Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great hotel, staff extremely friendly and accommodating, beautiful setting. Good value for the dollar, outstanding scenery, close to Mount Rushmore. Quaint little town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Not appropriate for families

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Staff was very nice, pet friendly, enjoyed the free breakfast.
Location: Location was scenic but again, Deadwood is not really family oriented. It's more oriented for bikers and gamblers.
Staff was very nice, pet friendly. Room was not cooling properly and had a funny smell during our stay. the casino and the lobby are intertwined, so you can't walk to the restaurant or any place really without walking your children through a casino.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Accommodations

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The comfortable beds and overall accommodating staff
Cons: The outside does not have that welcoming appearance.
Location: Mount Rushmore and all the actvities, the Mickelson Trail and of course, Deadwood.
I found the beds to be extremely comfortable. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like much, but I was impressed that for a casino/hotel, it was quiet, not smokey and the rooms very nice. The hotel staff were accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Regina, Sask. Canada

It was good

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Patio and hot tub
Cons: The room décor could be updated
Location: Far end of Dead wood but only a two minute drive to down town.
The hotel rooms are a little out dated. Overall it was a good place to stay with no bells and whistles. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The large patio was very nice to relax on. The hot tub was great to have. We were doing lots of sight seeing in the area and were looking for a place just to crash. this met our needs and was affordable. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from Arizona

Nice older casino

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Big rooms,clean and the location is beautiful.
Cons: The bathrooms could use some updating.A little less deodorizer in the halls would be nice.
Location: The location is beautiful! George Mickelson trail is right outside the side entry.Great place to run!
Front desk crew a bit indifferent.They got upset with me because they didn't know I had 2 dogs.I booked through this site and there isn't anywhere to enter the info.Rooms were spacious and clean,casino is small and slots were a bit stingy:) Restaurant ok.Noting special but the employees were very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bentson from South Dakota, USA

1 night stay in Deadwood. .

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Good beds.
Cons: Casino.
Nice hotel but outdated when compared to other gaming resorts in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Apr 8, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. Free hot breakfast at the restaurant was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Omaha, NE, USA

Deadwood Gulch delivers

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: Service rules at this hotel.
Cons: Slots could have been a bit looser.
Location: Just barely a distance from downtown Deadwood, it was exceptionally quiet.
What they lack in size they make up for in service. They are very friendly, attentive and genuine. The halls going up to the second floor really need to have the carpets cleaned and the walls scrubbed (the smell of smoke from probably years ago abounds). I absolutely loved the view my room had of the creek behind the hotel. This was a remarkably quiet hotel, day and night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

"Great place!"

Posted Jul 17, 2012
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We arrived early and they allowed us to check in to our room early. The casino area was quaint and the slots were pretty loose. We were towing a trailer and were able to park in their convention center parking lot.