Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by liz from gold coast

very nice staff friendly

Posted Mar 26, 2014
as I was visiting relatives I only spent time around pool which was very enjoyable and when I returned at night for bed was comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Disappointment - noisy rennovations going on

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Room was modern and clean
Cons: Advise people about rennovations prior to booking
Location: Location is good - close to everything Darwin has to offer
We booked to stay in the Double tree based on previous good experiences at other Double tree hotels, however this was a huge let down due to the renovations taking place in the hotel - Jack Hammering would start at 9am and not finish until 5.30pm. When we booked the hotel there was no mention of the renovation work that would be taking place and the noise was unbearable. The management/owners should be ashamed of themselves if they think it is acceptable for their employees and guests to be subjected to those noise levels on a daily basis. Once the renovation work is completed I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel as the room was nice and the location was good but in my opinion the hotel should be closed until work is completed.
3 out of 5
by Pete from Sydney

Great location but currently under refurbishment

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location and sunset views
Cons: Staff greetings, staff professionalism, air condition, general refurbishment
Location: Location was great - you can walk to most local attractions.
The hotel is in a great location and has great sunset views from the harbor facing rooms. The hotel is under refurbishment though which I was not alerted to until check-in. They are doing construction work from 9am each day and throughout the day so it is almost impossible to get work done or relax in your room. On one day they turned off all water in the hotel with about 12 hours notice. When I approached management about this they were very smug and not very sympathetic to the inconvenience this causes. Generally the staff were ok but they should be given more coaching on making a guest feel special. Even with simple things like greeting guests as they wander the property. The uniforms were a little tardy too. This place claims to be a 4.5 star hotel but I would suggest a 3 star would be more accurate. It is in desperate need of a refurbishment. I was very disappointed with this stay and would not recommend to others. Maybe post refurbishment it might be worthwhile to check it out again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris &Deborah from Victoria Aus.

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast.Clealiness of room and Hotel. Great views of Darwin Harbour.
Cons: Fittings and furnishings could be updated.
Location: Good central location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Sydney, Australia

Posted Nov 18, 2013
The hotel is showing its age and though it has the name "Hilton" in the name I think it is more managed by Hilton rather than a real Hilton hotel. It is ok but not luxury though the price aligns with that. The view of the car park and air con plants makes one wonder about the benefits of having the balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2013
we stayed here for the weekend a few weeks ago. When we walked into the room, it was spacious and had a lovely view of the pool. we found a empty can of alcohol on the balcony which was abit gross. our air conditioner also started dripping water but we just turned it off for an hour or so then it was fine. my friends room also had a used bar of soap in her shower...yuck! all together though, It was a lovely stay, staff were friendly and useful. I would definitely go back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Emanuel from Sydney

Very nice

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is good located, just a few minutes walk from Mitchell Street and across to a very nice park. The rooms are nice, just the bathrooms could be a bit nicer. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rae B from Victoria

Great View

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were very nice,the bed and pillow choice were great, it was worth the extra for the sea view. My only complaint was the bathroom needs a complete overhaul.