Ratings based on 2,108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great Location and Unique Feel!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The experience, lobby, buffet breakfast, location, free drinks, and bed comfort.
Cons: N/A
Location: Plenty of upscale shopping and restaurants.
Magnolia has a very unique feel to it. Our room was fantastic and had a nice view of downtown. It's in a great location in the hear of downtown and is easily accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, nice staff, medium location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Room, staff, happy hour, breakfast
Location: Not great--downtown.
The hotel was a mixed, but basically good, experience. I had a very nice room--not sure if it was normal, but it was kind of a suite with a kitchen and separate bedroom. Very comfortable. The staff was very nice, and I enjoyed the happy hour and free hot breakfast--lively crowd and generous food and drinks. The heat in my room did not seem to be working, so I called and they sent someone to fix it (I had gone out to meet a client). When I came back, the "fix" was turning off the Auto and turning the heat to "high" and 85 degrees. The room was an oven. The heat was never really fixed during my stay. They also had a mix up on my check in, and only had me for one night. They couldn't have been nicer about fixing it when I checked out, but they also called me at 11:15 at night on the second night to ask me about it--I was asleep. Very poor judgment, especially when they immediately said "Oh, no problem, we can just take care of it tomorrow!". Well, then, why did you call me at 11:15? The hotel is a little on the "dark" side, and the location is not great--downtown Dallas, which like a lot of cities is kind of dead at night. Overall, I enjoyed the hotel--thought the size and comfort of the room, and the great staff and amenities, outweighed the glitches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Great hotel with friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and great little perks (complimentary breakfast, happy hour (free drinks!), and milk & cookies).
Cons: Only downside was the heater took awhile to kick on (minor flaw) but other than that, the room was superb and very comfortable.
Location: Close to numerous restaurants and bars. Very close to public transportation (use the Dart. Passes are inexpensive and hardly anyone uses it)
Loved this hotel! We had originally booked the Hotel Lawrence because of its proximity to museums and Dealey Plaza. We were a little mislead by photos of the property and promptly checked out the next morning (arrived in Dallas at 11pm 1/10 checked out at 10am 1/11) and booked The Magnolia. We were able to check in early (10:30am) which was perfect. We would definitely stay at the Magnolia again. Loved the proximity to Akard Station (3 short blocks behind the hotel) and we used local transportation: The Dart, TRE, Bus system for locations that weren't within walking distanced.Also, take advantage of their complimentary shuttle to locations within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience we had at the Magnolia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2015
It was Ok. Nice location downtown, but nothing special. Business center printer did not work. Men's room out of order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Loved it! If I wasn't cold!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Great experience...except I got the room where the heat didn't work right. Couldn't warm up - after an hour I resorted to turning it up all the way and it made no difference. Obviously was broken. Called the front desk at 1am and was told there was not maintenance on duty. Offered to change rooms but I was too tired to repack and move. Just unfortunate...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thin Window make for Loud, Bright Night.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
There were a few little details in the hotel that make me think I'll be looking for a different hotel next time I'm in Dallas. Even on the 9th flood the sound from the street was quite loud. The window coverings were so thin they didn't block very much city light and that made it hard to sleep. Hotel staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2015
My stay at the Magnolia was wonderful The room was clean, well decorated, and the view was great. My only complaint was that it was very cold during the stay and the windows did not keep the cold out very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The only issue I noticed was that the bathroom needed some updating and the elevators were REAL slow. Overall though the hotel and staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada (On , Qc)

All great nice design, architecture

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nice old style hotel, great location, comfortable & clean room, nice look. Great staff & service, appreciated the Happy Hour drink & breakfast incl.
Cons: Needs Breakfast variety with + healthy food, elevators are run down a bit need improvement, same with bath area in my room. Valet parking expensive
Location: Great downtown location can walk anywhere downtown to visit POI, very close to JFK museum and memorial, close to American Airline centers and highways
Great 50-60 style (JFK generation) hotel, luxurious while old. Some of the areas need improvement, like elevators, my bathroom was nice, but bath needs a bit of redoing. Staff & service great, I liked this Happy Hour drink offer & the breakfast-included offer which you don't see in every hotels in Dallas. However Breakfast was the same for 3 days, scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes & sausages, need more fruits and yogurt for more heath conscious folks like me, & variety with ham & other proteins from time to time. Valet parking seems the rule in Dallas hotels, but at $24 a day, I could have parked for $12 a day the street behind (Main) during the weekend. The Valet parking Staff is quick & friendly. I would recommend it & would return, but I may shop around for other hotels too next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Dåligt bemötande i receptionen. Frukosten är usel, med grinig personal. Hissarna renoveras, störd av arbetet. Mottagningen utanför hotellet var kanon, glada,trevliga och hjälpsamma. Dyrt