Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Fun on a whim

Posted Mar 9, 2015
A spur of the moment choice, I had the most enjoyable time. Can't wait to do it again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shirleyfrom Ocean City

Canaan Valley Lodge

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great lodge. Relaxing. Comfortable. The food in the Hickory was outstanding. Fresh salad bar. Awesome steak, meatloaf, and pork.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful area centrally located

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location for outdoor stuff like Blackwater falls, Spruce Knob, Dolly Sodds i.e. The resort was the nicest place in the area, but a little more expensive than I prefer. It was just a last minute desperate stab at getting a vacation in this year. Next time we may plan a more rustic and less expensive stay to see more rugged beauty in West Virginia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Severn, MD

A nice photographic get away

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was hard at work keeping everything in a first class appearance. The hotel was exceptionally clean.
Cons: N/A
Location: Open spaces & a beautiful waterfall located approximately 10 miles away
The hotel staff was more than accommodating & very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Weekend

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Our stay at Canaan Valley Resort was very nice. We enjoyed the gift shop, restaurants and all of the surrounding beauty of the fall season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joycefrom Ohio

Relaxing getaway

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I enjoyed the Canaan Valley Lodge, very comfortable, gorgeous vistas. Golf was great and the course was very well maintained. All staff in the lodge, dining room, golf course were very accommodating and friendly. Side trips to Seneca Rocks, cave and Blackwater Falls was awesome. Great trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Essentially OK. At 7 a.m. on Saturday morning, you need food options other than the buffet. I ended up eating at the buffet anyway. One reason was that the lady at the cash register said I could get an omelet made to order. When I tried, the person at the hot buffet said they didn't do omelets - very disappointing and the coffee wasn't hot either. The sleeping room was nice. However I could not get cell phone service (Verizon) in it, which was very frustrating. Not sure I would ever come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for skiing

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Location, hot tub, reading next to the big fireplace.
Cons: Soundproofing.
Location: We visited the ski slopes, live music at the Purple Fiddle, and a nearby riding stable.
A very pleasant place to stay. Close to many attractions, including ski slopes and horseback riding stables. Ice skating rink, indoor pool, and indoor hot tub on premises. Our only complaint: the walls of our room were a bit thin and we had a noisy neighbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow! What a renovation...

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, rooms, lounge, decor
Cons: Staff at lounge
I have stayed at Canaan Valley Resort and Conference Center several times over the past few years and it was fine but in need of renovation. All I can say is after staying there last weekend is: wow! The entrance and lounge areas were absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. As someone with a hotel "phobia" I was thrilled and would have been perfectly content to spend the weekend in the hotel by the fire and at the bar. I will say that the bartender/server at the lounge could have been friendlier and it took quite a bit of time to flag her down and be served. But otherwise, the staff was pretty good.