Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derry NH

No go!

Posted Aug 27, 2008
The carpets were wet and the room smelled of smoke though it was a non-smoking room. Very disaapointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2008
We had a very good stay. We had a couple of days though that we did not receive new towels or that the coffee and condiments were not replaced. This could be due to the July 4 holiday. We picked this hotel because of the outdoor pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonds, Wa.

Not impressed

Posted Sep 20, 2007
I was hoping Ho-Jo's would be OK in Darien. The facility needs severe attention to it's condition. One of the beds was/is coming apart -- Room 121. The bathroom is a long way from clean --Black growth is prevelant in the shower. It needs overall inspection.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Convenient

Posted Jul 28, 2007
We chose this hotel for it's price and convenient access to the train into NYC. I appreciated the ample size of the room and the service. Our bathroom was in need of work. The flooring was cut and pulling away, the walls and ceiling had problems, and there was an obvious history of mold. It worked for our needs, but I would not recommend it to anyone who would take issue with the run down aspects.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Sleep cheap

Posted Jul 25, 2007
OK, so the hotel is a little old and some of the wallpaper has come unglued, but it was comfortable and clean and - for this area - cheap and convenient
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ants?

Posted May 25, 2007
When I booked this hotel, I knew I wasn't going to be getting a 4 star hotel. The price was decent, but the quality and upkeep of the hotel left a lot to be desired. It's more of a motel layout, and I was on one of the lower levels. The overall feel of the building was mouldy, and had a damp smell. The room itself was in poor condition. Ants habitating in the bathroom, only half the light fixtures worked, there were crumbs and maxi pad wrappers around/under the bed, and stains on the furniture. The first night there, I wasn't even sure the sheets were clean, so I slept in my clothes. I'm told that the Town of Darien is planning on tearing this hotel down to build a grocery store. So I'm not sure how much better it's going to get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Impressed

Posted Oct 11, 2006
OK, Bathroom tub backed up, they could not fix until later in the day.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Punta Gorda, FL

Great location drab hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2006
The hotel met our needs and expectations, but it is an older hotel on a valuable piece of land so it's days are numbered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A. P. from Boston, MA

Pretty shabby and smelly but clean enough and relatively cheap

Posted May 31, 2006
Just a tolerable place to stay if all you want is to spend a night very close to NYC at a cheaper rate. It is just off Rt 95, and there is also a train station nearby, which is handy. No place to eat at the hotel, but plenty of restaurants in close proximity.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Bare Necessities

Posted Apr 12, 2005
My boyfriend and I stayed here to be in close proximity to the NYC train, which it definitely was. The room itself and the hotel seemed to be straight out of the 70s. The bathroom was somewhat dingy, as were the hallways and outside. We tried to make coffee, but the coffee maker and coffee were very old (the actual pot wasn't clean). A good pit stop for NYC, nothing more.