous view

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is beautiful all rooms have an awesome view but the piece that got me most excited is the incredible customer service. We arrived to Aguascalientes early in the morning without notifying anyone! Yet the hotel is so organized and proactive they knew we were on that train and met us at the station. Carried our luggage the block or so down to the hotel and checked us in with personal service, information, assistance and fresh juice! The hotel also provided a very good dinner that was included as well as breakfast! We were veery happy with our stay and would highly recommend the Sumaq.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Pampering after Inca Trail Hike

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food, cleanliness, strong water pressure of showers, comfy beds, and decorations of hotel-its pretty.
Cons: Not sure-we didn't notice anything.
Location: This hotel is in Aguas Calientes on the road right a 2 minute walk to where you take the bus up to Machu Pichu. The whole town is a walking town.
After the hike, we checked in to this beautiful hotel. We were delighted to find out that high tea, our 3 course dinner, a sumptious buffet breakfast, a freshly squeezed welcome juice and decorative and delicious snacks and welcome pastries delivered to the room were all included in our price! Also complimentary was a class on making pisco sours and ceviche, which we got to eat and drink with Freddy and Laura-they were so charming and sweet and the food and beverage wonderful! My friend had a massage which she said was one of the best she had ever had and we enjoyed our balcony and listening to the river. It was a very luxurious experience and we would recommend this hotel and its staff and food (especially ceviche and alpaca) highly, especially if you want to recouperate after the hike.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by JORGE QUESADA, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your nice review We will really appreciate your comments could you please share this nice review on tripadvisor as well best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and experience!

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was very nice experience,, the food, the service the rooms, everything was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Pablo from Australia

Great location

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marjorie from Atlanta GA U.S.

Excelent Hotel in Aguas Calientes

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excelent, I donĀ“t need more words.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from Philadelphia

Great ROI - watch your room placement

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The staff was pleasant and helpful - very approachable and service oriented. Hotel room was very good -- and I stay at Starwood hotels regularly. The inclusive meals were way more than I expected. Three course dinner for everyone staying in the room and large buffet breakfast. One free drink per person plus the nice extras upon arrival (drinks, snack, hot towels). Location was fine... some say its 'far' from town, but it is all relative -- AC is not that large so a 200m walk from the train station is hardly an issue. Biggest issue was the proximity to the train tracks -- we were on the 5th floor, at the far end, windows/balcony facing the woods/train tracks. Trains stop from 12:30am - 5am but otherwise they run regularly. While trying to sleep, felt like the trains were driving right through the room! Could be improved by staying on the lower levels, facing the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from San Francisco, California

Architect didn't consider river view potential

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Room was very nice. Lobby and bar area was also very nice but could have been more spacious. Buffet breakfast was great. Dinner was very good.
Cons: When we first arrived for the complimentary Pisco drink the bar staff seemed overwhelmed and we waited a long time for our drinks.
Location: Location was ok but the town overall wasn't of much interest to us. Came to see Machu Piccu which was very inspiring to us.
The thing that was disappointing to me was the fact that the architect didn't take more consideration for the view of the Urabama River. The roof of the building is such that you have to go stand on the balcony to see the river which is outstanding. We were on the fourth floor. When there is a view of something as spectacular as the Urabama River an architect should definitely take advantage of it. We had to stay at a hostel for a night because we arrived a day early and it had a bay window looking on to the Urabama River. The view and sound was fabulous if you appreciate that sort of thing. The hotel is a little overpriced in my opinion but overall it's a good place to stay.