Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

A little run down and no amenities.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: We liked the size of our room which had a living room as well.
Cons: the mini fridge needs to be stocked with something...water, alcohol etc.; need to have water or pop vending machines at a minimum.
Location: located in downtown Dayton. We found place for dinner - not too many walking options.
Our room was a good size and appeared to have been updated but they cut corners on labor; the walls were just a bit beat up. Absolutely no amenities - couldn't even get a bottled water anywhere in the hotel. Staff was very nice though!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Marylan and traveled far!

Downtown Dayton Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Employees pleasant and understood our complaints.
Cons: Everything!
Location: Close to University of Dayton but not enough going on nearby.
Very very unfortunate experience. Hotel just purchased and about to undergo renovation. NO restaurant, NO Bar, NO pool, NO spa!!! and NO hot water for several hours! Could be great hotel but not worth staying there now at any price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W, Ohio

Very satisfactory for our purpose

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Spent 2 nights for HS reunion. No foods in vending machines, so bring pop if you need it. We stayed during weekend, QUIET downtown. Sat. morning to Webster St. farmer's market for great food & fun shopping crafts items. Breakfast Sunday was simple Continental - danish rolls, instant oatmeal, apple juice, coffee. Not lush, but adequate. Pool, bar & restaurant all closed indefinitely. Did not check fitness center, but it was open. Would stay again. Enjoyed viewing downtown buildings. Would be different during the week. Easy walk to Shuster Theater if interested.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
pool. restaurant and fitness center were closed. wake up call was 20 min. late. requireded $12.00 valet parking. good downtown location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland ohio

Hotel stay

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The room was clean , the bed was very comfortable. I had lots of towels in the bathroom. .it was very quiet on my floor.The receptionist nicole was just great .very friendly very helpful. I had questions about a charge on my card she was able to answer all my questions .only suggestion I have is that the complementary breakfast could be improved .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Hotel was clean - however, bathroom was small and awkward - Toilet was installed crooked. Not enough care for detail with the workmanship
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montpelier, VT

Grand time at the Grand

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything. Even the signs of wear seemed to remind me of the hope of those who are trying to make it better than ever.
Cons: Much is being improved. As far as I saw they are already doing an outstanding job, and I hope that I have encouraged them.
Location: The location is downtown in the heart of the city. I visited one day to see the city and visit a friend's Mom. and hope to come back and see more.
This is an important hotel in a city that also could use some fixing up. If this establishment is an example of the spirit of Dayton, then Dayton is coming back. The Grand has seen better days but our visit makes me think that better days may be coming. We saw much evidence of improvements. The staff was exceptional. I hoped to find a place that was moving forward. What I found was beyond my expectations. I highly recommend the Grand to any one who wants to visit a place that has weathered adversity, but is coming back with a spirit of hope and resiliency. Our visit was part of a trip in which we visited at least seven states and Canada, Like Detroit, it is evident that Dayton has taken some hard blows, yet it still has some well kept neighborhoods and citizens who care. And the Grand seems to me to be the most hopeful place I visited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were incredibly comfortable.
Cons: The furnishings in the rooms are beat up and outdated. Right now there is no restaurant or pool but they are working on that.
Location: We were in town to see a concert at Fraze Pavillion which is about 15 minutes away.
This hotel has been neglected in the past but they are in the process of remodeling and upgrading it. I hope it's nice when they are done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

New Management, Incomplete

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: After a long drive, I appreciated having a bed to sleep. We were booked for three nights and I contacted expedia and cancelled the other two nights
Cons: It's called the Grand Dayton hotel. The experience should be grand.
Location: .
My August 2014 stay was the second (and last) time I stayed at this hotel. The first time was in February 2014. Since then, the hotel is under new management. The rooms were cheaper than before but when I arrived I realized why. Before was free parking, now there is a $12/day valet. There was no complimentary continental breakfast. The air conditioning in my room was below standard. The shower curtain was a fabric. The shower head didn't move. The mirror covered the vent to the bathroom. It was a very upsetting experience for my boyfriend and I wasn't happy as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cape cod

Ok. Not great.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The staff of this hotel are excellent-- the valet service and front desk were so helpful. The room had two issues-- minor ones-- I found a plastic cereal cup under the bed, and the drain didn't drain well in the shower. I was happy they put us on the ninth floor, executive suite, that needed a room key in the elevator to get to the floor. I was surprised when another guest was barefoot in the elevator.