Ratings based on 2,716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnville, Maine

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Scott's service at the bar for breakfast was excellent. Steel cut oats with fruit and brown sugar our favorite. Had the eggs benedict the last morning there and they were excellent. My wife loves the old time charm and is a bit concerned what is going to be changed in the renovation. If the marble top sink vanities with the wraught iron stands are going she wants to be notified. Bed was very comfortable and room temperature control good. Will be back to check on the renovations and stay for a bit with in a year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskogee, Ok

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Beds were very comfortable. Terrific pillows!
Cons: Our room did not have a refrigerator/ microwave/minibar.
Location: We were there to go to market. Good location.
Lovely, historic hotel. Clean.Felt safe .Professional, helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Downtown disappointment

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location was good..beds were ok
Cons: Pillows Check- in Parking Dacor Breakfast price
Location: Right downtown, we walked to the farmers market and really enjoyed it...not to many homeless people and felt safe doing so.good amount of restaurants
With over a half hour wait ...the staff seemed ill equipped to handle the volume of guests checking in. The hotel garage does not allow self parking so you're basically forced to pay the $28.00 per night valet! For the price I expected more than a ratty old sofa and chair, a 1968 taupe colored tub & toilet ( with a broken seat) , and someone else's hair in the sink. I can not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Not Worth It

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable and the elevators were unusually fast and smooth if that counts for anything.
Cons: The list is long, too long.
We had high expectations for the Adolphus, but we'll not stay there again. There was only one person working the front desk on a Saturday night which resulted in long waits for check-in. After getting to the room, it was a double queen instead of the single king we reserved a week in advance. After waiting to speak to the front desk attendant again about this, I was informed (in so many words) that the hotel discriminates against anyone using "a third party" like Expedia to make their reservation so sorry, but you get what you get. The room was very large, but the furnishings just looked old, not old fashioned. There was one scratchy robe for my wife and I to share and the $28 fee for the valet only parking was just added insult to injury the next morning at check out. Definitely not worth the money we spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a good hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Some of the negative reviews on here are a little unfair. Yes tge valet parking at the hotel is rather high at $28 per day but less than a minutes walk you can park for $12. The concierge was fine with us unloading our car and then driving to the other facility. The hotel itself would of been very grand in its hayday. It still feels grand is dated in a couple of areas. The room we had was huge like American hotel rooms used to be! The big negative we found was the no free wifi. $11 per 24 hours is steep and the connection itself on the 17th floor was hit and miss. Overall though we enjoyed our time at the adolphus and would recommend to friends who were visiting Dallas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA.

Old Hotel from bygone era.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: We liked the quiet, large rooms. Carpet in room and hallways looked brand new.
Location: A lot of places to eat at surrounding the hotel and a variety of foods.
Very friendly staff. Very clean in every area we went into. We asked for high floor to avoid street noise. Stayed on 20th floor. Thought that we were the only people on the floor. Quiet as can be. We heard no one at all. Large spacious rooms and wonderful beds Will stay here every time we visit Dallas, Texas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis, mo

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Great experience Only wish we would have their the restaurant, The French Room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Cons: Gut it and renovate it
The hotel appears to have not been renovated in recent decades. The carpets were old and dirty-appearing. Furniture in the rooms was old and worn. The bed was from the 60's - at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very nice hotel!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It has a reassuring atmosphere. It's not cold, sterile or soul-deadening. It's the way I imagine hotels once were and that's a very good thing.
Cons: I have no complaints.
Location: It's an easy walk to the Arts District.
Centrally located, quiet and with an Old World charm. Front desk, concierge, doorman, all very efficient. Room was large and well-furnished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler, TX

Very nice!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient to downtown.
Cons: When you laid your head on the pillows, they went completely flat. Also, I do not believe that the beds were truly 'queen' size.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants. 5 minutes from the American Airlines Center.
The room was very comfortable and well maintained. It was also spacious. Definitely some place I would stay again if in the area.