Ratings based on 1,500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but that's about it

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The price and location
Cons: The overall decor
Location: Close to the west end and public transportation
The hotel was located in a great location and close to public transportation, but it wasn't the nicest. It served its purpose because I only needed somewhere to sleep, but it lacked the luxury part. If you're looking for somewhere just to stay the night then this hotel is perfect, but if you need more then look elsewhere. The wifi was really slow, there was no microwave/fridge, and the bathroom wasn't the nicest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do have a great location and a complete renovation is being planned that will certainly improve our design and decor. We hope you return to stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The OK, Bad and Ugly

Posted Jul 31, 2014
This is not a business traveler's hotel. If you in Dallas on business and can affort to stay someplace else, do it and spend the money. I do regret saving a few bucks and not staying at the Hyatt or Omni. However, I would give this place a solid 2.5 stars out of 5 for vacationers. The OK: - The lobby - Breakfast - The room size (I was in room 316) - Location - Internet speed The bad: - Hotel room smell - Noisy Airconditoning Unit - Bizzare, cramped bathroom - Chipped walls everwhere you look - Torn carpets in the room and halls The ugly: - Found two bugs in my bed the first night after shaking my pillow. - Filthy windows Would I stay here again? Maybe if they invested some money in new carpets and fixed the paint on the walls. With this investment this place could be charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff
Location: Close to the Greyhound bus depot.
Excellent Hotel staff, very helpful. Helped coordinate last minute arrangements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and positive comments. We will pass your review on to the entire staff in order to let them know their efforts are noticed. We hope to see you stay with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Don't waste your money!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
This is a very old run down hotel. It is not close to the American Airline Center which is what I had read in the ad on Expedia. Smallest room I've been in and a sink that is very slow draining. Once you check in you are forced to pay for your stay if you try to cancel any additional nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. in general we do not typically ask our guests to pay for unused nights unless the cancellation window has passed. It is important to also note that the hotel is under new ownership and management and a major renovation is being planned at this time. We hope to start sometime this calendar year and invite you to stay with us again after we have finished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Best Ever!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Words cannot describe how WONDERFUL my stay at this hotel was. I thank Expedia from the BOTTOM of my heart for assisting me in every way, always...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

This place is very bad need of a total makeover.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I got stuck in this hotel due to booking last minute on a very busy week in the DFW area. From the carpet to the bedding, to the old tube TVs and popcorn ceiling that is literally falling down, I'd prefer a Motel 6 or Super 8 at half the price. I did not take off my socks and slept in my clothes on top of the bedspread. Just dirty and very rundown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, without your comments we would not know how we are doing. The hotel was recently sold and is under new management. A major renovation is being planned that will eliminate all of the condition issues you mentioned. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future after we have finished with our makeover.
3 out of 5
by Alma from Chicago, IL

Downtown area.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Hotel was close to the Convention Center. I felt safe.
Cons: Need new Ice Machines, New Elevators.
Location: It was in the downtown area.
Hotel was old and not what I expected, but was ok. The staff was helpful and friendly.
2 out of 5
by Curtis from Connecticut

I was very disappointed with the condition of hote

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast only
Cons: Yes, they post one look of the Hotel on line, but when you get there totally different
Location: we was attending the National Baptist Convention at the Coliscum
We checked in on Sat 6/14, 12:30p:m a beeping sound went off, the only way we could call service desk was using my cell, The phone in the room was not working, they fixed the sound, at 5:30 am, another alarm went off, no one didn't come, we had to disarm the alarm our selves, they said we could get credit for Sat. night. just had to come through Expedia, Then on Thursday my room was not cleaned, at 5:30 pm, had to sleep in untidy room, because cleaning staff went home, had to do own bed, and get clean towels my self, when we checked out on Friday morning, phone was still not connected, I was very disappointed, I hope I get credit for the problems we had, especially Sat. night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for your negative experience. We are attempting to improve our operation and reviews like yours will help us gauge our progress. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future and look forward to your return.
2 out of 5
by Patricia from Spring, TX

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: breakfast ok
Cons: remodel the hotel
Location: location is good
bad hotel, carpet is old and don't smell good. Furniture is old, bed not confortable. No freezer, no microwave.
3 out of 5
by Jose from Tempe, AZ

Pleasant staff/run down hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant
Cons: The condition of the hotel needs to be improved? The carpets need to be replaced, they need to get flat screen TVs, fresh paint could go along way.
Location: The location was good as it is within walking distance to good dinning and entertainment.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The TV in my room was not viewable, they need to get flat screens. The carpet was torn in my room and it was extremely worn and dirty looking throughout the hotel. They need to upgrade the entire facility. I know that it is a historical building, but even historical buildings can be upgraded and maintain the historical aspect that makes them special. I was disappointed because in this case "historical" meant that it was old and they were not going to spend much money to make it enjoyable for guests. I will not recommend this facility as it currently stands!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are in the process of planning a major renovation that we hope will get started this year. The hotel was sold to a new owner and is under new management as well. Decisions are being made to determine what the new look will be and how the historical aspects will be maintained. We encourage you to monitor our progress and stay with us again when we are finished. We look forward to your return.