Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Rooms were very clean and staff were nice
The hotel was nice and they have a beautiful restaurant on the top floor. The waitstaff was EXCELLENT. My only complaint was "late checkout". I asked if I could stay later and they said only 1 extra hour or I could pay to stay. The parking was hard to find. There needs to be bigger signs directing you to the parking (which is diagonally across the street)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and the staff was able to provide you with excellent service. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your late checkout. We are continually working with the city to improve the parking garage experience for our guests. Thank you for your suggestions. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for Dayton

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Customer service is lacking.
Location: Press coffee shop is a few blocks away; excellent coffee. We had brunch at Butter and it was excellent.
We reserved a king but at check-in was told they only had a queen disability room. The manager said the reservation was only a request. We protested but he didn't seem to care. He did end up giving us complimentary valet parking (however at check-out, it was on the bill). The room was clean and nice. The disability bathroom had no counter space and if you tried to put anything on the sink, it rolled off. The shower water went all over the floor of the bathroom. The 2 times we went to get our vehicle, no one was at the valet desk. At check-out, we finally just ask for our keys and got the vehicle ourselves. Certainly not a bad experience but certainly has room for improvement. It's probably your best option for Dayton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Rae, I would like to apologize for the negative experience you had with your room preference and valet parking. We strive to keep our guests completely satisfied. We hope you will give us the opportunity to provide you with the experience you deserve. Sincerely, Michael Larson, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Illinois

Posted May 27, 2014
The front desk staff could be quite unhelpful. I called with a simple question about the bill after I checked out and was put on hold for over half an hour. I understand they may have been busy but if the person on the phone had heard the question it could have been answered in 10 seconds. The restaurant staff, however, were outstanding--friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Please accept my apology for the lack of service your received during your phone call to our front desk. I regret that you were put on hold for such a long period, that should have never happened. Thank you for your review and I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity if your travels bring you back to our area. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2014
It's fine to stay there if you are working a lot and are only going to the hotel to sleep. The room was pretty clean (for the most part) and the staff was very friendly-just nothing fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. A clean room with friendly staff are two of a hotel's greatest assests. We hope on your next visit that you are able to take advantage of our location and take in a Dragons Minor League game or visit the Oregon Historic District, both just a few blocks from the hotel. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Bilston, W Mids

Home from Home

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff very helpful and friendly, courtesy bus drivers also all great and helpful, coffee machine in room very welcome, internet service A1
Cons: Room a bit dusty (I have allergies) disappointed in restaurant food, although the serving staff were all great, Buffet breakfast poor.
Location: In downtown Dayton, a very pleasant city and I really liked the place and its heritage, good restaurants and walks and of course the Air Force Museum
I spent 6 nights here while I was visiting the Museum of the US Air Force at nearby Wright Patterson AFB, this hotel scores very highly with me because all the staff I encountered were all friendly and very professional, any negatives were very very minor. The restaurant is a franchise and the standards seemed to vary, but of course you are not going to enjoy everything. I will be staying here on my next visit to Dayton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, The Air Force Museum is one of our nation's true treasures and is a wonderful asset to our community. Thank you for your 4 star review and the mention of our staff. We always appreciate it when a guests takes the time to leave us their review. I will pass your compliments on to our staff. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Wisconsin

Dayton Crowne Royal

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff; good location.
Cons: Thin walls so potentially noisy.
Location: Located in downtown Dayton with easy access to several different highways. Also lots of downtown shops, restaurants and activities.
The appearance of the hotel was very nice--the bed was plump and inviting, the bathroom was roomy and had plenty of hot water. However, the "available free parking" was a ramp located a block away. On the other hand, the valet parking was very affordable and all of the valets were wonderful. Actually all of the staff I encountered were very courteous and quick to accommodate. The only significant complaint, and the reason I would likely not go back, is that the walls are apparently very thin--I was awaken one night at 11:30pm to what seemed to be a man speaking in my room. Took me a few minutes to realize that the guy in the next room was talking on the phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for your review and pointing out your favorite things about our hotel. I apologize for the loudness of the guest in the next room, it's very unusual that you would be able to hear a conversation so distinctly. Please accept my apology, and when traveling back to our area please consider another stay with us. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Decatur, IL

Good experience

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Accessible, decent rate and clean.
Cons: My room was a little noisy to outside/above noises.
Location: Centrally located near restaurants, within five miles of shopping and within 10 miles or so of the airport.
I only spent about 12 hours in the hotel on a business trip, but the hotel was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was extremely pleasant. Hotel has a great location in the heart of downtown Dayton and is close to Interstates and the airport. My room was on the 11th floor and there was quite a bit of noise coming from above me. Not sure if it was an ice machine, etc. on the top floor of rooms or cleaning in the restaurant on the very top floor. I would stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your 4 star review. "Clean, comfortable and extremely pleasant" is just what we aim for. I do apologize for the noise you expereinced. We look forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Michael Larson General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by renate from ohio

Celebrating a birthday

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Location, shuttle service
Cons: Restaurant was slow and overpriced
Location: Fun location for a ladies night out. Local bars were close by making us feel safe
Due to a snow storm had to cancel plans at a local wine bar and stay at the hotel to celebrate. The shuttle staff was awesome helping us figure out a back up plan. We decided to stay in and celebrate in the hotel's resturant/bar. The service was slow and inaccurate and the prices were high. We decided to head to the local bars to continue the night. The shuttle staff gladly drove us and insured we made it inside safely. We had a great time and the room was comfortable. We went up for breakfast at the hotel's restaurant the next morning and experienced the same slow service with high prices. In summary I would recommend the hotel but not the resturant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harold from indu

Nice hotel. Downtown.

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Downtown area. Pay to park. Bathroom door looked as if it had been kicked in. Lock not working. Could not close bathroom door to lock it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michele from Dayton

Great Customer Service

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
All staff from the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping were over th top customer friendly. This managment team is doing a great job!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Michael Larson GM, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, Thank you for your 5 star review and the mention of our staff. I appreciate you leaving us your review. We hope to see you again!