Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

A huge hotel nicely decorated in Texas Chic.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: I loved the grandness and scope of service offered by this hotel. If you are looking for romantic and intimate, this place may not be for you.
Much to do in this full of Texan pride hotel. Nearby lake with boat and jet ski rentals, fun water park with lazy river and slides galore, and plenty of restaurants to choose from. Old Hickory Steakhouse is on par with Ruth's Chris and Morton's. The spa treatments and hair salon are very accommodating and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Expensive extras

Posted Jul 20, 2014
$17 for self parking, $20 to park by the water park. Cannot bring your own food. Spent $113 for a family of 6 to eat lunch at the bar/grill. It's a fancy expensive place, but I was worn out by the end of our stay by the extra costs of the weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Round Rock Texas

Gaylord Texan Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Pretty -
Cons: More pools - lose the resort fee - it is overpriced - should be included - parking sucks - place is so big but food is quite pricey.
Location: Location is fine and luckily there are lots of good eats nearby that are fun/reasonable.
One elevator did not work - too many rooms and too small a pool. Waterpark is also overcrowded - people put towels on chairs and hang onto their tubes so you can't sit/or float. It is also small compared to the amount of rooms. Can't believe they only have one pool for all - Parking areas are closed off - makes it difficult to get out when you are paying $17.00 a night to park and you have to walk a distance. Resort fee of $36.00 not worth the waterpark area. We went for 2 hours one day and finally got a baby tube to float on. Spent 2 hours at pool but had to go early morning to get a chair. Food is way overpriced so we never ate on site. The drinks are outragious also - happy hour is an $8.00 margarita on one day otherwise you pay $10-$11.00 for a not so large margarita. Music starts early in atrium and the echo carries all the way through the place - loud cause everyone is paying mega bucks for their breakfast down there - maids vacuum early am the hallways - not worth the $ we paid - lots of little ones - I would next time just get a nice hotel with an outdoor pool - cause we never ate there anyway and drank offsite also - due to the prices or bought some to bring to our room. Not nearly as nice as we were expecting. A very large place catering to people who just want to pay big prices and sit at the hotel and eat/drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a weekend getaway...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Swim area for the kids.
Cons: Valet's organization and wait time.
The stay, food, and amenities were great. The only compliant we would have is the valet. We waited 30-45mins for our car, along with A LOT of other people. I would recommend calling and waiting a while before walking down stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
NIce hotel, great for families. Only complaint is the $18 per day hotel fee and $17 parking fee. No, this isn't valet parking. It is self parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

okay

Posted Jul 5, 2014
okay, but okay I really don't think want to write about it at all thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from New Orleans

Nice get away from it all

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The ambience and the opportunity to have the choice on whether or not I wanted to leave the Resort.
Cons: I belive that the front desk could do a better job in letting you know what is covered by the resort fee. Paid for the shuttle and shouldn't have
Location: Great location there was a shuttle that was convenient to explore Gaylord Mills Shopping Center, Restaurants of all varieties, and Historic Gaylord...
Very nice resort. I was truly transformed into a microcosmic Alamo and Riverwalk replication. Truly enjoyed the Sports Bar...Perfect for watching the NBA finals. I also loved the fact that it was totally my decision on whether or not I wanted to leave the resort. So many options were available on-site. Retaurants, Spa, Indoor Pool, Outdoor Pool, Art work, a vineyard, and so much more!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lore from Duncanville,. Tx

Great for kids!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: paradise springs and they have a shuttle that picks up guests and returns you back to the hotel every 20 min
Cons: needs a few more dining options
Location: great wolf lodge is right across the road, the Lake and grapevine mills mall all in close distance
this place was amazing kids stayed entertained all day adults are kept busy with sports bars shopping and places to eat. all staff was courteous and friendly easy check in, no waiting times room service was really fast. Yes this place was a little expensive but so worth the price. no complaints we are definatly going back this resort will be our staycation destination. and to boot if you stay on Fridays you are treated to free fireworks over the lake,. The views are amazing lots of waterfalls and a koi pond inside.If you do not want to go to paradise springs the hotel itself has 3 different pools and fireplaces through out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Gaylord Texan Resort, Hotel Management
Lore, Thank you for staying at our resort and for choosing Gaylord Texan as your staycation destination. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful time! Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brady from Houston Tx

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Stayed here for the Last George Strait concert. Hotel was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Gaylord Texan Resort, Hotel Management
Brady, Thank you for staying at our hotel. We hope you had a great time at the George Strait concert. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Houston

Gaylord Texas

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The atrium...along with all the other great amenities.
Cons: Only change the thermostat once a guest departs.
Location: Grapevine is a wonderful area full of quaint shops and great dining choices.
The room I requested was a King but only rooms with two Queen beds were available. The room itself is quite nicely done. I had an interior balcony room overlooking the open atrium. The view was extremely nice and listening to the water features was nice during the day. I was a bit nosy in the atrium during my first night until well after midnight....I could hear groups of people being loud. While I do not hold this against the hotel (there are several restaurant venues with "outdoor seating" in the atrium) to keep guests completely silent in the atrium late at night, potential guest should know it may not be silent all the time. The housekeeping staff...or maybe it was done remotely...would reset the thermostat to 72 even though I had set it lower to my comfort. I can understand setting the thermostat higher on an unoccupied room but if a guest is not scheduled to check out the thermostat should not be changed. I like that they were energy conscientious but the room was uncomfortable warm (humid) each time I returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Gaylord Texan Resort, Hotel Management
Jerry, Thank you for staying at our resort and providing your feedback towards your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the thermostat. It is motion activated, so if no one is in the room for a long period of time it automatically changes to 72 degrees. We do apologize it was an inconvenience during your stay since it is not our intention to cause any dissatisfaction to any of our guests. Thank you for your review and we do hope you get to come back soon!