Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Standards of comfort. Spa facilities. Staff. Historical content. Great for a romantic break and don't skimp, pay for an upgrade!
Cons: Dinner menu, with better selection/variety
Fabulous, historical hotel, with a great spa and impressive facilities. Dinner was a bit disappointing and on the expensive side. The staff were however exceptional. The rest was great and everything that one would expect from a very high grade hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom UK

Romantic weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Much improved under its new ownership and they have clearly spent a lot of money refurbishing the facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. The service just lacks a little polish that is expected from this type of hotel, otherwise top marks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely but some muddled staff.

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
We arrived at front door and mud. Opened door and found the area being decorated! Car interiors and exteriors covered in pale brown mud. No signage to warn people that reception was located in another area. Only toilet in downstairs area of hotel was located across the front yard (outside) into another part of the building. Freezing cold weekend. Not ideal for the elderly. On checking out we were told that the room had not been paid for despite being sent an email from uk.hotels.com a few days before, showing confirmation that the room was paid in full. The bill was paid again and only refunded when we presented the paperwork. Even then we were told that it was a "default" message and that it was not paid. After two people checking, it was then confirmed that the bill had been paid twice!!!! A refund was then submitted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Secluded and romantic

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Lovely place to stay - maybe a tad overpriced but the beds are incredibly comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alanfrom Rushden

Great stay

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was large and luxurious, many nice touches like a coffee machine in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Perfect hotel for spoiling yourself at

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Luxurious
Cons: My wife and I forgot our cards but the hotel staff couldn't find any. That is how small a niggle we have with this place.
Location: Set in beautiful countryside with some delightful walks right from the hotel
Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food delicious. Setting magnificent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel, great service, super room. Wish I could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chrisfrom Selby

Superb hotel, could brush up on customer service

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an absolutely fantastic hotel set in beautiful grounds. The service was ok but not of the standard that you would expect from such a beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

A hidden gem!!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: we stayed here when we were at Silverstone motogp.
We had been recommended this hotel by a friend and we were not let down at all. Beautifully set in lovely countryside, stunning mansion that really takes you back to a different time and world. Large rooms, massive beds and very attentive professional staff. Restaurant very cosy with excellent food. All in all I could not fault the experience.