Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so much

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Hotel is in need of attention. It survives due to location only. Not a repeat customer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water in shower, no cold water in sink.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
No hot water in shower, no cold water in sink. Hotel dated and not very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Convenient but overpriced

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Near West End and DART station
Ok, so I was so excited to find this hotel, look through the pictures, and then we checked in and got on the elevator. Overall, I did like the location. We were not far from the state fairgrounds, DART and west end. It was nice to be able to walk pretty much everywhere we planned to go. The accommodations left a LOT to be desired. We knew it was old walking in, but the elevator smelled. There were stains on the carpet in our room. The hot water never got hot...I wouldn't even consider it warm. The only saving grace for this stay was the fact we just needed a place to shower and sleep. Unless some serious updates are done, we will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Hotel needs upgrade/renovations

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: Hotel entrance, lobby and elevators.
The hotel is apparently old, the entrance, lobby and elevators are not presentable, the entrance door smells like musty/ moldy, carpet is dirty. The lobby looks so dark and tight, no space at all for visitors or customers to wait. The breakfast is good. Staff were courteous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Bugs dirty nasty food

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Bugs dirty nasty food... Never stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texarkana, TX

Worth giving a chance

Posted Oct 10, 2014
I stayed at The Lawrence to attend a seminar at the Old Red Courthouse across the street. I knew it was an old hotel, but I was alone and decided convenience was more important than luxury. The rooms are small and the carpet needs replacing, but I absolutely loved the charm of this place. It reminded me of the older hotels in New York's Time Square. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Hotel was old and run down. Elevator very slow room looked dirty shower curtain had mold on it very simple room. Bed pretty comfortable but with no extra blankets. Have to find your own parking and pay for it $10 a day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The hotel looked old from the inside and outide. The facilities doesn't look clean, I wouldn't go there again. It is well located, but it's not worth the rate that they have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not feel our hotel was a good value. We are emphasizing our cleanliness, despite our older decor. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Downtown Alternative

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Close to museums and convention center. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Modernization is on-going and should address the areas of well worn appearance.
Location: Convention center is nearby. Several museums are within a few blocks. Union Station (Amtrak, Trinity Rail Express and DART) is a block away.
Hotel Lawrence is a nice, older hotel that has been largely modernized. Renovations are on-going. It has a convenient, downtown location. Nearest restaurants are several blocks away. It served me well and I would consider staying there again, when I need to be in that area. I recommend it as an alternative to the expensive high-rise hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but that's about it

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The price and location
Cons: The overall decor
Location: Close to the west end and public transportation
The hotel was located in a great location and close to public transportation, but it wasn't the nicest. It served its purpose because I only needed somewhere to sleep, but it lacked the luxury part. If you're looking for somewhere just to stay the night then this hotel is perfect, but if you need more then look elsewhere. The wifi was really slow, there was no microwave/fridge, and the bathroom wasn't the nicest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do have a great location and a complete renovation is being planned that will certainly improve our design and decor. We hope you return to stay with us again in the future.