Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe from MD (Originally CT)

Non-smoking? Please...

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked a non-smoking, King room for 3 nights to go up and visit family. Unfortunately, the stay was just terrible. I was prepared for this, but still.. the breakfast was a joke and the room was dingy, but that is typical of the type of hotel, so whatever. What really got me upset was the non-smoking room I stayed in was wedged between SMOKING rooms, so that was extremely upsetting. Yes, this was the least expensive of the hotels/rooms available, but was it worth it? No. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere SLIGHTLY nicer, but still get a good deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Guy from New York

Good for the price!

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall good hotel, great location, close to everything. Clean, affordable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathy from Bergen County, NJ

Lovely area - old motel

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This motel was a huge disappointment. Located in a lovely area but once you enter the room what a disappointment. It was dreary, old and looked like it was furnished by garage sales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KATHY from GA

Howard Johnsons Bethel Conneticut

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the rates were reasonable thru Expedia.
Cons: The carpets have a small odor.
Location: We were new to Conn. and were attending a funeral.
We stayed there for 4 nights and found the staff to be VERY friendly & professional. Our room was found to be comfortable and the rates thru Expedia were reasonable. The maids were very kind when we needed any supplies. The micro, coffee machine, and fridge worked fine. I would return to them and recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jayce from Califorina

Nice and basic place, good value.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Internet access nowhere as good as it had been in the past. Also fewer cable channels than in the past (they switched to a different cable provider).
Cons: Go back to original internet and cable providers - much better 3-4 years ago than now!
Location: Nice selection of restaurants - German and Mexican restaurants east on Route 6 and nice Italian and Thai restaurants to the west (on Newtown Rd).
Very nice and large space. Friendly housekeeping staff. Very good value. Some concerns about the internet - new internet speed was very slow (compared with previous visits), as they set up new routers. Also got knocked off a few times. Bed comfortable, refrigerator and microwave provided (in the suites). Hallways and stairways clean but beginning to show their age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Indiana

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Cons: The continental breakfast was very basic and not well-stocked.
The staff were friendly and courteous. The exercise room came in handy. We were close to any stores we might have needed. The location's proximity to both Southbury and Candlewood Lake made it perfect for our needs.