Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is tired and smells moldy.

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Hotel is tired and smells moldy. Staff is unprofessional in appearance and attitude. I was also worried about my car which was in an unlit hotel designated lot. DO NOT use this hotel!
2 out of 5
by Mimi from Texas

This hotel is historically "old".

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The breakfast was sufficient. Wiifi was available. The room was quiet except when the train ran by.
Cons: Vending machines with drinks, water and snacks would be nice.
Location: TIVOLI RESTAURANT served a very nice dinner.
I was overcome by Pine Sol aroma when I arrived. The train track is about 10 yards from the building and the room shook when the train came by. There were no vending machines for soft drinks or water.
2 out of 5
by traveler from boston, ma

Noisy, 'rustic'

Posted Oct 13, 2013
White towels are gray. Noisy. Could have been worse, was a place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Estelle from New Jersey

Visit to The Gunnery

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was not quite in the area expected. Very old but room was very clean and comfortable. Within walking distance to restaurants. Only 9 miles from destination.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dale G.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Elkridge, MD

Helped make a sad trip better

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had to travel to New Milford for the funeral of a family member who had passed away suddenly. Heritage Inn is located right at the edge of the N.M. "Green" and was close to the church and the restaurant where the post-funeral luncheon was held. It is small -- 30 rooms -- and very rustic, a converted tobacco warehouse with a lot of the original fixtures in the common areas. The rooms were HUGE; besides the bed area, there was a sitting area with 2 loveseats and a coffee table. However, there was no lighting for this area so couldn't really use it for much in the evening. There are no real "services" (food, wake-up call, etc.) and we never could figure out how to re-set the time on the clock radio. But it had much more character than a chain hotel, and we were very pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just fine for a short stay

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location. Fine stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chaz from Boston

Good Location

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
For a quick business trip, this is a great stop. Good restaurant selection, and easy access to local highways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from Chicago, IL

Walking Distance to Most of Central New Milford

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for a place with a bit of interesting history and some original woodwork and tools still on-site, then this is the place for you. The building was constructed in 1870 and is located in a wonderful location if you intend to walk around old, central New Milford. The adjacent train tracks are not really in use (we saw no trains over 3 days); however, the road on which the hotel sits does get a fair bit of traffic, including a number of trucks (but, we couldn't hear any of it from our room).