Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug B. from Austin, Tx

Walking distance to Meyerson Symphony Center

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at The Guesthouse for our 20th anniversary. It is located in a quiet, shaded neighborhood just a few blocks from downtown. Everything was perfect from the time we arrived till the time we left. We stayed 2 nights in a beautiful, tastefully decorated, cozy room overlooking a small courtyard/garden with fountain where we spent the majority of our time. Breakfast each morning was gourmet quality and served on china with silver utensils at a time we chose (no later than 10:00 am) in the courtyard at our request. Our hosts were friendly and engaging, but kept a very low profile affording us the privacy to have the romantic, intimate stay we were hoping for. It also has the conveniences some hotels lack like in room coffee, in room ice maker and refrigerator (stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks), bath robes, and high quality shampoo, conditioner, etc. To summarize, I can't think of anything I would have changed about The Guesthouse and can't recommend it highly enough. My wife wants to stay only there whenever we go to Dallas from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Linda Horton from Carrollton TX

Lovely place to stay

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful, peaceful place to visit- I was staying the night in Dallas prior to surgery. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cindy

get Away

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: its a bed & breakfast that feels like home. easy to find. easy parking. nice clean surroundings and safety features, fireplace which was so cozy.
Cons: maybe a microwave could be added - they had ice maker, keurig, wine opener and small fridge.
girlfriend getaway - free of husbands. kids. noise. distraction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Oregon and Louisiana

Good Place, Good Price, Good Proprietor

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Quiet, easy, private, safe, pleasant proprietor Books on the wall made a huge statement for me.
Cons: Flip side of safe is the locked entry gate. I am a country boy and not accustomed to much security. Not really a complaint.
Location: Easy walk to Ritz-Carlton and surrounding hotels for meetings or whatever. Close to Hwy 75. Good access to a number of places to eat and drink.
Setup and confirmation quick and easy. Kay is helpful, welcoming and pleasant. I had a prior stay in a quite nice nearby hotel. While that was just fine, this went above and beyond in terms of convenience and overall comfort. And economy. No parking fees, no staff tips and no hassles. Come and go as you please. I stayed here for a 4-day meeting closer to downtown. Walked morning and evening. I would describe it as elegantly homey. Lots of books on the wall, nice bathroom (no tub, for those of you who find that a necessity, but it was a plus for me). King bed, nicely done up, comfortable. It must have been medium, since I don't recall it being either firm or soft. I brought my own pillow, since I like them flat. These were medium and might be great for just about anybody. Coffee in the room (tea also) Keurig. Works. Refrigerator also works fine and is quiet. Internet good. And free. Nice outdoor courtyard with fountain, Diana and goldfish. All private. At least I think it was Diana. You can leave the blinds up and enjoy that, or close them up and feel snug. Some light from the city around, but not nearly enough to bother me with the blinds up. Restaurant next door (Tapas) and several others in the medium range within a couple of blocks. Lots of bars, also. At least 10-20 good places within a mile. All easy walking and safe. You can probably tell that I had a good time there. Wish my wife could have been with me. She would have loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Chicago

Different but delightful

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
A one-room suite with a wonderful private patio near the heart of Uptown. If you're looking for privacy and willing to forego the usual services of a hotel or larger B&B, I recommend this. The proprietor, Kay, is nice but leaves you to your privacy. Breakfast served but only after 7:30am. Don't assume an early check-in time. Very large and nicely appointed room with a beautiful 3-large window view of the lovely private patio and fountain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, clean, well appointed Dallas beauty!

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Guesthouse on Allen is one of the loveliest places I've stayed at in many years. It is 5 star! The bedroom, overlooking a private courtyard, is beautifully decorated. This is an exceptional place. I'd recommend it for anyone who values luxury, comfort and privacy. Our host brought delicious breakfast to our room and was most gracious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cheryl from Lawrence, KS

World traveler...........best hotel stay ever!

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Best stay ever!!! The owners of the Guest House provide EXCEPTIONAL service, my breakfast was brought to my room promptly on time as order, and the food was awesome! The owner actually drove me to my meeting a few blocks away so I would be fresh when I arrived (it was 106 degrees in Dallas that day) I've never written a review before, but the Guest House and it's owners are more deserving that what I have room to write!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob and Michelle from Toronto, Canada

Peaceful country retreat in the middle of Uptown

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for three nights while celebrating our five year anniversary and shopping for a new apartment in Dallas. The location was perfect, the room is adorable and very private, and the garden was incredible. While enjoying a different but equally delicious breakfast served to us on the patio every day, we loved watching a few tiny birds hopping about in the beautiful fountain. I can't say enough about the garden, it's very calming and gives the feeling of a weekend away at your own country home, even though you're right in the middle of Uptown. The hosts are very thoughtful, and even brought us flowers for our anniversary. We'll always tell anyone visiting Dallas to stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Go here for your anniversary! =D

Posted Jun 9, 2013
AMAZING!! Beautiful room, amazing breakfast, SUPER friendly staff....AWESOME!!