Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Beds hurt our backs. Not good mattresses. Breakfast was great. We were on the beach. Room was clean they even had toys out for you to take to beach daily and have u beach towels and chairs which was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Nice location and staff but...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast !
Cons: everything can be improved !
Location: Gas station and a gift shop right in front no restaurant on walk distance.
Old Hotel stock on 90's need more cleaning around facilities and bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Wonderful location, right on the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: Lots to do but not to busy to get around. The beach is the best, also nearby Publix, Fridays, miniature golf
We got a great room - more like a small efficiency -right on the beach. Morning view out our glass beachfront windows/doors featured beautiful sunrise, and in the evenings we slept well listening to the sounds of the surf - not traffic. Staff were a big help in directing us to this room - a $20 cost upgrade but well worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Very close to the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It was nice didnt have a microwave in the room and the breakfast was not the greatest
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view & pool.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: View, free breakfast was great with waffles,cereal,biscuits & gravy,fresh fruit,juice,muffins, & toast.
Cons: Very nasty Elevator. Unclean & unkept.
Location: Public water park is just south with many shops & resteraunts within walking distance.
Close to boardwalk & novelties shops. Great Ocean view that's in view of two lifeguard towers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach Fl

Good thing it was only the night.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Free internet
Cons: The rooms. The outside of the rooms.
I would like to start off by saying that the staff was well-mannered and were very helpful. The lobby was also clean and sharp. However, that was pretty much the only good thing. The rooms were flat disgusting. They were only outdone by the cleanliness of the public areas. Their was an old raggedy chair sitting out on the walkway, which I really hope actually had not been in a room because it was rather foul. The room itself had a sticky tile floor (I still hope it was from someone attempting to clean it and left some cleaner). I will say, the bathrooms had recently been redone. I placed the towels on the floor so I could walk on them and I used my towel I traveled with as my sheet. I have stayed in hostels in the middle of Italy, remote public cabins on trails in New Zealand, even stayed in a barn once in western Australia - but this was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed. If you read this, please do not bring your children. If you are 18 and want to crash with a few buddies instead of risking a DUI, then enjoy the free internet and stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
friendly staff. beautiful view. clean pool. not far from the boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sorrento, FL

Wonderful view and access to the beach.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beach view and access.
Cons: See above about the sliding glass door.
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by.
We loved being on the ground floor and having immediate access to the beach. However, the sliding glass door track was so corroded that the doors could hardly move open or closed. A lot of WD-40 is needed once the sand is vacuumed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is very old and dirty

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Dog running loose on property.very old hotel, dirty.best part was right on the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not everything that glitters is gold

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Everything needs to be improved there.
Location: Nice hotels for the same price are near "Makai"
The only nice thing about "Makai" it's located on the beach. The pictures do NOT match the reality, especially with the breakfast one:( The cleanest of the room was horrible, had to clean the bathroom myself, after seeing the way it was "cleaned" didn't trust their housekeeper. Check In at 4pm, Check out at 10 am. The policy of the hotel if the "..guests leave dirty plates, microwave e.t.c a charge of $50 applied." You MUST place your credit card on file, even if your room is paid off. Credit card is needed if there are any dirty plates left and damages to the room. So, once you checked In, you become a housekeeper of "Makai." The breakfast area is disgusting. The waffle made by one of the Makai's employee (you are not allowed to make your own waffles) were burned out, and when I tried to say something about dark brown to black waffles the employee's response was :"I don't know they come this way." When I tried to teach her how to make waffles, she got offended. The food if you can call it food, was so old, by the smell you can tell it was expired, NO fruits, No yummy, NO goodies like on the pictures. The price for the hotel neither the stars do not match the hotel at all. The sheets were so wet, it was so disgusting to sleep on them, couldn't wait till the night was over. The hotel "pet friendly" and the rooms with guests pets and with guests with no pets are mixed, so if you hear a dog barking at 3 am behind your wall, do not be surprised!