Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: see above
we were in Dallas for a surgery and needed place near doc's clinic/offices. price was within range of what we would expect to pay for our particular needs on this trip, but hotel just didn't measure up. - room very small. a bucket of ice was a floor away, etc. we used room service for all meals. Food was poor. we had a sirloin from your '''upscale steak house." it was terrible, tough; breakfast cereal came in little kid-size boxes. overall just not what we expected for the price range. your staff was very good. service was prompt and friendly. however, all the auto dial calls on the in-room phone didn't work except 0 and guest services. We probably would have been better off at the Westin just up Hwy 75 and will do so on next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - Thanks for staying with us during your time in Dallas. I'm sorry things were not up to your expectations on the visit. We do have a variety of sizes of rooms and perhaps another room type may have felt more comfortable to you. The Restaurant does serve terrific options, and Room Service should have felt just as great. I will review your comments with our Food & Beverage team to ensure we focus on making it even better. Sorry about the telephone programming - I'm not sure why that would have been the case in any of our guest rooms. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again when in Dallas! All best, David David Lemmond General Manager The Highland Dallas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: Fix the toilet
Location: good location
Toilet didn't work properly. I was moved to another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to CBD neat shops nearby

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Quick cab ride or drive to downtown Dallas, but has neighborhood has character with interesting shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Hot tub and pool outdoors were great to come home to at the end of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas, texas

Lovely.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We only got to stay one night, but it was a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Needs an update

Posted Dec 7, 2014
I've stayed here a few times and always loved it but it's becoming apparent they haven't done any remodeling to the rooms in a long time. Love the lobby and restaurant though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Penny - You are correct! The property has waited for it's opportunity to shine again and we are developing the design plans now for our upgrade. We look forward to showing you just how special the property will look very soon. We have upgraded the mattresses in all guest rooms already and televisions and channel selection will be next. The designer touch will happen after that! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All best, David David Lemmond General Manager The Highland Dallas
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Don't do it.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Greeted by the rudest valet attendant ever. Didn't even offer to help with out bags. Valet is $25 a day and there is no self parking. From desk staff had no personality. Rooms were small but clean. Steak house is over priced and over rated. 5 people with 3 total drinks, $450 later we were still hungry. Overall a bad experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Brent - I am so sorry your experience did not live up to expectations at The Highland Dallas. We are working to establish ourselves as a unique and special destination in Dallas, your feedback is helpful in getting there. Our team in Valet and at the Desk should have greeted you warmly at all times and I apologize if that was not the case! Knife does get rave reviews from all fronts - it can be quite affordable or a high end and expensive endeavor depending on selections! I'm sorry it was not your cup of tea. We will continue to work to improve all aspects of the guest experience and environment. I hope you will provide us another chance to impress you on your next visit to Dallas. All best, David David Lemmond General Manager The Highland Dallas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Overall good-- but...

Posted Dec 1, 2014
This hotel makes an impression from it's beautiful lobby and reception area. It is beautiful and inviting. The room was also nice. I loved the bathroom sink (square) and counter. I did not love 1) the food was terribly expensive. I paid about $30 for a hamburger and fries for room service. At least it was delicious. 2) room service is ...weird. They took my food tray but otherwise, didn't clean the room, make the bed, etc. It was bizarre. I called guest services and they said this was their normal practice. What??? Who doesn't make a bed?? 3) The location is not easy to traverse if you want to visit the nearby shops. You are surrounded by 6 lanes of fast moving traffic on all sides. It's scary. It is a short taxi ride to the airport and a beautiful hotel but it didn't live up to the beauty of its first impression made by the lobby area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
service and room was all good. Good bar in the lobby and was close to shopping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom h

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Would have been nice if there was a more modestly priced ( meaning less than outrageously priced) dining option in the hotel. Overall experience what I would have expected for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OKC

Great location

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Cons: Because of the padded headboard, the bed tended to flip up if one sat on the end. Not the most comfortable bed. Coffee in room would have been nice.
Hotel is the old Palomar, right across the central expressway from SMU. Very convenient for all Highland Park activities. There is ample, if not attractive, dog walking behind the hotel and under a high line.