Ratings based on 3,012 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice classy hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: I liked: the location, how comfortable the room was, the history of the hotel, the decor.
Cons: It would be nice if the hotel offered complimentary wifi. The valet process could also be improved.
Location: Located on Commerce in between Main St & Jackson. It is within walking distance to Dealey Plaza and the historical West End district.
I stayed at the Adolphus for 4 nights. When I arrived at the hotel, there was someone readily available to assist me. The gentleman who checked me in was very nice in giving me the history of the hotel (I am a major history buff). The hotel was built in 1912 by beer magnet Adolphus Busch. It once was the tallest building in Dallas. I was very impressed with the elegance of the lobby. A man was playing a piano owned by the Guggenheim family. I stayed on the 17th floor. The room was very nice, clean and the bed was super comfortable. As soon as I dropped off my bags in my room, I explored the hotel. You truly feel like you have stepped back into time. Rumor has it the 19th floor is haunted by a bride who committed suicide in the former ballroom on the 19th floor. The hallways smelled a little musty, but seeing as the building is over a 100 years old... They are in the process of renovating the building. I loved the location. Within walking distance to a lot of Dallas hot spots. The only "complaint" I have is the valet service was a bit slow at times. Then they lost my ticket so they had a hard time finding my car. Jimmy the valet service guy was super friendly! I didn't like that they didn't offer complimentary wifi. It was $10 a night. There is a really cool coffee shop right across the street called Flying Horse cafe that has awesome coffee. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and look forward to staying again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel with lots of charm!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Charming, Good location, Historic
Cons: Looking forward to the new renovation.
Location: The location is in the middle of downtown. There's PLENTY to walk to.
The Adolphus seems to be a well-known mainstay of Dallas. The lobby is really charming, very large with several restaurants and event spaces within. While I feel the furnishings of the hotel really need to be re-done, the hotel has great "bones". Luckily, the Adolphus is in the middle of a very comprehensive renovation, to include redoing almost every aspect of the rooms and hallways. I saw some of the new parts and it's going to be incredible. Even without that, we had a great rate, everyone was friendly and I felt the place was so charming!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel with a lot of potential

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Concierge service was super friendly and very helpful! The bed was amazing, super comfortable.
Cons: Front desk staff needs a charm school class. Key card problems 4 times in 24 hours is ridicoulous. Cleaning of the rooms..
Location: Well, down town is quite boring in terms of nightlife. But its close to all different kinds of attractions.
The hotel has a lot of history, and it is absolutely beautiful! Concierge service was excellent! Hotel staff such as front desk was disapointing - in 24 hours i had problems with my room key 4 times and had to go back down to fix it 4 times, explained my frustration about this to the front desk staff but they did not care... My room still had some left over thrash from previous guests, nothing to bad but expected more from this hotel. The hotel in it self was good - But they need to look over their rooms a bit more- Paint falling of from sealing in the bathroom, could not close the door to the toilett because of a badly adjusted table.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highlight is the fitness center.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Fitness Center. The doorman was incredibly nice and helpful.
Cons: Rooms need updating.
The best part of the hotel is the fitness center. The room I stayed in was dated and weirdly configured. The HVAC made alot of noise. The elevators were ancient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East TX

Beautiful Historic Hotel in Downtown Dallas

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The great staff, great location, and the beautiful decor.
Location: Conveniently located in downtown Dallas in the art district. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is kind & helpful. They are currently doing some restoration, but it didn't effect the service or the ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's was great!!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We had a great time. The food and the people were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place was beautiful

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Let us check in early. Staff friendly. Close to DART.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hope, Arkansas

Super nice staff!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Older hotel but had a lot of charm. Valet parking was very reasonable and worked out great! All staff was completely accommodating and quick to help in any way! Nice place to stay in downtown Dallas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmond, OK

Great historic hotel in the heart of Dallas

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The historic fixtures with a four star feel.
Cons: Update the décor. One of the chairs in our room had stains.
Location: Location is great, close to many areas of things to do. Not many restaurants within walking distance or open late, but a short Uber ride away!
All was great! Staff was nice and courteous, everything was clean and comfortable. I loved the historic fixtures!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Hotel gave someone our room and they came into our room in the middle of the night.