Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Location: Close to the Plaza de Armas, the central plaza of the town.
The room was clean and ample. What I like the most was the courteousness and friendliness of the entire staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cozy Hotel, Great Location!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It was really cozy and the staff was awesome and friendly.
Cons: We stayed in a room next to the guest complimentary computers. We heard every word outside our room. Not a big deal though, at least for us.
Location: Cafe Morena and Mr. Soup are awesome and located right down the street. Also, there's a flea market. Learn to haggle. Don't settle! Even it's a little
When you pull up to the hotel, it doesn't seem like much. But walk up the steps and into the lobby and you start to realize what a nice place it is. It's so welcoming. They even have coffee and coca tea for guests, which by the way, is available 24/7. Be sure to partake in tea. It's supposed to help with altitude sickness and it's not bad either. The rooms are nice and very clean. After our short stay at Aguas Calientes, returning to our room at Tierra Viva was a blessing. It made me appreciate this hotel so much more. This really was an awesome hotel. I can't speak for any other Cusco hotels since this is the only hotel we stayed at but 10/10 we would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from england

good choice hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: reception staff very helpful
Location: a short walk from the centre of cusco but worthwhile
enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff are very helpful and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is very enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Dungog

Quiet and close to the Plaza

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, very comfortable. The rooms were well lit. Great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to the Centro Historico
We stayed here for four nights, the first room had a terrible smell,and we were moved. Apparently it was from a painting job. The staff were helpful and organised taxis for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Boulder, CO

Excellent location, quiet, and clean

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff were great, the location was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the beds were nice and big.
Cons: Changing the breakfast menu would be great. The breakfast provided was the same every day.
We stayed here before and after hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. The location is very good- close to the city center but far enough away to avoid the noise and traffic. The staff are excellent, courteous, and very accommodating. They helped us with every detail we required: navigating the city, making reservations for transportation and taxis, providing breakfast-to-go at 4:00 am, and much more. The place feels very safe and secure and is a wonderful refuge from the chaos of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cecile from NY

Nice and very convenient hotel.

Posted May 13, 2014
Staffs are very helpful and nice. Room is very clean. Bathroom has decent size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from NC

Excellent stay. Wish we had stayed longer

Posted Apr 26, 2014
We found the hotel staff to be incredibly helpful. They provided an electric converter so we could charge our camera, arranged a taxi to the airport for us at a great rate, and were just generally helpful. The free breakfeast was among the best we have had during our time in Peru. Really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from Geelong, Melbourne

Beautiful hotel 5 mins walk from main square.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Excellent rooms with very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing that stands out.
Location: Just close enough to the main square so as not to be in the middle of all the tourists.
The unassuming entrance gives way to a beautiful little hotel that reflects the local feel rather than a modern hotel that could be located anywhere in the world. Rooms around the lovely little courtyard make you feel at home and away from the world outside. The suite we had at the top and rear of the hotel was fantastic. Reception room separate from main bedroom with bathroom separate again. All spacious and clean. Pleasant and friendly staff assist you with without any problems and most have very good English understanding. Breakfast was very simple but covers all the basics and is more than adequate. The hotel is a few mins walk from the main square and just far enough away to be nice and quiet. One of the most pleasing places we have stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelsey from Tampa, FL

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights during our honeymoon in Peru. The staff at the hotel was really nice and welcoming. We always had a clean room, and breakfast we great each morning. We were even able to get at 5:00am before heading to Manchu Picchu. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the area. Location was great as well... we were able to walk to the main square every night for dinner, and never felt unsafe walking home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Magali from Philadelphia

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful Cusco house

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Room, great staff, interesting breakfast, ample provision of coca and muna tea (quite necessary!).
Cons: If they could regulate the hot and cold water (but it's not a big complaint). My husband thinks the beds are 6 inches too high, but I don't mind.
Location: Cusco is the historic capital of the Inca empire, at 3400 meters. Don't go to Machu Picchu for just the day and don't miss the other ruins.
Beautiful large room in a colonial house (no windows, but a clerestory, which made it quieter (lots of dog barking in Cusco!). Wonderful, helpful staff. The most varied breakfast we had in the Tierra Viva chain. We stayed at Cusco Saphi, Arequipa, and Lima Miraflores, and I recommend them all. Great hotels, great value for the price. I would not look elsewhere if I return (and I shall, to Lima at least)