Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Familyof6from Florida

Fantastic local lodge!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here based on previous reviews of the property. During rainy season, it was our family of 6 and one other couple. The owners made our stay incredibly comfortable, helped us with everything we needed and truly made us feel at home. When the heater on the shower went out, they had it repaired before we got back that evening. They had early breakfasts for us on days we wanted to start out before the 7am breakfast time. They booked wonderful tours for us and even managed to find a guide for us one afternoon within 20 minutes of our asking! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, spacious place to stay that gives you the true flavor of the local culture, this is your place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glennafrom Vancouver, Canada

An incredible introduction to a wonderful country.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Location approx l0 minutes away from Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Perfect if you have a car..
Could not say enough about the staff at this hotel. They are very proud and want nothing other than to please. They gave us so much information about where to go and and what to do, and were all excellent suggestions. Staff made even made arrangements at no cost to have our l8 year old go out with other people while we just wanted to relax. Kayak tours in the mangroves a worth while experience. Place is a ten minute drive to Quepos, and Manuel Antonio Park. Nice to get out of the tourist trap, Very clean, updated, and they have a delicious breakfast Would strongly recommend and go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susanfrom San Antonio, TX

Super pleasant staff, great food, super clean

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the proximity to the park but the distance from town that provided us with privacy and secured parking.
Cons: We choose this hotel because it accepted pets and my husband has an assistance animal, we called to verify only to be told it didn't.
Location: BRING YOUR CAMERAS!!! Don't expect things to be close by but instead enjoy the unique character of where you are.
All hotels have quirks, this one had a few but the staff more than made up for any problems. The room was clean but took a bit to cool which became a problem since the air went off every time we opened a door. Although I get the desire to save money and energy it became an ongoing issue since we opened the back door many times to take photos (monkeys and birds were very numerous). We were told that the sensors would be disabled for future guests. The food was simple but well prepared and very fresh. We ate very well during our stay. I did like the fact that we could close gates that would protect our car. It was a bit challenging to park it but I'll take the security any day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Seanfrom BC, Canada

What a unique stay and experience!

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at the Kayak Lodge! Marlene and Bernard were more than hospitable. The food, service and mangrove kayak tour were all excellent! Bernard even let us stay in the pool well into the night. The location feels well off the beaten path but in reality isn't that far off the main highway. Very secure with gates & high walls. We enjoyed a game or two of billiards. Special thanks to the hosts for letting us pick any room at no extra cost! What hospitality!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennyfrom Prince George, BC

Friendly, out of the way place

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The room has a big fridge and air conditioning, with two double beds which were a little on the hard side, but not bad.
Cons: The grounds could probably be spruced up a bit. You feel a little bit like you're in an industrial site.
Location: You will need stransporation to visit the surrounding areas such as Manual Antonio Park, Quepos, or Jaco, all within a half hour to an hour drive.
Kayak Lodge is a bit unique in that it is set up like a motel, with some of the rooms being across the street in a warehouse looking building that is gated it. The rooms are nice and comfortable, but it is not the most aestethic looking place. However, the owners were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this lodge for anyone who wants a quiet place to stay, away from the tourist crowds. I can't stress enough how nice and helpful the owners were, and they alone are reason enough to stay at this lodge. We also enjoyed seeing the monkey and her baby outside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Location: out of the way
quiet out of the way, pool disepointing very friendly helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Miguelinafrom New York

Excellent lodge on the way to Manuel Antonio

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: We liked the hospitality, cleanliness, staying in a lodge instead of a resort, food, and proximity to public transport.
Cons: The pillows were too thick for us.
Location: Mid World tours offers canopy zip line, Superman zip line and ATV (they are currently developing other tours). Manuel Antonio rainforest park, & beach
My daughter and I stayed for a week. We were so happy at kayak Lodge, we did not want to leave. The owners are the kindest and most welcoming people I have ever met. The beds were comfortable, we had air conditioning, a large bathroom, and everything was very clean. A hot breakfast was included as part of the hotel package. Our favorite was huevos congo which was well presented and tasty. We had dinner at the lodge every night. We chose from a small menu that featured typical Costa Rican casados. Our favorite was arroz con pollo with a side dish of patacones. This lodge is located near the mangroves, and the owner has a Kayak business on the side. You may tour the mangroves by kayak with a tour guide. It was an amazing experience to kayak in the mangroves. We saw capuchin monkeys, canaries, iguanas, hawks, boa snake, crabs, snails, and other birds. Our routine was to get up early in the morning in time for breakfast and head out for activities. We wanted to experience the Costa Rican way of life so we walked, took the bus into Quepos (bus stop is about a 20 min walk from the lodge), we ate casados, stopped at a local fruit and vegetable stand in Quepos and tasted some delicious tropical fruits. If you do not wish to walk, you may call a taxi to take you into town. Most of the lodge guests had car rentals. If you are adventurous, one tour you should not miss is the Mid World Tour canopy zip line. We thoroughly enjoyed the zip lines, and we would do it again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: compared to other hotels in costa rica, this one is great. The owner and his wife are cute and were very positive. Also, monkeys are free around.
Cons: pool.
Location: rainmaker and Manuel San Antonio park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by surftraveler

My first and only all 5's review.1 owner who cares

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Cons: I'm sure they could add many gringo features, but frankly it's perfect just the way it is now. Plus, tourist should be out sightseeing :^)
Location: The location is mostly residential, creek front, within miles of beaches.
We had a family of 5 and stayed in one of their larger rooms. Unfortunately, we only stayed for 1 night while on our way to Pavones. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the host(s) were as hospitable as a bed and breakfast. We had monkies right outside our window and on our porch in the morning. The kids (and adults) enjoyed watching them as the monkeys ate and watched us. Our room was creek front with a deck on the water. The room(s) had 2 seperate bed rooms, nice restroom, dining room, kitchen, living room with more beds than we could all use. Each bed was made with clean linens just prior to our arrival. I guess this is common due to the humidity. Air conditioned! The owner entertained us in the morning by giving a tour of the facility, we had a wonderful tico breakfast. Many tours available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ru and Erinfrom Upstate South Carolina

Owners very nice; wonderful breakfast

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: We liked the security of the gate being locked at night and the room was very clean with a nice shower.
Location: Location is good as a stop in route to Manuel Antonio.
Stayed here on the way to Manuel Antonio Park. It was very relaxing with monkeys in the trees outside our window and nice open air dining area that served a very nice breakfast. The owners were so nice and helped us find the local store to get medicine for our sick daughter. This is a family friendly hotel that is a great place to stop in route to Manuel Antonio.