Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Ambiance!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Love the whole resort!!!! The Atrium & the restaurants, the services, the amazing outdoor swimming pool with water falls! The trails, the glorious decor! Just exquisite!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Very plush with great atmosphere!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Beautiful Christmas decor! Wonderful time here. We would highly recommend this hotel. Great for kids too. We go on e a year every year for a nice getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

The experience was half worth the expense.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
My husband took me here as our last getaway pre-baby as I am currently 8.5 months pregnant. After hearing the cost, my expectations were high and justifiably so. Upon arrival the staff were fantastic, even at each of the restaurants inside - no complaints there. However, we went into our room and I was really disappointed. The shower curtain was stained, the bed sheets were stained, and I woke up to a roach crawling on the floor next to me. To top that off, I have to be in bed early at the moment, and our room was placed directly across from the bar - which kept me up until the bar closed. Then as I'm dosing off, there's a stream of drunks walking down the hall and yelling for at least 30 minutes. My expectations for this trip was a last quiet getaway with my husband before our child's arrival, not a drunken college fest with buddies. I was sorely disappointed. When management was notified of the experience we were comped a whopping $50...which might have meant something, had it not barely skimmed the surface of the fees and surcharges that were dumped on our bill at the end. Like I said, zero disappointment with the staff or service, but complete dissatisfaction with the attention spent on those that are being served while staying here and paying a pretty penny to do so. I wish we could have a do-over of our weekend together, and sad that this is how we will have wrapped one of our last baby-free times together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2014 by Gaylord Texan Resort, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review in regards of your past stay. i do want to apologize about the inconvenience you had with your room accommodations and the location. We strive to assist our guests and I am sorry we weren't able to satisfy you. I have passed your information to our Front Office managers to review with our housekeeping team about room cleanliness. Thank you again for your constructive feedback, as this will help our team improve our service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Huge hotel, with a nice central atrium

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Spaciousness, extremely friendly staff.
I stayed 4 nights on a business trip. The lobby and atrium area are absolutely huge and very impressive. There are several restaurants, which all serve really good food. My room was a good size, and nicely decorated. I didn't have a chance to use the pool or spa unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was excellent

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
The hotel was unbelievable!! Would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great place to stay. Only thing is the bars close 2 hours early to clean up. Don't expect to get a drink if you arrive late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Paul, Minnesota

Everything's bigger in Texas

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere and amenities available.
Cons: Lower the taxes. Also, please tone down the music at the outdoor pool in the morning hours so people can enjoy their coffee peacefully outdoors.
Location: Very close to the airport and downtown Fort Worth. Grapevine is a nice suburb with shopping and restaurant options.
We were in town for business and pleasure ... the Gaylord Texan was like exploring the whole state in one location. We walked into the lobby and our jaws dropped - BIG, beautiful and so fun!! There is a homage to Texas around every curve, and there are restaurants for every palette. The rate is definitely for the overall "resort experience" as our room was fairly standard - no bells and whistles, but comfortable and clean. However, I thought the "extra" taxes were exorbitant (daily resort fee, state tax, city tax, taxes and more taxes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom midland

Great facility. Spa is AMAZING! unimpressiv rooms.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Overall great stay. Excellent staff and service. Spa was exceptional. The rooms are nice but not impressive. Unimpressive Italian restaurant in the hotel. Food not great nor was the service. Would certainly stay again just go out to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

Really nice Hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Very expensive but you get what you pay for!! Only turn off was the Dallas cowboy groupies lurking in the hallways!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Disappointed in 3 things;

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Only one hot tub, and it was full of children, No views of lake, too enclosed They offer validated parking for visitors but not if you stay overnight. Lots of money for what you get .or don't get