Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SB from Georgia

Pleasantly surprised for the price

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: The carpet could use some deep cleaning- it was sticky and needed dark socks or shoes. The towels were a little scratchy- maybe some fabric softener?
Location: The location is really nice. Very convenient to the University, many fast food restaurants, and only a few miles from the little town square.
I got this hotel for a last minute conference and didn't have much money to travel. This was the best price I could get that was also close enough to the conference. I have stayed in Super 8 Motels before, so I was expecting the dingy and creepy things from the last few I had stayed in other cities. This one was different. The front desk clerk was very kind, pleasant, easy to talk to and accommodating. I knew I would be needing extra coffee in the morning, and he was happy to just grab a few packets for me when I checked in. Once I got to the room, I was even more surprised. It smelled very clean. Normally, they smell dingy and musty or like there is a fragrance covering the room. This one was not. The room was bigger than I expected and had everything I needed including a separate desk and table. The bed was semi-firm and the pillows were also. It was not hard for me to sleep here. The sheets were clean and changed daily- which is greatly appreciated. The only recommendations I would make for the room would be to shampoo the carpet and use a little more fabric softener on the towels. The carpet had a slightly sticky (like when you use too much carpet powder) quality, but I wore black socks and was fine. The towels were just a little scruffy. The breakfast could use some work. The selections were very limited-even for a continental breakfast. But, I planned ahead and brought my own. There is also a big chain fast food restaurant in the parking lot if needed. :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smells

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down and start over
This room stinked. We had to leave the door open fo an hour to air it out. A trip to the store for some air freshner was rewarded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Owen from Arkansas

great

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great visit. Nice property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I needed a place to stay

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Close to town.
Cons: Better breakfast. Fresh towels on day 2.
Location: Close to town. Gold mines & museums.
Stayed 2 nights. Everyplace else was booked. Good thing there is a McDonald's next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, but nice enough

Posted Sep 8, 2013
The hotel was nothing fancy, but the room was clean, the front desk staff was nice. We checked out very early so I have no idea about the breakfast, but there's a McDonalds next door so no big deal. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steph from Mississippi

Worried at first...

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was afraid of what it was going to be like when we arrived and saw we were near a burned-out room. I mean charred black with boards over the door. However, once in the room it wasn't so bad. The tub and bathroom floor was new, and the bed was clean and super comfortable. The pool was clean and the breakfast, although minimal, was fine. If you are a motel snob, look elsewhere, but if you are just sleeping, showering, and fueling up for a day of sightseeing, then what's the big deal?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Bulldoze it and rebuild.
Had no idea what I was going to get into when we stayed here overnight recently. We had a ground floor room in the back. they had recently had a room fire with smoke damage noted outside the room,, underneath the overhang for about forty feet in both directions. The door to the gutted room was open for all to see the condition of the damage. I had wondered if the smoke had caused damage in any adjacent rooms , but didn't have long to wait to find out. I dropped my room keep, accidentally, next to the room's desc, When I reached down to pick it up, my had came up blackened with soot. The mattresses were in poor condition. None of my family members slept well because of this. The complimentary breakfast was unappetizing at best. Thank goodness there was a fast foot restaurant next door! There are many other options in Dahlonega for lodging. Stay anywhere but here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesley from Savannah, Ga

What we expected

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Cons: The hotel needs to be renovated.
Location: The location was great. Minutes from campus, attractions, and downtown.
The room was clean. The furnishings were old. There were holes in the comforter and stains on the sheets. The beds slept pretty comfortably. The staff was pleasant. For the low cost of the room we got what we anticipated.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was nonsmoking and it still smelled bad. Needs updating/renovation. Won't stay there again.