Ratings based on 635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Very disappointed!!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: We liked that it was close to The American Airlines Center where we went to see a concert. We liked that it's within walking to "The Grassy Knoll"
Cons: #1 Their hospitality!! The size of their bathrooms, fix broken doors, replace ripped up chairs
Location: The Grassy Knoll is right there
We drove 8 hours from Kansas City and arrived at 1:30. We were told we had to wait until 3:00 to check in to allow all their guests to check out. We sat in the lobby 1.5 hours and saw not one person check out. They made us wait until 3:00 and not 1 minute b/4. We were then rushed through check in and not told we needed a key to work the elevator. Stood in the elevator for 10 minutes trying to get it to move (with other new guests who were also clueless). Decided the elevator was broken and walked across to use another one and were finally educated by a guest on how to work the elevator. We were put in a horrible room. The closet door was off the track (we couldn't open or close it. The desk chair had fabric that was ripped and in disrepair (honestly it looked as though the chair was picked up on the side of the road). The bathroom was ridiculously small (you literally had to walk behind the door in order to close it. The room had not been completely cleaned after the last guest. The tissue box had wadded up tissued shoved back into it and there was still trash in the wastebasket. We came in town to see a concert and were driven there by guest services who told us to call when we needed to be picked up, then never answered the phone when we tried to call him. We will not be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrible parking lot attendant

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Inside hotel was nice and staff in the hotel was courteous. For exception of the black female parking lot attendant. She rolled her eyes at use and even yelled at us for not paying when hotel staff in the lobby had forgotten to charge us for it. Extremely rude and unprofessional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Good enough for the price

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location of the Crowne is excellent. My room had a great view. There is a pool and they don't charge you for wifi internet. Just what you need
Cons: AC unit was noisy and its fan turns on with a *clunk*. I kept the fan on constantly to stop it. It smells musty, that old hotel scent.
Location: PERFECT. The DART rail is right behind the hotel, so it's super easy to get around. Lots of stuff in walking distance.
I needed to be in Dallas for a conference, and compared the hotels in the area. I chose the Crowne because it had what I wanted at the right price. The place isn't flashy and isn't new. It's obvious that place was built decades ago, even though they remodeled it recently. Deal with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for a week

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Had a good experience. Staff very helpful. Facilities were nice. Room was comfortable. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: updating and cleanliness of the rooms and halls
Location: great location for down town
The Hotel needs alot of up dates. Had terrible smell throughout the hotel. There was a water leak in the hall around my room. there was a fan in the hall for two days to dry the water up. The smell came into my room. air conditioner didn't work properly. spider webs in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Pest control, the odor.
Location: American Airlines Center, Downtown, JFK Museum.
I stayed two days at this hotel. I thought it would be a pleasing experience, for Crowne Plaza is a renowned brand. I was wrong. The first thing I noticed was a sign at the lobby that said "Beetle-mania" and had a big drawing of a bug. I read the sign and it said that there was a bug plague in North Texas, but that these bugs were harmless. The first thing I saw when I got in my room: one of those bugs. Even though it was supposed to be a plague all over the area, I only saw them in the hotel, nowhere else. Besides that, it is an old building with a very peculiar odor. They will charge you $14 per night for parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Been to Better

Posted Jul 9, 2014
I don't like staying in rooms off the elevator. Loud and too much traffic. Upon check in I had them change the room and was placed in another room directly off the elevator. There was also a loud noise that happened every 10 minutes. I believe it was the elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

A decent experience turned into a letdown

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The view from the pool is great. The region that the hotel is in is within walking distance of many fun things. (As long as you stray away from the nearby rapid station is like a homeless circus) although within the hotel there lies problems. Starting with the first room we were assigned minister we walked I'm everything stunk of mold. So went down to the front desk and asked for a different room, that was solved without a problem. Arrive to the next room 1831. First thing we do is turn on the light, flickering and creepy gets us to laugh not a big deal. First nights stay was nice. The next day we notice the toilet isn't flushing properly. Was requiring multiple flushes to get things to work properly. Did not spend much time the next day in the hotel. Came back late and used the restroom and everything was clogged. Service came up unclogged and the toilet never overflowed. Woke up next day to floors soaked in about a 3 foot barrier around the rest room and all of our clothes bags and shoes drenched with what smelt like sewer water. Called down to the office and complained didn't even offer dry cleaning only gave us a late check out by one hour where we washed our clothes off in the sink. When checkout came complained about the problem and asked to speak to a manager. No compensation was received let alone even a call back now a week later for the events that affected our trip negatively. I do not typically write negative reviews but very disappointed with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Old noisy hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Noisy - old hotel - not nearly the same quality as most Crowne Plaza hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Good location, the roof top pool is disappointing. Not actually on the hotel roof. Other then that's it's very nice