Ratings based on 1,759 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is not as advertised

Posted May 19, 2015
Booked non-smoking room, was given a smoking room. Elevator was scary, only 4 people at a time Breakfast was disgusting, bacon looked steamed. Vagrants outside of hotel every night begging for money Outlets in bathroom did not work pillows were as hard as rocks
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Spring, Tx

Under renovation, should be under demolition!!

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: EVERYTHING!!
Location: Bad part of town, nasty hotel!!
$100 a nite for what, been traveling on the road for 5 years. Stay in 40 -50 hotels a year and this place is by far the worst I have ever stayed in!! Expedia you should have them checked out and take them off your site. There website shows all these great pictures.....Lies!! It is a good thing I have my CHL, my 9mm was by my bed!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Do not stay here!

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Price?
Cons: Should be shut until removation is finished.
Location: Close to convention center.
Construction makes this place unacceptable at any price. It is dirty, noisy. Fire alarm in my hotel was removed (certainly a violation). Only one elevator worked. and that had no ceiling. I walked up and down the 8 floors to my room. Carpet should not be walked on. I was locked out of my room by the door safety lock. Took 45 min to let me in. Breakfast, bed, and internet were fine. Location is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OKC, OK

Old, Historic, and Moldy

Posted May 5, 2015
We booked this hotel on Expedia because it was close to the music venue for a concert. It was also a book now and pay later. I had seen the bad reviews but thought we would be okay. However, most of this place looks like they haven't touched it since the 20s and that would be okay if they would've kept up with it. The elevator is the most sketchy aspect with peeling carpet, beat up wood, etc. Plus only 4 people can fit on it..again this would all be neat if they had kept up with it and kept the historical aspect alive. The room is shabby and even some motels could beat it. The bed was okay but the pillows were flat and old and our shower had black chunks all over it that if someone could have just rinsed it put before we got here it would've helped. Parking is far away and was 15 dollars. We used the state parking so we could get our car in and out because when we got here at almost 11pm after going out, the garage was locked up. The only good thing was the location, historical aspect to an extent, and the breakfast was better than what we had at the Sheraton near the Galleria. Wish we could've seen a ghost...you would think they are all over this place and it would've made this place more interesting. Also, it would've been nice to know about the construction before arriving. Getting woken up early in the morning wasn't too nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal, QC, Canada

For those who like vintage small hotels...

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: I like its vintage style and its location.
Cons: I gave 3 for "Hotel facilities, condition" but in fact, the hotel needs to be refreshed. The owners were doing a lot of renovations when I was there.
Location: It is in the middle of the convention center, the 6th floor, JFK and red museums, the information center, the “old” Dallas and restaurants, the train
I was in Dallas for SAS Global Forum conference at the convention center. I was looking for a cheap hotel nearby and I selected this one. I like small vintage style hotel and I did not regret my choice. However, the hotel needs to be refreshed but the owners started to do important renovations when I was there (they were replacing the old elevator, changing the mattresses, fixing rooms, etc.). I hope they will keep the vintage style. The complementary breakfast was good and complete. The location is great (three blocks from the convention center, three blocks from the 6th floor, the JFK and the red museums (including the information center), four blocks from the “old” Dallas and restaurants, five blocks from the train station). There is a restaurant beside the hotel but it was closed for renovation...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Dallas

Posted May 4, 2015
We checked in but after looking at the facility and our room we good not stay there. Dirty, major construction, strong cigeratte smell. Felt very unsafe
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

A broken down dump.

Posted May 1, 2015
This hotel is one step away from being co demned. Yellow tape everywhere, smashed up elevator, hallways not fit for a campus frat house.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Bad choice

Posted May 1, 2015
Hotel in renovation. Vera old elevator. Wifi did not work properly. Bad breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Hotel is going through a complete change and remodel to a different hotel chain. very run down.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin

Disappointing

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Not too much to like about this hotel. The location was nice, close to Main St.
Staff was rude from the start; I got the feeling that they could care less whether or not you were staying in their hotel or not. Our room was right next to the stairs door, and since you would have to wait at least five minutes for the one elevator, everyone took the stairs. It would have been fine if the stairs door closed softly, but by no means was the door quiet. Needless to say, sleep was not in the mix! When we checked out, the staff didn't ask if our stay went well, nothing, just "what room number, and charge it to the visa on record?" I had to ask about the "Continental Breakfast", in which she said with a little bit of an attitude,"yeah, on the second floor". And as for the "Continental Breakfast" the staff was either blocking the food areas by just standing there, or sitting down eating.