Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Perfect quiet retreat

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I was in Dakar to research a novel and the Novotel was absolutely perfect--quiet enough for me to work in my room for hours on end, great food delivered to my room by courteous staff, helpful connections to local tour guides. I couldn't have asked for more. Worth every dime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shani from Dubai

Good Hotel in a descent budjet

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Has wonderful inside and outside bar settings, live music on the outside majlis between 7pm and 10 pm. not often but many times. nice large pool
Cons: attitude of the reception staff, single/double bed issues in double rooms and SQUARE PILLOWS!!
The hotel is located in the central area of the city, near to most of the government institutions and close to the port. Ibis and Novotel share the same compound and is right next to the Central bank of West Africa. though located in central Dakar, the hotel is quite and peaceful. Rooms are good, but the comfort level is almost negative. the washroom and bathroom are separate, where the washroom resembles a tiny stink hole!! (though it was not stinky) you could hardly move in there. The bathroom is descent and spacious lacks proper ventilation!! Did book a 1doubleroom with single bed, but was put in a double room with 2single beds!! pretty uncomfortable to sleep with to top, the pillows are square!! when asked the reception to change were adamant to shift and insisted the hotel was full.. so becareful u might not get what you actually booked for. i was for a short business trip so didnt bother much. The sea facing rooms means a tiny window in the room from which the sea is visible. The place has a nice restaurant, which can accommodate vegetarians upon request. The breakfast spread is good, and has a variety of options, though everyday the same spread is served no changes in the menu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shani from Dubai

Good Hotel in a descent budjet

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Has wonderful inside and outside bar settings, live music on the outside majlis between 7pm and 10 pm. not often but many times. nice large pool
Cons: attitude of the reception staff, single/double bed issues in double rooms and SQUARE PILLOWS!!
The hotel is located in the central area of the city, near to most of the government institutions and close to the port. Ibis and Novotel share the same compound and is right next to the Central bank of West Africa. though located in central Dakar, the hotel is quite and peaceful. Rooms are good, but the comfort level is almost negative. the washroom and bathroom are separate, where the washroom resembles a tiny stink hole!! (though it was not stinky) you could hardly move in there. The bathroom is descent and spacious lacks proper ventilation!! Did book a 1doubleroom with single bed, but was put in a double room with 2single beds!! pretty uncomfortable to sleep with to top, the pillows are square!! when asked the reception to change were adamant to shift and insisted the hotel was full.. so becareful u might not get what you actually booked for. i was for a short business trip so didnt bother much. The sea facing rooms means a tiny window in the room from which the sea is visible. The place has a nice restaurant, which can accommodate vegetarians upon request. The breakfast spread is good, and has a variety of options, though everyday the same spread is served no changes in the menu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view and quiet location in city center

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Cons: Hotel service manners at front desk
Location: Near center of city. Walking distance to restaurants (La Fourcette) and Goree Island ferry terminal. But nice quite oasis, with fantastic ocean view.
This is my second time at Novotel in Dakar. The first was in 2010. Wonderful place, just overlooking the ocean. For me, it was super convenient to many locations where I had meetings. It is about a 20 minute ride to Allmadies (the beach area) where I had other meetings, and also some additional nice restaurants on the beach. Very comfortable. Rooms are nice. Beds are comfortable. Modern Scandinavian feel in decor. Rooms and hotel are quiet...kind of barricaded from the hustle and bustle of the city center. Airport pick-up and drop-off were free (and super convenient as Dakar Airport is one of the most chaotic experiences in airports in Africa. You do NOT want to deal with the taxis at the airport). Food was pretty good, but there are some good restaurants close by, including La Fourchette which is the next block over. I also was able to walk to the ferry terminal for the ferry to Goree Islands. Dinners were very good. The lunch buffet is excellent, but perhaps a bit pricey. I did have an issue with one person at the front desk. But luckily, the manager, who knows about hotel customer service stepped in and saved the day. The downstairs lobby and pool area are vibrant and nice. (compared to the lobby at the Pullman, formerly, the Meridian, which I think is dark and depressing). Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Nice rooms, comfortable, clean, good breakfast
Cons: Staff uncompetent. I was told the breakfast was included but they tried to charge me. Same with my wife, they told me same price but tried to charge.
Location: Location is great, on the corniche in front of the sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Centrally located & great within walking distance

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great staffs and very helpful with Dakar informations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good for business

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good for business
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by bruno from france

perfect

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
wonderful stay in this new hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich from London

Great hotel for the price and area

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The quality was good, adequately maintained and very comfortable and clean room. Good location although far from the airport.