Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from hudson, NY

Nice hotel, horrible start!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: After my initial check in, the hotel was clean and all the other staff was fine.
Cons: They need to have someone at the front desk who want to make the customers experience pleasant.
Location: Salem was less than 15 minutes away and Rockport and Gloucester where also very close by, shopping in Rockport, history in Salem!
Booked my hotel via Expedia, had my confirmation from Expedia but when I went to check in, the clerk did not have it. She would not accept my email confirmation nor would she honor the rate. Conveniently, she did have a room, same one I booked, for more $$$$. She would do nothing to help me out. I made 2 calls to Expedia who in turn faxed the paperwork the clerk said she did not have, 3 times! She was rude and very "snippy". I went to the desk the following morning and told that clerk I was done wasting my vacation time and she readily agreed to fix the issue. I gave her the info I had and within 30 minutes, she did what the clerk the night before had refused to do. Not a good way to start a vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winsted,CT

Very nice,very clean,friendly staff.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: I like very much
Cons: Pool time
very family oriented,good breakfast.pool could stay open longer on hot nights,like we have. there were "privet"/?/ people over the pool after 11 PM but pool was "closed"at 9.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Family Vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, free breakfast, free parking.
Cons: Directions to hotel from airport need to be a little more detailed for those of us not familiar with 'interesting' freeway exit system here.
Location: Hotel was close to many restaurants. We did not get a chance to explore Salem or other nearby attractions.
Our family was in town for a quick visit before driving to New York. The two room suite with sleeper sofa was perfect! The free breakfast was also great way to start the day. Rooms in downtown Boston were hard to find with Red Sox/Yankees home stand and Katy Perry concert but we were more than satisfied with this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located near many popular North Shore

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Very pleased with all aspects of stay, wish that the entrance was easier to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cathys48 from New Hartford, NY

Very comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front staff was very friendly. The suite was clean and comfortable. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We would definitely choose this hotel again when visiting the area. The only negative would be the size of the breakfast area. For the number of guests, it's small. Please, make more than one carafe of regular coffee so that you don't run out so quickly. We ended up just grabbing juice, muffins, and coffee and took them to our room. Oh, yes, the coffee pods in the room are awful. The coffee tastes bad. These were minor things compared to how great the suite is. Very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susan from pinehurst, NC

Driving stop over

Posted Jun 20, 2014
When you're seiving on a 13 hour trip, stopping someplace clean and safe is a priority! The rooms were clean and the hotel looked like it would be fun for extended stays. The pool looked clean and the staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Susan we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travels should bring you back to our area, we hope you will come and see us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy from Sanford, NC

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only one ice machine and it was in another building. It was difficult to get to the hotel. Otherwise, it was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Nancy we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I apologize you experienced a few challenges during your stay but are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Boston area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodie from Cincinnati

Between Boston and Salem

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location and great rates.
Cons: The entrance is tricky. It's hard to see the sign from the main road.
Location: Salem is just minutes away and Boston is easily reached.
This hotel was awesome. The price was fantastic. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and helpful. We had a queen suite which gave a kitchenette, living room area with two separate bedrooms with very comfy queen beds. Our television didn't work when we arrived. We called the front desk and had someone at our room, checking the tv and then replaced the entire television all in 20 mins or less. Breakfast each morning was always fully stocked with staff right there to help. One day we watched the staff on duty even carry a tray for and elderly couple and get them extra while they ate....very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for visiting Boston and Salem. The only down side was the entrance was easy to miss...but once you figure it out it's no problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Jodie we so appreciate your very kind review and we are so incredibyly happy you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our entire team at TownePlace Suites takes great pride in our guest experience. We hope tosee you again when yo u are visitng our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lisa N. from Concord, CA

Hard to find, otherwise fine

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I appreciated the lower rates than staying in downtown Boston. The hotel could use much better signage. We missed the hard-to-see signage twice until we got the hang of it; ended up on highway 1 then driving to it the back way through a bumpy parking lot. I liked the suite with two bedrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Lisa we appreciate the comments you have shared regarding your stay. We will review our current signage and where possible make changes that will assist our guests with locating our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your suite. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.