Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Essentially OK. At 7 a.m. on Saturday morning, you need food options other than the buffet. I ended up eating at the buffet anyway. One reason was that the lady at the cash register said I could get an omelet made to order. When I tried, the person at the hot buffet said they didn't do omelets - very disappointing and the coffee wasn't hot either. The sleeping room was nice. However I could not get cell phone service (Verizon) in it, which was very frustrating. Not sure I would ever come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for skiing

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Location, hot tub, reading next to the big fireplace.
Cons: Soundproofing.
Location: We visited the ski slopes, live music at the Purple Fiddle, and a nearby riding stable.
A very pleasant place to stay. Close to many attractions, including ski slopes and horseback riding stables. Ice skating rink, indoor pool, and indoor hot tub on premises. Our only complaint: the walls of our room were a bit thin and we had a noisy neighbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow! What a renovation...

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, rooms, lounge, decor
Cons: Staff at lounge
I have stayed at Canaan Valley Resort and Conference Center several times over the past few years and it was fine but in need of renovation. All I can say is after staying there last weekend is: wow! The entrance and lounge areas were absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. As someone with a hotel "phobia" I was thrilled and would have been perfectly content to spend the weekend in the hotel by the fire and at the bar. I will say that the bartender/server at the lounge could have been friendlier and it took quite a bit of time to flag her down and be served. But otherwise, the staff was pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area in the mountains

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Same
Cons: Newly renovated
Location: Went on a train ride and ski lift.
Very nice room. Great food! Nice scenery, mountain view with deer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nancy Niewald from Springfield,mo.

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice place but very crowded

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Cons: Check time should be 3 pm.
Location: Blackwater falls is very nice and the view is beautiful.
Rooms are very clean and nice. But they don't allow check-in until 5 pm which is not very convenient. Check time should be 3 pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Decent, reasonable hotel in beautiful setting. No WiFi or cell service. Needs updating but they are working on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from virginia beach

scenic

Posted Aug 19, 2013
very good facility, will be back, - construction hopefully will be finished in a couple of months which will help
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brooke

4 Bedroom Cottage nice getaway

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: The cottage was really enjoyable.
Cons: The website - they don't really provide any details or pictures of the activities they have at the resort.
Location: Visit DavisWV for ice cream and ThomasWV for breakfast at the Flying Pig. Both towns are close to the resort, and 3 miles from each other.
The rooms are VERY small and cramped for a family of four, so we reserved two rooms. They messed up our reservation and offered a 4 bedroom cottage so they more than made up for things. In the future, we'll stay at a cottage - for the price you get much more space and amenities. Outdated and campy, sure, but very clean, nice and spacious. The mini golf is destroyed, I can't believe they still let people pay to play on that thing! But the bike rentals were reasonable and in decent condition. These are both located about 1 mile away from the main lodge. In the cottage/cabin 'wing' there are lots of little trails for biking and walking, perfect for our 6 and 4 year old boys. Overall, it's a bit rundown despite the renovations being made but a decent stay. Bring board games and yard games like kanjam!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wait until they're finished remodeling if you can

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The surrounding area is gorgeous, but just like every other review says, they are remodeling and desperately need to finish. The rooms are trashed and not worth what they are charging currently. When they are finished, I will gladly return.