Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and central

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Central location. Underground parking. Breakfast buffet.
Only stayed one night as we were on the way to Zanzibar. The hotel was advertised on TripAdvisor with a special price of $115 but the hotel desk clerk said the best price was $160. When informed about the special they were unwilling / unable to do anything about it. Anyway booked in and was glad to be in a cool clean room after a dusty drive down Tanzanian coast. The bathroom sink drain did not work too well and we mentioned this to the staff when we checked out (they did not ask us how the room was). Price included breakfast in the morning. Good selection of food and you could even get bacon with your eggs if you wanted it (remember this is a predominantly Muslim city).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yahya from Dar es salam

Over charge

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was nice but they charge me 40$ extra for what he called taxis. I thought that was included the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Mahesh Chander, Hotel Management
Dear Yahya, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for your feedback on Expedia Central. We appreciate your concern about the pricing but it has always been a hotel policy to keep the airport transfers separate from the inclusions because some of our guests do not use hotel transport for airport transfers, so it would be unjust for them to keep it included in the rate. We have always mentioned this in our confirmations and in the mails that the hotel charges extra for Hotel transfers.I am sorry that there was some misunderstanding in this case. We look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam. Best regards Mahesh Chander Langoo General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by prakash. from dubai

Nice hotel. .. city center

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Great deal.. comfortable. . Tv good. . Poor WiFi. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2014 by Mahesh Chander, Hotel Management
Dear Prakash, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for posting a review about our property on Expedia central. We are happy to know that you like our property and you got a great deal. It feel good to know that you were comfortable at our place and you enjoyed our services especially you liked the TV. We are disappointed to know that you were not happy with then internet services. The management has taken a note of your review and we are in the process of upgrading our internet and wi fi systems such that there would not be any wi fi problems anymore. Best regards, Mahesh Chander Langoo General Manager Holiday Inn
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Some points need attention

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location and room comfort.
Cons: Hotle is good. but need to improve the swimming pool cleaning frequency and also the
The Hotel is overall ok for location. There is a new tax they levy in addtion to the all inclusive charges I paid in Lodon. I thnk they should not charge there as if I do not keep any spare money for that is bad. Also they should charge all charges at source through Expedia. They charged me a stealth tax for tourism development tax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2014 by Mahesh Chander, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Warm greetings from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam! We thank you for your feedback which is important for our improvement and growth. The tax has been started by the Govt of Tanzanian and we have to charge it to our customers. we are so sorry about charging this tax to our customers.We cannot help it. Best regards Mahesh Chander Langoo General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Liz from New York

Could not make up foe "overbooking" issue

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I started off on the wrong foot with this hotel because when I arrived at 3pm (check in time) they informed me that they did not have the room available for me that I had prepaid for because another group had a flight delayed and they gave them preference over me and other new guests. They would not refund me for that night as I thought I deserved given the inconvenience and the fact that the hotel I was moved to was not nearly as comfortable or having as many amenities. They shuttled me back and forth with their taxi service.I used the Holiday Inn the next day and I think it is a great hotel for a business person. In particular they have a great breakfast and lunch buffet that is reasonably priced. The room was spacious and comfortable and very modern. The staff was also very polite and helped me to get taxis and gave information. It was unfortunate the someone at the top had made the decision to displace the arriving and in some cases prepaid guests because it overshadowed the trip and really makes it hard for someone that doesn't know the area, have local means of communication, or otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ellie from USA

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful dining area downstairs and good food. Upstairs was noisy and dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laura from CA, USA

good hotel but problems with hidden fees

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel, clean and comfortable, but I had problems with what I booked through this website not being what I got. For instance, but online booking said it included breakfast, but the manager the first day said it didn't so I had to argue with him about it. He said he would fix it, but then the next day I had to argue with a different manager about it. Also, on checkout they tried to add some 5% "service fee" which is basically just a fee for nothing at all, even though I paid fees upfront when I booked. These kinds of issues are very irritating, but if you are willing to deal with this is a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good business option

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Did what I expected. There is a nice bar on the roof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kate from Drymen, Glasgow

Very Variable

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is really variable in its quality. We stayed here twice on consequetive Fridays and our first experience was very good but our second experience was very mediocre. The problem is the attitude of various staff members. This suggests training is poor and management inconsistent. Some staff are exceptioally helpful, friendly and welcoming and others are, frankly, unacceptabe rude and unhelpful. The food and drink is generally very over-priced iand nt fantastic quality although, if you book B&B the breakfast is generous and served from 4am which is great for an early get away. Rooms are good and comfortable althouh the bathrooms are not cleaned well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by International Traveler from USA

Get ready for a suprise with your bill.

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
When I booked I understood that I was being given the TOTAL PRICE to be paid but that was not the case. There were other tax charges added to the bill at checkout. They were used to dealing with this problem and there is no way to check out until the taxes are paid.